Smallville Season 9, Episode 2 - Metallo Review - Featured

Let's be honest, this wasn't the greatest Smallville episode ever aired. The story was at times slow and at times a tad boring. That being said, it did serve an important role in developing this season's story arc, and by the end of the episode there was many a development.



Let's start with Metallo. There always seems to be one guy out there who fails to see a superhero in the same light as the majority. Usually down to some personal trauma. And Metallo was no different. He wasn't a bad guy, but having a big piece of alien rock shoved into your chest is bound to make anyone at least a bit sketchy. I have to say that thing in his chest did look disgusting and I thought this episode was far gorier than usual. That's the most blood I have seen in a Smallville episode for a long time. Granted getting hit by a truck wouldn't exactly be pretty but I didn't need to see that. Anyway, it was interesting that Zod and his men (although I use that term loosely...) essentially caused this entire episode and I liked that we were seeing things from Tess' view as she was following the breadcrumbs trying to track them down.


By the end of the episode Clark had returned to his post at the daily planet and to Lois' side. I personally am glad they didn't drag this one out. Moody Clark only makes for moody Smallville and while at times that is necessary it can be almost draining when it is every episode. Lois greeted Clark warmly and this episode showed us that she definitely seems to have both the 'Blur' and Clark equally on her mind. And as usual Lois got the best line in the episode with the entirely appropriate "heartless bastard...".



I haven't exactly been Chloe's biggest fan as of late. And I don't just mean these past two episodes. The whole harbouring a serial killer and omnipotent destroyer storyline of last season annoyed me greatly. But she hasn't exactly redeemed herself either. Here while she was slightly nicer to Clark, she was still being quite annoying and I thought insensitive after Lois got kidnapped. She honestly didn't seem that bothered. I understand the girls in mourning but surely such a state would make her possibly more perturbered at the thought of losing someone else she loved. I want the old Chloe back please.


We ended with Tess discovering that there are potentially hundreds of kryptonian soldiers on earth. One of which was lying naked over Clark's family 'crest'. I'm guessing it is Jor-El, and so I am looking forward to seeing that play out. Clark potentially meeting his father for real, in a state years before Clark existed is an interesting concept. When Clark met his mother it was an emotion journey for him, but he has always had quite a tempestuous relationship with Jor-El in the fortress. I wonder whether the same will be true with his younger self.


Like I said, this wasn't the greatest episode. The story was slow, and obviously designed to develop the season. However, the special effects were impressive and I did like seeing the interactions between Clois. I hope that next week does a little better.

Comments

Default avatar cat
Oct 7, 2009 10:35AM EDT
I think we should give Chloe some credit - ok last season she was a pain (a slight understatement :P) but this season, she lost her husband, best friend (x2 because of Lana), cousin and purpose with Oliver and the others. If I lost all this I'd be a weirdo too for a while. She needs someone to blame and she chose Clark because he didn't go back to save Jimmy, he doesn't come back to talk to her at all and then when Lois comes back, so does he. I mean c'mon, that's gotta hurt no matter if she doesn't love him like she used to do, she still sees herself as not good enough for him in any role. Not as bf/gf (though that has definitely not the way she feels for him since Jimmy), best friend or now as his sidekick thanks to Lois' remark. She looks like she is getting back to her old self but because her character went in such a different direction (mainly because of the journalism thing me feels) it will take her a while. This episode showed that as she still comes up with cover stories for him, still helps him even though she is peed off and talks to him when he is going through a crises at the end - very Chloe of the gold old ages.
Picture
Oct 5, 2009 3:34AM EDT
haha omg the return of Lana would suck!! It's time for Lois. When Lana's around, things are just too sappy and over-dramatic.Yup, Chloe and the Doomsday thing really killed my opinion of her. I mean with her brains, you would think she would realise what would/could happen.I wonder if and when Lois will find out about Clark/Blurrrrr....
Default avatar cat
Oct 4, 2009 8:49PM EDT
I liked this episode, Clark is back from broodville and loving his relationship with Lois(In Clark mode, not Superman) and it'll will be interesting to see what's going to happen with Jor-El. As far as Chloe, I completely agree, not loving her since the whole Doomsday thing. And is it me or she back in goo goo land for Clark, ughh please NO! But my worst fear with the new season it that Lana will return again,please.....please, let that B**** die this season. Sooooooo over her!
Picture
Oct 4, 2009 1:39PM EDT
you saw clark make a move to talk to chloe too shes been chasing his blurry behind around for 3 months or sommat like that and he finaly comes to heri like the thought that clark wont be alone in the world there will be more kryptonians coming into it i do agree with laxcube24 its jor-el its just something that ya just click onto which is good like some predictability in a show lol
Picture
Oct 3, 2009 9:39PM EDT
i liked this episode. i liked the extra gore. it made it more real. and yes, now it's starting to seem more like superman and less smallville which is GOOD.I think that these two episodes should have just been rolled into one long premier. but i did enjoy the ending with lois welcoming clark back.and i agree that things should be getting better from these two episodes now that "dark clark" is gone and normal clark is back.
Default avatar cat
Oct 3, 2009 7:41PM EDT
its jor el..its been all over the net .....and this episode was actually well put together and they didnt use retareded plot devices to develop the story
Picture
Oct 3, 2009 6:48PM EDT
i thought this episode was an improvement to the last episode mean like it had its mid twists mean like it drag on abit in places but did give you an eyeturning that maybe it could be worth watching this season mean like after episode 1 even i thought greeat this all we gotta look forward to this season more poor outa there storylines but this was an improvement the ending made you wonder hey theres something going on here only good thing about episode 1 is that clark has a secret identity nobody knows who the blur is nobody has seen him he found it hard to keep the blur and his identity secret tho he succeeded to through alli think its gonna get better now this was an improvement and i think itll pick up from it
Default avatar cat
Oct 3, 2009 6:24PM EDT
I liked this episode, I thought it felt more like Superman and less like Smallville, which is what needs to continue to happen.
Default avatar cat
Oct 3, 2009 3:19PM EDT
We ended with Tess discovering that there are potentially hundreds of kryptonian soldiers on earth. One of which was lying naked over Clark's family 'crest'. I'm guessing it is Jor-El, and so I am looking forward to seeing that play out. Clark potentially meeting his father for real, in a state years before Clark existed is an interesting concept. When Clark met his mother it was an emotion journey for him, but he has always had quite a tempestuous relationship with Jor-El in the fortress. I wonder whether the same will be true with his younger self. I have a slightly different opinion, but not very different, I think it will be SOMEONE from the house of El, not nessecarily Jor-El, i just hope they dont bring back Karas dad he was a Dooshbag. Hopefully the person is only Clarks enemy for a while, then beleives him, then they spend at 15 episodes wiping the floor with Zods men, theres nothing I hate more than watching the Heroe getting murdered for 21 episodes, then in the season finale, he turns round and bitch slaps the main guy to save the day... ...Clark stamping on Zods face would be a good ending, or whatever.
Default avatar cat
Oct 3, 2009 10:01AM EDT
I think Chloe's behaviour this season is really understandable. Clark said he needs to cut all ties with his 'human life' and he decided this because of Jimmy's death so she is making sure his death doesn't become worthless. Also she has been Clark's best friend for eight years and helped with his secret life for the last four, so it would be hard enough to be cut out of his life and then she finds out he can't let go of Lois and hear her say "I think I'm the only one he can trust" must hurt her alot and make her feel she doesn't mean as much. She must also be really lonely, Jimmy died, Clark was gone so she had to grieve alone and had no one to turn to. Also with Oliver and the other heroes gone for the moment she doesn't really have a purpose right now either.
Default avatar cat
cae
Oct 3, 2009 9:22AM EDT
a improvement to the last episode which was awful. the love scenes between lois and clark make me cringe though. it still feels so cheesy. an example is the phonebox scene when like lois calls to clark like juliet and calling out romeo.
Want to comment on this post? First, you must log in to your SideReel account!