Prison Break: Should have taken hiatus

After re-watching Season 3 of Prison Break in preparation for Season 4, I can't help but think how much better things could have been if things had been done a little differently. It mainly comes down to the credibility and believability of the show, which deteriorated slowly through Season 2, only to be gone completely Season 3 onwards.


If they had taken a year long hiatus after Season 2, I think the show would be much better right now. Taking a year out would breathe fresh life into the show and make the storyline more credible, plus there would a great deal of hype for the new season. Season 3 could have taken place in Sona, but a year or more after Season 2, so that Michael has spent a decent length of time in prison. Think about how long the show spans over the 3 seasons, and it must be less than a year. Look at a show like 24, which leaves big gaps between seasons, it makes events seem more credible.


They should have taken a year off, and done a full Season in a similar vein to Season 1, but of course with a year out, fans would be much more willing to accept Michael being in another prison, and without the writers strike, 24 episodes could be made. When I was watching the two hour Season 4 premiere, you could just see the show had abandoned any kind of attempt to be realistic, any attempt to be credible or believable. It pisses me off knowing the show could be so much better now if things had been done a little differently.

Comments

9 comments
Medium 1389062472 img 0117
Sep 3, 2008 10:44PM EDT
I have to agree with you on all the points you made that they should of taken a break in between season2 and 3, but you also have to remember that season three was shot when they had all those strikes. For sure they should have just took a break and keep going with season three during the summer or something, just to at least make something decent... But man... you have to admit that season four started with some real action and thrills. One thing is for sure... i can't wait until next Monday :D
Default avatar cat
Sep 4, 2008 1:06AM EDT
the only reason there are gaps between the 24 seasons is because of the writer's strike and its effect on the show.
Default avatar cat
Sep 4, 2008 4:04AM EDT
Hey bwitten, I think the gaps Soapbar was referring to was how when the show comes back, years have passed in the plot (as well as the big gap between seasons). I mean, that's what I get considering one line: "Season 3 could have taken place in Sona, but a year or more after Season 2, so that Michael has spent a decent length of time in prison." The point of Season 3 though, was for Michael to get out almost as soon as he got in. The Company only gave him a couple 'weeks' or less to work with. He wasn't meant to be in Sona for long at all. I think everyone is too quick to judge on this season. It's only 2 epi's in and already people are moaning. When this show first aired I think I watched part of a couple epi's and was disinterested for some reason. This year I got bored and all the hype from friends got me to finally sit and watch all 3 seasons back to back. I can't say I didn't love it because I absolutely did. I might just have a slightly different frame of mind now then I did years ago, but I know the problem was, I never gave it a real chance.So, that's all I'm gonna say. Give it a chance to get at least a few more epi's in before tossing it bad reviews.
Default avatar cat
Sep 4, 2008 6:30AM EDT
"I think everyone is too quick to judge on this season. It's only 2 epi's in and already people are moaning. When this show first aired I think I watched part of a couple epi's and was disinterested for some reason. This year I got bored and all the hype from friends got me to finally sit and watch all 3 seasons back to back. I can't say I didn't love it because I absolutely did. I might just have a slightly different frame of mind now then I did years ago, but I know the problem was, I never gave it a real chance. So, that's all I'm gonna say. Give it a chance to get at least a few more epi's in before tossing it bad reviews." I don't think I was necessarily criticising Season 4, rather just making the point that if things had been done a little differently, the show could be a lot better right now. I still enjoy watching Prison Break, and I'm sure I will still follow Season 4, I just think a hiatus would have been a smart move
Default avatar cat
Sep 4, 2008 9:52PM EDT
My opinion is they should have stopped after Season 2. The third season just was not there in the story telling for me. Sure there was some good acting and good characters, but it began to go down hill. I will watch this season though, just to see what happens. I am still insulted with the whole Sara thing, but it is after all, television.
Default avatar cat
Sep 6, 2008 3:09PM EDT
AGREE..it slowly deterioriated through season 2...it was so good..season 1 and the beginning of season 2...then it failed..big styly.
Default avatar cat
Sep 7, 2008 1:45PM EDT
why are bellick, t-bag and sucre are free and episode 1 of season 4?? why do they escape sona?? pls rply asap
Default avatar cat
Sep 7, 2008 1:51PM EDT
There was a fire at Sona which allowed them to escape
Default avatar cat
Sep 9, 2008 3:48PM EDT
You know what, i think you could be right about some thigns. for instance, the believability. Except this year would change a lot about season 3. A big part of it was just how different it was than Fox River, for us AND Michael. He was thrown off in the beginning too, and we see him earn some respect with the water issue, and all these thigns that we know and loved about season 1. These adjustments and just overall feeling of Michael being so out of place was a huge thing, and without it, I don't know what kind of angle they would've went with...
Want to comment on this post? First, you must log in to your SideReel account!