40 User Reviews
Status: Concluded
Duration:
60 min

Originally aired in the UK on BBC1, SyFy offers up this period drama about the fantastic world of Merlin as a young man.

User Reviews for Merlin

Large  nickb 1
by 123maxz
Jul 20, 2014 7:37PM EDT

great show sad when it ended i did not give it a 5 because the last 2 season were kind of bad

Large ik profiel 400x400
Jan 6, 2015 2:29PM EST

Merlin is such a feel-good and loveable show. I loved all characters from the very beginning and continued to do so till the very end. Watching the video diaries outside of the show was an absolute blast and made me cherish every episode even more. The show is very British and not everyone will enjoy its 'silliness' in certain episodes, but I think you should always give Merlin a shot to win your heart

Default avatar cat
by zparpa
Nov 19, 2014 7:50AM EST

Amazing, incredible, fun show.

Picture?type=square&height=200&width=200
Sep 12, 2014 5:26PM EDT

This is literally one of my favorite shows. The writing and acting were fabulous, because one minute i could be crying but then the next i was laughing my face off. I was sad when it ended, but believed that five seasons was a good amount. Plus the finale was very well done.

Hidden profile
Jul 21, 2014 8:34AM EDT

Fun take on the Arthurian legends

Large anya
Mar 20, 2015 5:05AM EDT

Have seen some of this series but I remember nothing more of it. So'd love to see it again.

Large 2x06 298
Mar 17, 2015 10:27AM EDT

Merlin was indisputably one of the best shows I have ever watched, if not the best. First of all, not gonna lie, Bradley James and Colin Morgan are both so cute. Angel Coulby and Katie McGrath are both really gorgeous, and so so cute too. The bloopers that I managed to find online were great; their interactions off-set really had chemistry, and it showed in the episodes.

Arthurian legend has always fascinated me, and I loved this... More

Merlin was indisputably one of the best shows I have ever watched, if not the best. First of all, not gonna lie, Bradley James and Colin Morgan are both so cute. Angel Coulby and Katie McGrath are both really gorgeous, and so so cute too. The bloopers that I managed to find online were great; their interactions off-set really had chemistry, and it showed in the episodes.

Arthurian legend has always fascinated me, and I loved this adaptation of it. It managed to incorporate drama into it, and managed to change the storyline a little, but it was still able to not stray too far from the real legend itself. I loved some of the plot twists, the acting, the scenery, literally everything. The bromance between Merlin and Arthur was the epitome of friendship. Arthur might have been a dick sometimes, but Merlin always pulled him back, and helped Arthur to the best of his abilities even if they were fighting or having a conflict between them. The scenes that Colin and Bradley had between them were the cutest, and even more so were the off-set interactions and fun they had with each other. And the Knights of the Round Table? Eoin Macken, Rupert Young and Tom Hopper are all worth a watch in this show.

Morgana turning evil because of her magical powers was really interesting, and I had a major love-hate relationship with the ending. The story was beautifully woven, portraying Arthur's love for Guinevere, Arthur's trying to rule Camelot, and the underlying arc of The Great Dragon helping Merlin out with his magical powers. I was all prepared for a happy ending. And then the ending killed me. It stabbed me right in the heart, ripped it out, and shredded it to a million pieces. Arthur dies. Not to mention he did it in Merlin's arms with Merlin weeping his heart out. I loved it. Not entirely sure if it was pure bromance or there are some homosexual undertones, but hey, a girl loves a mixture of both, right? And then it is shown that Merlin is still alive and immortal, driving a truck across the roads of the modern age, and still waiting for Arthur to be reborn, as he is the Once and Future King, and Arthur will rise again in Albion's greatest hour of need. I got chills listening to it in the show when I watched it a few years back, and I'm getting chills writing about it now.

I recommend this show to whoever likes history drama, albeit it isn't as dramatic as shows like Reign or perhaps Downton Abbey. It was a fun one to watch, and I thoroughly enjoyed it, from start to finish. Writing this review almost makes me want to rewatch it again, which I probably will, when I have the time.

But for now, I think I will hope wistfully for a sequel where Arthur is reborn as the Once and Future King, and where Merlin finds his best friend again.

Large instagramcapture a8e6340b e57c 422a ab5a 3433b2f0a758
by vronmo
Mar 12, 2015 6:44PM EDT

Loved this show and even though it didn't match the original legend, it still had that something you want to have in a tv-show. It's funny, wll-written and has a good cast. Well worth the time it takes to watch it! You will not regret it!!

Default avatar cat
by Linyke
Mar 12, 2015 3:36AM EDT

Amazing! I'm sorry it is over!

Picture?type=square&height=200&width=200
by TiaDP
Mar 10, 2015 11:06AM EDT

I loved this series. It ended at the right time, and I wasn't 100% sure with the tiny ending as old Merlin walked to where Arthur died in modern day (little weird...) but the series was fun, witty, silly, and well done. I don't wish it had gone longer but I wish I could see it all over again with new eyes!