20 User Reviews
Status: Hiatus
Airs: Thursdays, 3:00 AM ET on Netflix (60 min)

A Wyoming sheriff struggles to cope with his wife's death as he attempts to move on with his life and career. Based on the 'Walt Longmire' mystery novels by Craig Johnson.

User Reviews

20 reviews
Large 559559 385221854963563 3552333327580697707 n
Nov 21, 2014 1:53AM EST

Walt is my spirit animal.

Large 1408773926 jamal is inthe house ad03cda9 1
Aug 3, 2014 8:45AM EDT

this is another one of my favorite summer shows.it has an interesting story,the cases are very exciting and unlike other shows it's low tech,doesn't have gadgets and stuff is old school police work and it deserves your attention.

Picture?type=square&height=200&width=200
Oct 7, 2014 11:52AM EDT

The first season began this series off more politically based and lightly touched on the long running mysteries of the series. It made the first season run a little slow though somewhat compelling as the stories were interesting enough to make you wonder how things would turn out. In the second season and beyond it was evident that the cast had become familiar with each others styles and nuances as they payed more seamlessly as a cast... More

The first season began this series off more politically based and lightly touched on the long running mysteries of the series. It made the first season run a little slow though somewhat compelling as the stories were interesting enough to make you wonder how things would turn out. In the second season and beyond it was evident that the cast had become familiar with each others styles and nuances as they payed more seamlessly as a cast and their characters became solidified and more believable. The dive into the Native American culture drove the stories forward as the stories became more complicated and involved. In the end this series had a great run though it was cut way too short. While I think the viewer gets many of the ideas wrapped up, there was a wide base for the show to continue. It is still worth the watch and you won't walk away feeling dumped. Sadly this show was cut short before its time due to demographic reasons, but maybe there is a smart exec that will pick it up and let it run.

Hidden profile
Sep 22, 2014 3:32PM EDT

Another good show bites the dust!

Default avatar cat
Sep 6, 2014 3:15PM EDT

I am tired of being frustrated by the networks... always, when a show has grit, intelligent and not sophomoric seems to be cancelled. I am shocked that A&E is following the same line as our generic networks... come on. Some of us would actually enjoy being challenged. And there is a lot to be said about simplicity. So disappointed to see this show cancelled!

Large 1407528840 alice
Aug 8, 2014 4:33PM EDT

I never expected to like a cowboy cop show, but this WY-based Sheriff Longmire has all the best of a gallant, never outspoken cowboy with his trusted friend Henry to provide wisdom, perspective and a bit of "good medicine" as they fight crime and straddle the border between a cowboy town and the res, strengthening the Native American angle in this show. The explorations of character are what make this show so enticing, because there is... More

I never expected to like a cowboy cop show, but this WY-based Sheriff Longmire has all the best of a gallant, never outspoken cowboy with his trusted friend Henry to provide wisdom, perspective and a bit of "good medicine" as they fight crime and straddle the border between a cowboy town and the res, strengthening the Native American angle in this show. The explorations of character are what make this show so enticing, because there is something about almost every episode that makes the viewer feel like they are stopping in at the Red Pony for a bit of the upbeat cheer with which Henry answers the phone. Even on the worst, hardest days (and days and times are hard out west) connection with a true friend one can trust in any situation, even the most extreme, might just be found at the Red Pony. Of course, outside all of this are the gorgeous landscape panoramas, the sense of being away from urban American and on the cusp of locating another version of that down home American ideal of an alternative "family", made up of misfit friends and coworkers which, as we see with Brandt and Longmire, don't need to thank each other for saving their lives--that is par for the course--but rather, give thanks instead for saving a hat. Nice little moments of humor thus also dot the landscape of this show and make it an enjoyable watch.

Large 1384433396 446743025 o
May 29, 2015 8:31AM EDT

Longmire was an instant hit with us! I can NOT wait until the return...so many questions need answering! Such a well done series. From the acting to the cinematography, is FANTASTIC!
This series, Hell on Wheels, Game of Thrones, Downton Abbey, and Mr. Selfridge, are at the top of my "Epic List" :-)

Hidden profile
Feb 15, 2015 3:16PM EST

It's about a cowboy who lives on the edge of the Earth bordering an Indian Reservation. What I like about this show is that you don't need to watch EVERY.SINGLE.EPISODE to get the gist. Most storylines are wrapped up within the timeslot. The characters are engaging, and though some story lines seem to be beaten like a dead horse....overall, I look forward to each episode.

Default avatar cat
Dec 7, 2014 8:30AM EST

I' am EXTREMELY happy that Netflix saved Longmire. I thoroughly enjoy the show. Thanks NF!
I enjoy a show where men are portrayed as men for a change.

Hidden profile
Nov 9, 2014 10:46PM EST

Excellence show.