144 User Reviews
Status: Hiatus
Airs: Thursdays, 8:00 PM ET on The CW (60 min)

Based on the Alloy novels, WBTV's "The Vampire Diaries" centers on Elena (Nina Dobrev), a tragic heroine who is the object of passion for two vampire brothers, Stefan (Paul Wesley) and Damon... More

Based on the Alloy novels, WBTV's "The Vampire Diaries" centers on Elena (Nina Dobrev), a tragic heroine who is the object of passion for two vampire brothers, Stefan (Paul Wesley) and Damon (Ian Somerhalder).

User Reviews

144 reviews
Picture?type=square&height=200&width=200
May 11, 2015 3:21PM EDT

Great show! Has some dry dull moments but immediately starts to pick up after, there is always a curve ball that comes in play. It also leaves you with a ton of suspense throughout the show

Picture?type=square&height=200&width=200
Dec 20, 2014 2:43PM EST

This show has created an exciting world. The mythology is interesting and you love the characters.

Picture?type=square&height=200&width=200
Oct 3, 2014 10:39AM EDT

overrated

Large ik profiel 400x400
Mar 21, 2015 6:45AM EDT

Haters gonna hate, but I still love this show. You have to get through the first 'Twilightesque' season, but after that it gets good, even great. Great characters and plots that keep you at the edge of your seat. I don't mind if this show gets a few more seasons!

Picture?type=square&height=200&width=200
Jan 31, 2015 3:44PM EST

When I first started watching this show about three years ago (I started watching right before the premiere of season 2), I was instantly hooked. I was addicted and I counted time at school and work as time wasted because I wasn't watching TVD. The writing was good, the characters were interesting, the story, despite being yet another vampire-centric tale wasn't trite and had some fresh twists. Exit Kevin Williamson about two years... More

When I first started watching this show about three years ago (I started watching right before the premiere of season 2), I was instantly hooked. I was addicted and I counted time at school and work as time wasted because I wasn't watching TVD. The writing was good, the characters were interesting, the story, despite being yet another vampire-centric tale wasn't trite and had some fresh twists. Exit Kevin Williamson about two years later, leaving Julie Plec alone at the helm, and that all goes down the hole. This show annoys me. It caters to fans far too much instead of being a good show with a good story that allows the story to progress in a believable and natural manner. It panders to the crowd instead of developing independently. I don't just say this as an embittered Stefan and Elena shipper. I say this because the show has taken some dangerous attitudes towards things like abusive relationships and toxic people. Damon is a good character because he gets you to hate him so much, but romanticizing homicidal, manipulative, sociopaths who want to control everything and everyone isn't so great. Damon consistently has refused to listen to anyone around him, even when they were making their own choices for themselves. He's manipulated people. He's taken advantage of people. He's harmed the loved ones of people he claims to care for. I wouldn't get rid of Damon because he is a good CHARACTER, but as a character he is not a good PERSON. This is an important message to the show's key demographics that gets lost, and it's dangerous. Young girls sit around pining over Damon and insisting he isn't terrible, instead of Stefan–Stefan, who is kind, thoughtful, intelligent, compassionate, and yes, flawed, but humanly so. He cares about others, even when they aren't the show's central characters. He is a solid character, and worthy of love, and yet Plec's treatment of Stefan...it's truly abominable, and I think that is mostly to do with the fact that a lot of the female viewers love Damon. Which shows again a catering to fans. Not to mention Plec's complete character assassination of Elena. That was tough to watch, and was about the time that I started to give up on TVD. This show once had a good direction and it is now scattered twenty different ways. Half the time I can't even remember what happened earlier in the season because it has absolutely no tie to what's happening now and I think, "Wait, was that LAST season?" I think truly the only great thing that has come out of this mess is Caroline. Her character development has been flawlessly executed. And her platonic (!!!!) friendship with Stefan gave me so much hope, but it seems that even that isn't sacred anymore and has seemingly become entangled in romantic nonsense. I continue watching because I love Stefan as a character. He is remarkable. Other than that, I've basically given up. I care very little for anything else happening on this show anymore.

Default avatar cat
by busaina
Oct 18, 2014 3:31PM EDT

Started out great... but the storyline seems to have run its course and is getting a bit redundant. No longer a true fan of the show. Its a bit to drawn out.

Large screen shot 2015 03 25 at 10.29.10 am
by Morgaine Editor
Jul 18, 2014 5:50PM EDT

I'm not normally one for vampire shows, but my family watches it and I ended up getting hooked... It's got the trademark CW super sexy actors, but the writing and plotlines actually hold up too. Sadly I've quit this show (gotta prioritize, those hour long shows are hard to keep up with), but it still took 2 tries to get out.

Large screen shot 2014 02 28 at 10.45.53 am 660x851
Jul 17, 2014 9:33AM EDT

This is probably one of the best shows out there. The actors are amazingly talented and so good looking .. aheem. Ian Somerhalder. But just the storyline it self is great. I love this show and btw. its nothing like twilight. ;)

Large 1398778477 crazy scientist
by cat-91
Mar 19, 2015 5:23AM EDT

Teen drama + vampires + all other supernatural beings = a great show

Large 1385080084 no cable
Mar 3, 2015 2:43PM EST

This show is a teen's wet dream, including fantasy, horror, drama, supernatural beings and more drama. The storyline is solid, the actors are above average and very good looking. You will get lost in the story and fall in love with the characters... I just wish there was a little less drama. I recommend this show to teens and drama queens everywhere.