Into the Wild poster

Into the Wild

Into the Wild is a 2007 critically acclaimed Academy Award-nominated, Golden Globe-winning film based on the 1996 non-fiction book of the same name by Jon Krakauer about the adventures of Christopher McCandless. It was directed by Academy Award winner Sean Penn, who also wrote the screenplay, and stars Emile Hirsch, Vince Vaughn, Jena Malone, Academy Award winner Marcia Gay Harden, Academy Award winner William Hurt and two-time Academy Award nominee Catherine Keener. It was given a limited released on September 21, 2007, and a wide release on October 19 .
Into the Wild Review, by A. O. Scott of The New York Times