Hurt Locker Tops Oscars on Historic Night - Featured

The Hurt Locker led the way at the 82nd Academy Awards, taking home six awards, including best picture and a historic best director honor for Kathryn Bigelow.

Bigelow - who defeated ex-husband James Cameron (Avatar) for the award - is the first woman to win best director in the Academy's 82-year history. Minutes after accepting her director trophy, Bigelow took the stage again to accept best picture for her Iraq War thriller. The Hurt Locker also won for original screenplay, sound mixing, sound editing and film editing.

Only four women have been nominated for the director award - Lina Wertmuller (Seven Beauties), Jane Campion (The Piano) and Sofia Coppola (Lost in Translation) - but Bigelow's the first who's had momentum entering the Oscars, winning directing honors from the Directors Guild and the British Academy of Film and Television Arts.

There were few surprises during the ceremony, as front-runners Christoph Waltz (Inglourious Basterds), Mo'Nique (Precious), Jeff Bridges (Crazy Heart) and Sandra Bullock (The Blind Side) all won acting awards.

"Oscar and Penelope. That's an uber-bingo," Waltz said after accepting his supporting actor award from last year's supporting actress winner, Penelope Cruz.

Mo'Nique, who also won a Golden Globe and a Screen Actors Guild award, became the fourth African-American actress to win in the supporting category. She paid tribute to the first, Hattie McDaniel (Gone with the Wind).

To Read More Click Here.


Want to comment on this? First, you must log in to your SideReel account!