Make sure you're tracking all of fall's coolest new shows; check out our Fall TV Preview now for suggestions!

Who is God's Vessel on 'Supernatural'?


The shocking bombshell at the end of last night's episode of Supernatural with Sam being Lucifer's perfect vessel certainly took the wind out of my sails. It's been a hard enough life for Sam, and now he has to do with the fact that his entire life has been centered around the notion of him becoming the devil?


But important than Sam's bad luck was another question I had: who is God's perfect vessel? In both of last night's storylines, we saw that angels have one vessel that works best for them, so it's only logical to assume God, if He isn't dead, would have one too. As I see it, there are five distinct possibilities.


Dean is God


While many fans may agree with that statement, I don't. Dean is already Michael's vessel, and it would make no sense if Heaven would allow a single body to be the vessel for two of its most important VIPs.


Sam is God


From a storytelling perspective, this is probably the way I'd love Supernatural to go. If Sam is the vessel for both God and Lucifer, the opportunity for classic struggles and moral questions is infinite.


Bobby is God


Back when we asked users who they thought should play God, Bobby was the clear winner, as fans love Jim Beaver's character and want him to be involved more. He's already been in each of the first three episodes, so at least t start, Bobby is playing a more important role on Supernatural than he normally does, and this would be a great way to keep him around as a major player.


Someone Else is God


Quite frankly, I'd find this rather disappointing right now. Michael has Dean, Lucifer has Sam, so it would only make sense that God's vessel would also be connected to the Winchester family in some way, since they are obviously the most important family ever.


God is Dead


I'm fascinated by the Nietzschean implications of this if it was true, but I doubt it. First, I'm pretty sure the show would never recover from the onslaught of hate mail from religious fanatics if they actually killed God. P. Diddy alone would flood the Twitterverse with anti-Supernatural rhetoric.


But the biggest reason this isn't true is because of Cas and Dean's conversation. No, not the one about whores, their final discussion about the basic premise of daddy issues. Throughout the entire series, Sam and Dean have dealt with their own abandonment issues regarding their father, and now the angels are doing the same thing.


But like John Winchester, it's hard to keep God down, so I'm sure he's out there somewhere. If it weren't for the fact that John is dead, I'd want God to take over his body, but practically, that's probably not an option.


So who do you think is God's vessel? And will Sam actually let Lucifer take over his body as Lucifer said he would?


Source Here

Comments

Default avatar cat
Oct 13, 2009 9:48PM EDT
People, God isn't and angel. He doesn't need a vessel, or at least he shouldn't. He could just make a body. He made the whole damn world; it's all His universe. Secondly, who could kill God? The whole point of God being God is that you can't kill a god. He's immortal. Why would he die? That just makes no sense.
Default avatar cat
Oct 1, 2009 11:54PM EDT
The John/Bobby necklace argument makes no sense since it doesn't help finding God but it makes you realize you've already found him/her/it. Remember, it burst into flames in God's presence. Even though it would be pretty cool for John to be God's vessel I don't really like the idea. I think they'll come up with something like "God's in all of us" (I don't really like that concept but it's what I'd consider more appropriate since reducing God to a person is absurd)... anyhow, this season can either blow us away or not, we'll just have to wait and see!!
Default avatar cat
Oct 1, 2009 10:48PM EDT
I don't think that God actually "needs" a vessel. Lucifer is an angel, and all the angels need vessels when walking on our plane. God wouldn't.
Default avatar cat
Sep 30, 2009 7:35AM EDT
im so happy it turned out to be Dean vs Sam I recall making predictions that it would turn out this way during season 3, but then season 4 came around and im like guess i was wrong, but BAM! here it is i was right after all it feels good guys it does.
Default avatar cat
Sep 28, 2009 11:45AM EDT
I think God is that Girl from 'Free to Be You and Me'. She was guiding Sammy towards salvation. She acted all persistant towards Sams' past and wanted him to talk about it. i might be readin too much into it but i don't know, putting one of the boys as God, or even John would be what the masses would do, not Kripke. I think he'll surprise everyone and introduce God independently. In my opinion God needs no vessel because, 1) what person could hold the awesomeness that is 'God', and 2) God is the creator of all that we know, who says God even needs one, couldnt he/she/it create one entirely? I believe Jeff Dean Morgan will come back but not as God, it would be tooooo predictable. God will either be a new character or he/she/it'll be a voice. Actually I just had an idea, Lucifer wants Sam right? So that leaves Mark pellegrino's character open...so, assuming Kripke will use a recurring character, Pellegrino's meat suit will be up for grabs, no?
Default avatar cat
Sep 26, 2009 11:29PM EDT
God doesn't need a vessel, it says so in the Old Testament. After all he is not an angel like the others. Although I do like the theory that John is God's vessel. That would make for a very good storyline.
Default avatar cat
Sep 26, 2009 9:02PM EDT
For Literary Symmetry it would make sense for God to use John as a Vessel, just because of all the Dean/Sam v. Michael/Lucifer brother fiasco and God/John being their fathers. Now I personally feel that God shouldn't need a vessel, seeing as he is God, but the show may decide it necessary so they can bring back a character (aka John) or improve a character's role (aka Bobby), in a form that people are accustomed to seeing already. However, i dont like this, for 2 main reasons.1. by putting God in somebody's body, you essentially lose that person as a character, which would sort of suck.2. If Raphael being in that guy did that much damage, and Michael would do even worse damage, don't you think Gods power in a meatsuit would make the person turn into vegetable soup? Also i'd like to say that I'm 99.99% sure that in the latest episode we learn for certain that God IS Alive. While it is possible, and it makes a lot of logical sense that Lucifer could have brought Castiel back, it is not at all logical that Lucifer put Sam and Dean on the plane. Lucifer wants Sam as his vessel, so why would he let him out of his grasp? The only explanation other than God Saving the two, in my opinion, is that Michael saved them... but we shall see.
Picture?type=square&height=200&width=200
Sep 26, 2009 6:39PM EDT
I think if god would have a vessel it would be John and if so god would resurrect him and take over him in heartbeateasy as that fellas
Picture?type=square&height=200&width=200
Sep 26, 2009 6:36PM EDT
ya know, the whole 'why does god need to speak through a vessel' argument got answered in the movie Dogma, mortals cant handle gods presence (personified anyway). of course thats only within the context of this literary world (im assuming that too, they have yet to mention gods vessel on the show). in most fictional cases it's assumed that if god choses to appear through a vessel, its not because he cant show himself in all his glory, it's 'cuz our faces would melt off like in raiders' if he did (oh, or he's trying to prove a point to the observer with his form). now, im no bible scholar, but doesn't the book itself say something like that as well?
Picture?type=square&height=200&width=200
Sep 26, 2009 5:17PM EDT
I think Dean could be the vessal. I know I know he's supposedly michaels vessal but what if hes not what if he is gods but god only said he was michaels so that dean would be protected. but the idea of god and lucifer being the same vessal is an alsome idea i wish i thought of it lol
Default avatar cat
Sep 26, 2009 1:14PM EDT
Sorry, I wasn't sure if I was remembering who gave the necklace to who, but even if it was from Bobby, my theory makes sense. Maybe even more sense than it did before. Maybe John gave it to Bobby so that Bobby, one of his closest friends, could find him and Bobby gave it to Sam and Dean because they had more need for it.
Default avatar cat
Sep 26, 2009 9:58AM EDT
It would make sense for John to be the vessel of God because of the daddy issues. Michael being God's perfect soldier.Lucifer being God's dissopointment.and God being 'dead'. Whilst on Earth... Dean was always John's ideal Hunter.Sam was John's dissopointment for going to college.and John supposedly died like...however many times.
Picture?type=square&height=200&width=200
Sep 26, 2009 6:57AM EDT
Morgan Freeman should reprise his role as God
Default avatar cat
Sep 25, 2009 9:39PM EDT
@jehuty You're right. Dean got the necklace from Sam who got it from Bobby who said it was a 'real special'.I think Bobby knows sth about god he's not telling.
Default avatar cat
Sep 25, 2009 8:41PM EDT
God doesn't need a vessel..He's not an angel.
Picture?type=square&height=200&width=200
Sep 25, 2009 6:01PM EDT
"Excuse me, but what does God need with a starship?" Err... umm... I mean why would god need a vessel?He/she/it's God, after all...; he/she/it could appear as Optimus Prime if he/she/it wanted to... Anyway, if a vessel IS necessary, I agree it should be John Winchester...
Default avatar cat
Sep 25, 2009 4:52PM EDT
Wasnt the necklace given to Dean by Sam?
Default avatar cat
Sep 25, 2009 4:33PM EDT
You're missing one very important aspect of the show. Angels can bring people back from the dead so wouldn't God be able to do the same thing? Therefore, John is 100% a possibility for God's vessel, and, in my opinion, it would make sense from a story telling perspective. You have Michael and Lucifer, both sons of God, mortal enemies destined to kill each other. Who are there vessels? Sam and Dean (respectively). We also should remember 2 important points: 1)John told Dean that he would probably need to kill Sam. We assumed it was in reference to Azazel's hunting Sam down and the Lilith Demon Blood deal, but what if he knew that Azazel was in fact hunting for Lucifer's true vessel? What if this whole time everything that happened was the Angels and Demons trying to make the Apocalypse happen (Demons for the destruction, Angels for the paradise that would come afterwards), and Azazel's feed the babies blood game was him hunting for Lucifer's true vessel? What if John knew way back when that this might happen and that Dean, as Michael, would have to kill Sam, as Lucifer? How would John have known all that? He wouldn't. But God sure as hell would have. Maybe John was possessed when he said that to Dean? Ok! 2) John gave Dean that god-locater necklace and he probably knew what it does. Maybe it was a precaution. Maybe he was leaving like that under God's possession, and he realized that Sam and Dean might need his help so he gave them that to help find him. Thing is, it didn't help because whenever they were near, God was not in him.
Want to comment on this post? First, you must log in to your SideReel account!