Beowulf: Return to the Shieldlands

Add to List

Review

Beowulf: Return to the Shieldlands

Avg Rating (0)
Your Rating
Sundays, 2:00 PM EST on ITV
Tracked 1,711 Times
Concluded
1 Seasons, 12 Episodes
60 Minutes
Buy or StreamAmazonAmazon UK
The inspiration for countless books, movies and comics worldwide, this grand and unparalleled rendition will bring 13 adventure-clad episodes illuminating the supernatural anecdote of Beowulf, a prodigious but troubled warrior who experiences love and loss yet shares a deep binding comradery with his fellow kinsmen. Reimagined for television, the series was filmed throughout England's vast and breath-taking countryside to set the stage for the story's fantastical land inhabited by heroes and beasts.

Show Reviews

by Sylar Dean Paginton

Jan 23, 2016 11:47 AM EST

Okay, so we all know where the series will probably end.. Beowulf and Grendel, but THIS series seems to be telling the story
of Beowulf before that epic battle happens. The sets are impressive, as is the acting, costumes and music BUT the cgi could
have been better. It's my pet hate that shows use bad cgi on a first episode cos it turns people off from the rest of the series
but thankfully this show don't rely too much on cgi.. or it hasn't yet in the first two episodes.. which is probably why im sticking
with it at the moment. Iv'e read MANY reviews on this show where the reviewer is comparing this show to Game Of Thrones, shame
on them.. this show is NOTHING like Game of Thrones, i'd say it's more like a cross between Vikings and The Last Kingdom with a
bit of Merlin thrown in.

Episode 1: 8/10
Episode 2: 7.5/10
Episode 3: 8/10

by Michael Riffey

Oct 01, 2016 6:54 PM EDT

Great show, just a little bit of bad acting and CGI. But I did enjoy this short lived show.

by steelsheen

Apr 02, 2016 7:56 PM EDT

All I can say about this new Beowulf is why? It is utterly and tragically awful on every level. The writing, acting, directing, fight choreography and repulsively PC cast is terrible.

by eriduserpent

Feb 28, 2016 8:35 PM EST

Not to bad so far, I like the fact that they have mythical beasts in it as well as humans.
Am I wrong in thinking the title music sounds like a rip off from Game Of Thrones?

by cLoUless

Feb 09, 2016 5:40 AM EST

every once in a while a gem comes our way and makes the life of every TV junky worthwhile - Beowulf is not one of them.
When I watch a show like this, I feel violated. No sense for the mythological backround, the costumes and omg the hair cuts! Where they going for the comic character Tintin?
The actors try to give their best, kudos for that, but they are let down by bad writing, bad CGI and none what so ever research on the topic, as it seems. If you do not care for any of that, then watch it, otherwise stay away from it.

by cgm

Nov 19, 2018 10:38 AM EST

Well done!

by amberpower

May 26, 2017 8:42 AM EDT

An interesting remake.

by comic

Nov 16, 2016 9:45 AM EST

Sad that it ended so quickly. I really enjoyedthe story line and characters.

by iguanasaber

Sep 08, 2016 2:25 PM EDT

Beyond Shit!
A poor imitation of GoT if that's what they were going for.
The props are crap and seriously lacking. The acting is terrible and visibly fake, you never believe it to be real in any way. The language is so stupid because the accents are clearly modern but just using older words from time to time. The fight scenes are horrendous, at points you see people waiting for an attack to come. Half the time what people do isn't logical at all. the effects are decent though. A totally shit series, DO NOT WATCH!!!

by danijelaistanislav

Aug 31, 2016 2:10 PM EDT

GOOD SHOW.THE MOVIE WAS BETTER.I LIKED WATCHING BEOWULF.

by CrotakuShinobi

Jun 19, 2016 10:56 AM EDT

This was ok. Like Game of Thrones with less blood and sex. I liked it. The movie is better tho.

by 1starbright

May 03, 2016 10:30 AM EDT

I really looked forward to watching this show. The story line and costumes were great. Very imaginative. So sad to see it go maybe someone else will pick it up. I know when I tell my friends its cancelled they will also be disappointed. I'm wondering if I should stop watching TV since many of the shows I have been interested in are cancelled. Why bother getting interested in a show if it just gets cancelled.