Want even MORE badges? You can now earn them for creating show lists! Read more

Torchwood Review, by Ken Tucker of Entertainment Weekly

Torchwood is the Benny Hill version of Blade Runner. Jack's character is spun off from Doctor Who, the long-running British-TV equivalent of Star Wars, Star Trek, and H.R. Pufnstuf all rolled into one. Torchwood, set in the present day, is both more dramatic and even campier. In Jack regalia, Barrowman looks like Tom Cruise with suspenders, but minus the Scientology. (Except for when he starts musing about alien intervention, mind probes, and sleeper agents...ready to take over.) Captain Jack tracks down -- and occasionally beds -- ETs with the help of his quartet of bedazzled groupies -- slash -- Experts in Their Fields: One's a doctor, one's a cop, one's a scientist, and one...makes tea piping hot. It's like the Justice League of Extended-Pinkie Nerds. Torchwood can be jolly, if winceable, fun, but it's also tonally weird.


To read the rest of this review, visit Entertainment Weekly:

Torchwood

Comments

| Sep 12, 2008 4:10PM EDT
first off let me just say I love Torchwood and Doctor Who I love the plot, the characters, the writing, pretty much everything Im also an American(don't jump on me I can't help where I was born) yet I mostly prefer British tv, there are of course a few notable exceptions (I will forever love firefly and practically worship Joss Whedon) but in general British tv and torchwood in particular are funnier I venture that the author of this piece should have their maturity questioned and perhaps their IQ as well if they are incapable of appreciating the character quirks, absurdity of situations, wit and sarcasm that make this show so enjoyable. admittedly some of the humor can be difficult to follow if your starting in the middle of the series, The characters are best appreciated when you watch them developing over several episodes because they actually have some dimension to them and show genuine responses to the things they face(I know what a novel idea who would have thought that a person can show more than three facial expressions) I myself see very few similarities between John Barrowman and Tom Cruise for one John can actually act a trait sorely missing from cruise in my opinion. Overall I think Torchwood has to be one of the best TV shows currently showing
| Aug 30, 2008 11:38AM EDT
You are an idiot sir, for one Doctor Who wason TV LONG before Star Wars, Star Trek and such, and it is better in my oppinion. Torchwood is a more sexy, adult version of that and comparign Jack to tom cruise is beyond idiotic.I am sad to be an american with idots like you, Torchwood is a high class, expertly written show that stands right alon side with Doctor Who.even tho i am american i love british telivison, it is more sexualy free, and COUPLING is hillarious.
| Aug 19, 2008 4:06PM EDT
Someone has their head up their own arse! At least we British "commit" to something reasonable, rather than the shite talk shows and teen drams the US produces. In what reality does John Barrowman even begin to resemble Tom Cruise, they have the same hair colour, are both actors and the trail ends there. Next time you write a review tearing down the UK, think about the messages on this page telling you just HOW MUCH of a failure you are.
| Jul 28, 2008 6:22PM EDT
I dont think that the revuer shd be judging the program from an american point of view but judge it as a whole. Also i agree with the culture point of view as well. Torchwood is fantastic and im sooo gutted its only on for the course of 5 days. Does anyone know how long these episodes will be?????????
| Jul 11, 2008 11:10AM EDT
theDOCTOR makes a very good point in his first sentece of the last paragraph. I would have to say that I agree.
| Jul 9, 2008 1:53PM EDT
I would have to say Doctor Who was made for anyone who wants to ask questions. It really puts alot of ideas into your head. Doctor Who has made me look at my world differently. . . and if you can't get past it's fantastical points, you can't appreciate the series for it's entirety. The problem with most American viewers, broadcasters, and media outlets, is that they exist to serve a very mechanical system. If you notice the direction of American politics, people are encouraged to become individualist materialists who see things for face value rather than taking into consideration the holistic nature of the universe itself. They don't see how their actions, or the media they attach themselves to, impacts their points of view and their ignorance to true issues. The thing I love about Doctor Who is that it embraces a culture of enlightenment rather than a culture of the cog in the machine.
| Jul 8, 2008 8:29PM EDT
It's funny that they're criticising the show for being bad because of Jack's cheesy quips and blame the fact that it's British when John Barrowman who plays Jack is american and that's usually the reason for his queer puns. There is no way you can compare this or doctor who to Star Trek which is totally different and sucks compared to Torchwood and DW. By the way, the people who wrote the article are idiots for not realising they say they love Star Trek, which by the way has a british lead, Captain Pickard, and they say Torchwood sucks and that has an American lead character. So really, to the people that think they're criticising the British, think of it that way and you'll see they're criticising themselves, the Americans, and we can then just laugh at them.Every English review of this show that I've read say it's good, and no-one would know the show better than it's general public seeing as it was made for us brits to watch more than the Yanks, and the Americans wrote this bad review because they're scared that someone other than them might have actually made a half-decent show, so that's my opinion.
| Jul 8, 2008 6:01PM EDT
?? Why are you responding that way? We aren't saying anything against you, just the article itself. Don't you post things for discussion, my friend?
| Jul 7, 2008 1:09PM EDT
def can tell its an american article, how can you compaire any part of doctor who with star wars or trek? Idiocy at its most noticable. Sorry if i step on peoples toes but i dont like it when good british shows are trampled by the views of the american gernalists. If i remembe correctly it was there view on the classic show 'red dwarf' (which is the comedic star wars/trek) that made them change it around causing it to be turned into crap n thus cancelled. (i could be wrong about that though was a long time) Anyhoo i love torchwood/dr who so i surgest you ignore this article.
| Jul 7, 2008 10:39AM EDT
Reading this over again, I find this to be more of a slant at the Brits rather than Torchwood itself. The Americans (public "figures" anyhoo) are horrid creatures indeed.
| Jul 7, 2008 10:37AM EDT
What a shite article, mate. You don't have to be British to commit to it. I'M CANADIAN!!!!!!! =]

Post Comment

Want to comment on this post? First, you must log in to your SideReel account!