Prison Break Season 4 Episode 9 Greatness Achieved


***SPOILER ALERT***


Prison Break season 4 has been going along surprising well so far, with the fourth season in my opinion being far more exciting and enjoyable than the last season, which focused on the escape from Sona. As the break-in draws nearer, things are certainly looking good for Prison Break this season.


Well we were promised death was coming to Prison Break, and the writers make good of that promise in this week's episode, "Greatness Achieved" with the untimely, yet heroic, demise of Brad Bellick. Surely it is a testament to the quality of Wade Williams' acting and popularity of the character that Bellick has stuck around this far, with the character occupying roles in all four of the show's seasons.


And the portrayal of Bellick has changed a lot over these four seasons. In season 1 he is a thug, a corrupt and morally bankrupt police officer, bullying the inmates and generally despised by the audience. In season 2 we see the thuggish nature of Bellick again when hunting the brothers. However during both these seasons we do get a glimpse into the unhappiness in his life, and by season 3, when he is incarcerated in Sona, Bellick becomes a major figure of pathos in the show, and to a certain extent this continued into season 4, with Bellick changing from the angry bastard of a prison officer in season 1, into a outcast and lonely man, a man who loves his mother and is squeamish at the sight of blood. In the end, Bellick gets to die in a way that he would want, heroically, for friends. (Try not to think about the fact that now Scylla has been moved by the Company, his sacrifice was ultimately for nothing...)


Whilst watching this episode, something sort of dawned on me. I realised that I don't really care about the Company. I don't really care about Gretchen, or Scylla, or even T-Bag anymore. When we see Gretchen kiss the General, I'm not shocked. More indifferent. You see it's the characters like Michael, Lincoln (who I still maintain has been criminally underused and dumbed-down this season), Sara and Mahone, the characters we've spent time watching grow over many seasons that I care about. I hope now that the break-in has become the main focus of this season that Michael and co will be given a decent amount of attention. Remember in season 1, when every show was about Michael, and how he was going to move forward with the escape. That is what I'd like to see in season 4 with the break-in.


Probably the highlight of this episode was Mahone's revenge on Wyatt, William Fichtner as always gave a quality performance, and I just loved his final moments with Wyatt, with Mahone interrupting him mid sentence to push him to his death. It worked really well, and we hope Mahone can now become a bigger part of the break-in storyline. Don Self also reveals that the mysterious woman whose picture he carries round with him was actually his wife, who died in childbirth. Although a pretty dark revelation, it does give us insight into why Self is embarking on the very dangerous vendetta against the company; he's man with little to live for, making work his life to defeat an evil in the world. It also allows Mahone and Self to empathise with one and other, having both lost a child.


Michael's illness is taken up a notch this episode, with Michael nearly collapsing. This is all well and good, but as rumours of a fifth Prison Break season emerge, our view of Michael's illness changes from "Hmmm I wonder if he might die at the end of the season" to "Who do you think you are kidding suggesting Michael might die, whats this I hear about a fifth season then?!?" But OK putting that aside, it is nice to see Michael being threatened by this illness that he can't control, it does remind us that despite all his intellect, and all he's accomplished, he is still only human. And who knows, he may well d

Comments

Default avatar cat
Nov 10, 2008 5:54PM EST
To alvin, C-note went out of the show in season 2, he was set free with his family, LJ is in Panama at the minute living with Sophia, I don't think he will feature in this season To nicolaswee, the tatoos were removed I think in episode 2 of this season to make Michael less recognisable or something
Default avatar cat
Nov 10, 2008 3:27PM EST
Know what i noticed? the tattoos on Michael ain't there anymore... i guess they got tired of keep having to draw them again and again.
Default avatar cat
Nov 9, 2008 8:39AM EST
can you tell soapbarse what happen to "C-note" and l.j??? pls rply asap... hehehe im so very impressed to your review... the review are so detailed
Default avatar cat
Nov 5, 2008 4:00PM EST
kinda sad to see Bellick go i was starting to like him he was bcoming kinda cool and even th eother characters especially sucre were warming too him
Default avatar cat
Nov 5, 2008 7:47AM EST
I was surprisingly sad to see Bellick die, I didn't like his character in the first two seasons but the writers did a great job in convincing you Bellick is good hearted. I can't imagine the writers ever killing Michael, even when the show is completely over. I want to see Michael, Sucre, Sara & Lincoln alive. The rest don't really matter to me, Mahone was such an ass in the beginning (killing people that were completely innocent) that I don't really care what happens to him either. As far as a 5th season goes, I'd love to see it. I'd love the show to continue for 20 if the writers have it in them ;] ~Ashley
Default avatar cat
Nov 4, 2008 7:53PM EST
Samma, I'm sorry also about posting the news of the Bellick death, and the preview. And, Soap, I agree, the show shouldn't be "dragged" out longer than it should be. But in all honestly, a show can only be "dragged" out if it is the same thing over and over again. When in truth, there has not been one season of Prison Break, the same as any other. Even season 1, and three are greatly different. Therefore, to me they aren't dragging anything out. The plot changes year by year, which is basically a whole different story, just with the same cast. It's no different than a whole different show, with the same cast. Because in season one, you had a show about breaking out of prison,in season two you had a show about running from the government, and a corrupt group of assassins, in season three you were forced to break out a person from a prison or else two people close to your heart die, where as in season 1, one person would have died. And in season four, they've been given the opportunity to be "free" provided they complete one last mission. Now, with scylla being six cards, and with Scylla being moved, and knowing that Scylla is more than just the cards, this can play out for an entire season, especially if Michael the brains, loses part of his memory.
Default avatar cat
Nov 4, 2008 7:11PM EST
Really sorry about the spoiler guys, I should have waited a day or two before posting the review, I've put spoiler alert at top but obviously if you've already read it it doesn't help, please accept my apology, I know I would be pissed if I'd of known who died. Sorry all.
Picture
Nov 4, 2008 6:44PM EST
Yeah...because of the spoiler in clear view of the PB page, I felt a little cheated this episode, since I knew who would die without watching it.
Default avatar cat
Nov 4, 2008 6:06PM EST
EntertainmentStop I agree with some of what your saying, but have to disagree with your first point. I think "die hard" fans don't want the integrity of the show to be ruined by stringing out the show longer than it should. True, die hards love the show, and the characters in it, but people want to look back on Prison Break and think what an amazing show it was, not that it was ruined by being strung out for too long (a view I'm sure some fans already hold) Secondly, I think the writers of Prison Break have already demonstrated that if there is enough demand, they will continue with the show for as long as possible. Actually just dug up old interview posted on Sidereel, where Zack Estrin says: "I think that if there are no more interesting stories to tell, then we'll end it. We already know exactly how the show will end, and how many episodes we need to steer towards that end and I think that we’ll all know when the feeling is right. " ( That being said, I still think they will do season 5 if they can. Afterall if they think they can get 4 seasons out of a show about a Prison Break, why not 5?
Default avatar cat
Nov 4, 2008 5:51PM EST
And also, the *rumors* about a fifth season have not came from anybody in Fox, the Writers, or the actors/actresses. Therefore they are not playing the "hmm i wonder if he might die at the end of the season" stuff, because not one single person affiliated with the show has said anything about season five. season five rumors stirred up for a tv show rating site, not anybody associated with the show.
Default avatar cat
Nov 4, 2008 5:49PM EST
If you don't want a fifth season, then don't watch the show. I personally would want this show to go on for as long as it could. That's what a die hard fan of a show wants. We all agree that each character needs some type of closure for the show to end perfectly, and with the mist of this mission, and what we learn week after week about how getting scylla is only part one, and then that there are two parts to scylla, it's highly doubtful that each character can have closure to them, with every task ahead of them in just this season. Bellick however, died in a way that is truly amazing... and for his character, that's some what a closure, but it would have been better if he called his mom first. What should happen now is Michael call his mother. Not Sucre, Michael.
Default avatar cat
Nov 4, 2008 5:40PM EST
if season 5 happens i would like them to bust out of prison again
Default avatar cat
Nov 4, 2008 5:16PM EST
well I hope there is no gonna be Season 5 or else I'd stop watching PB forever..
Default avatar cat
Nov 4, 2008 4:12PM EST
she deosnt have emotion.....she knows there not dead and is thinking of a ways to screw over the general....i agree she prob still working with michael and co.
Default avatar cat
Nov 4, 2008 3:13PM EST
Scylla hasn't been moved yet, they have until the end of the next day. And I think Gretchen is still working with Michael and the others because when she heard they were dead the camera focused on her face and there was a flicker of emotion.
Default avatar cat
Nov 4, 2008 2:46PM EST
I love how, the first thing I see when I got on sidereel in the morning, to watch Prison Break, is a huge spoiler. Seriously, I can still see it without clicking on the link, maybe fix that a bit? Cool, awesome, thanks. >_>
Default avatar cat
sdc
Nov 4, 2008 12:47PM EST
Great article, informative and well written. In my opinion I feel Prison Break has become even better, near the quality of season 1. This latest episode was excellent with various things happening. I can't wait for the next episode!
Want to comment on this post? First, you must log in to your SideReel account!