24 User Reviews
Status: Hiatus
Airs: Wednesdays, 10:00 PM ET on FX (60 min)

Created by Joe Weisberg, The Americans is a period drama about the complex marriage of two KGB spies posing as Americans in suburban Washington DC shortly after Ronald Reagan is elected... More

Created by Joe Weisberg, The Americans is a period drama about the complex marriage of two KGB spies posing as Americans in suburban Washington DC shortly after Ronald Reagan is elected President. The arranged marriage of Phillip (Rhys) and Elizabeth Jennings (Russell), who have two children who know nothing about their parents true identity, grows more passionate and genuine by the day, but is constantly tested by the escalation of the Cold War and the intimate, dangerous and darkly funny relationships they must maintain with a network of spies and informants under their control. Complicating their relationship further is Phillip’s growing sense of affinity for America’s values and way of life. Tensions also heighten upon the arrival of a new neighbor, Stan (Emmerich), an FBI agent working in counter intelligence.

User Reviews

24 reviews
Picture?type=square&height=200&width=200
Mar 14, 2015 4:02PM EDT

Having grown up in the eighties, this show really appeals to me. I especially enjoy 80's references like Columbia House Records, Mars bars and, of course, Ronald Reagan speeches. Kind of gritty, but an awesome show!

Large 1385080084 no cable
Feb 28, 2015 10:47PM EST

The Americans is "Homeland"... but the opposite point of view. The Russians are here, sleeper agents have infiltrated the American continent. This family of Russian spies have to overcome and deceived each other for the greater good of Russia. There is death, sex, deception, betrayal, honor, murder, manipulation, infiltration and segregation. I recommend this show to any action period drama fanatic.

Picture?type=square&height=200&width=200
by Davis Walden Contributor
Mar 3, 2015 10:47AM EST

Probably one of television's most underrated dramas, The Americans is one game of cat and mouse after the other. Each season outdoes the last.

Large 893260 444669168947321 775336336 o 1
Jan 29, 2015 12:22AM EST

Ahhh, there's nothing quite like the smell of fresh Cold War espionage in the morning. I've been a fan of The Americans since the first episode. Being of a certain age... (ahem, you know around 29 and a half), I remember the era depicted vividly. There was a desperation, a paranoia about the late '70s/early '80s that was unique to that time. The threat of annihilation by nuclear holocaust was a vivid horror etched into everyone's... More

Ahhh, there's nothing quite like the smell of fresh Cold War espionage in the morning. I've been a fan of The Americans since the first episode. Being of a certain age... (ahem, you know around 29 and a half), I remember the era depicted vividly. There was a desperation, a paranoia about the late '70s/early '80s that was unique to that time. The threat of annihilation by nuclear holocaust was a vivid horror etched into everyone's minds. Propaganda and misinformation was disseminated the world over to control what the general public thought. Popular culture depicted the spies of the time as glamorous, dangerous and sexy. The reality, I'm sure was a lot more brutal.

The Americans does a great job of authentically bringing the atmosphere of the era to life. Following what to all appearances is a normal all-American married couple who are, in fact, Russian spies the show draws us into the darkness of the Cold War. The brutality, the double dealing on both sides, the emotional cost, these are all dealt with. On one hand you feel that you should hate the main protagonists for their subterfuge and crimes. But, this is where the show is a cut above many others. The Americans makes all of the characters sympathetic in some way.

Each episode is over far too quickly and each season has flown by. Watch it: you will find yourself rooting for the most unexpected characters; you will hold your breath as you sit on the edge of your seat; you will be glued to the screen as you feel tears forming after a particularly brutal scene. It is probably the best drama on TV at the moment, in my opinion.

Hidden profile
Sep 24, 2014 4:45PM EDT

Not your usual kind of spy drama. It has a stronger focus on the political and international plot than the romance, which i like.

Hidden profile
Sep 15, 2014 12:14AM EDT

This is a very, very good show. The acting is brilliant, as is the writing. I'm looking forward to seeing where the show goes in season three.

Hidden profile
by Kalynda
Mar 18, 2015 10:55PM EDT

My husband and I LOVE this show. It's deep, doesn't insult our intelligence, and has a great cast. Just a great show all around. We are part of the nuclear fear, Cold War generation, and it's nice to see the good and the bad of both sides.

Default avatar cat
Nov 11, 2014 11:47PM EST

Love this show. Can't wait for it to come back!!

Default avatar cat
Oct 21, 2014 12:17PM EDT

Amazing and insightful. Original and Unique. Breath of fresh drama air.

Large 1407004262 barbed wire
Oct 11, 2014 3:43PM EDT

Eh, don't get the love for this series but Felicity is still a a tasty little biscuit so I tune in.