There's a new version of our iOS App available, now with video on iPad! Do us a solid and rate it in the iTunes Store!

'Elementary' review: Jonny Lee Miller and Lucy Liu prove Watson as a woman works

Let's just start this review off by saying yes, "Elementary" and "Sherlock" are similar. Obviously. They are based on the same public-domain source material. Seeing as CBS had at one point expressed interest in actually purchasing the rights to "Sherlock," there are some questions to be asked about whether "Elementary" is too derivative. But we're not here to debate whether CBS should have made "Elementary," because they already did. "Elementary" is absolutely entertaining, and we didn't find our plagiarism alarms going off at any point."Elementary" is a procedural in the vein of "House" and "The Mentalist," in that the central character's acerbic charm and considerable baggage are far more intriguing than the actual mystery being solved. Jonny Lee Miller's Sherlock Holmes is a recovering drug addict, but as far as he's concerned, that's all in the past. Miller's performance is the cornerstone of the show and he treats it as such -- he nails Holmes'...


http://blog.zap2it.com/frominsidethebox/2012/09/elementary-review-jonny-lee-miller-and-lucy-liu-prove-watson-as-a-woman-works.html
Want to comment on this post? First, you must log in to your SideReel account!