15 User Reviews
Status: Hiatus
Airs: Saturdays, 10:00 PM ET on AMC (60 min)

Set in post-Civil War America and centers on former Confederate soldier Cullen Bohannan (Anson Mount), whose quest for vengeance has led him westward to work on the construction of the first... More

Set in post-Civil War America and centers on former Confederate soldier Cullen Bohannan (Anson Mount), whose quest for vengeance has led him westward to work on the construction of the first Transcontinental Railroad.

User Reviews

15 reviews
Large 1385080084 no cable
Feb 28, 2015 9:52PM EST

If you like grit, action, drama... this is the show for you. This show en-globes a variety of emotions and plot twists. This period drama shows the harsh and brutal march of the railroad across the United States. The battles within, the battles abroad, a war of politics, a war of blood, a war for land, the struggle lives within this show. I recommend this show for people who like period action dramas.

Hidden profile
Sep 22, 2014 4:11PM EDT

Killer show! I wish I hadn't learned about this show until years from now so I could marathon it, they keep cliff hanging me and then I have to wait for a WHOLE WEEK for them do do it to me all over again. This is torture for a guy who thinks that microwave popcorn takes sooooo long!

Large kiss me i m irish
by clynn52
Aug 21, 2014 2:36AM EDT

I didn't expect to like this show, but I studied westward expansion in college and Hell on Wheels shows it an accurate, if fictitious, light. I was shocked they killed off a main character (Lily Bell) in the first season, but it highlighted the absolute evil of the Swede ("I am Norwegian!"). The choice of Common to play Elam Ferguson was genius - who would have thought? And I love the character Eva - she could have easily been a real... More

I didn't expect to like this show, but I studied westward expansion in college and Hell on Wheels shows it an accurate, if fictitious, light. I was shocked they killed off a main character (Lily Bell) in the first season, but it highlighted the absolute evil of the Swede ("I am Norwegian!"). The choice of Common to play Elam Ferguson was genius - who would have thought? And I love the character Eva - she could have easily been a real person, so strong, but having to go through so much. The train going through the ice at he beginning of this season was a great touch - maybe unintentionally funny. Hsve to look that one up!

Large 1407004262 barbed wire
Nov 8, 2014 11:56AM EST

great later seasons the first two can be a slog to get through.

Default avatar cat
Aug 17, 2014 7:44PM EDT

One of the best out there. Each episode gets better and better. Great acting, excellent scripts. I look forward to each week's adventure.

Hidden profile
Jul 21, 2014 8:25AM EDT

Great period piece.

Default avatar cat
by Esbby
Mar 19, 2015 2:52PM EDT

An anti-hero and co work on a railroad where race, class, and gender issues cause tension with an almost unbearable amount of americana.

Default avatar cat
Mar 16, 2015 1:51PM EDT

I like it i love the cowboy feel to this show. 8.7/10

Picture?type=square&height=200&width=200
by comic
Dec 28, 2014 3:30AM EST

FANTASTIC Show! A bit more death in the last season then NEEDED!But I except it :)

Picture?type=square&height=200&width=200
Dec 11, 2014 10:07AM EST

Well worth getting into - raw cowboys - real life = manipulating power hungry white men impacting former slaves and others.
The end of season #1 is especially sad as the love interest dies (and yes she was gorgeous). The coming of the railway must have been a game changer for the USA Indians - maybe the beginning of the end!
Well written full of twists and turns along with odd religions from the UK - but we did kick them out.