Speechless

Add to List

Review

Speechless

Avg Rating (0)
Your Rating
Fridays, 8:30 PM EST on ABC
Tracked 4,208 Times
Concluded
3 Seasons, 63 Episodes
30 Minutes
Buy or StreamAmazonAmazon UK
As Maya DiMeo (Minnie Driver) fights injustices both real and imagined, her family works to make a new home for themselves, and searches for just the right person to give son JJ his "voice."

Show Reviews

by JennJayBee

Sep 22, 2016 6:01 PM EDT

So many things I want to say here... I'm the mom of a special needs child (autism spectrum), and I can absolutely relate to Minnie Driver's character and the fight involved with getting your child what he or she needs in a system that doesn't want to deal with anything that might be even a little bit challenging. You do end up going off, and people see you as crazy, and heck... Sometimes you do feel crazy because you are a little bit. Driver is absolutely NAILING IT in this role, and we moms can take a minute to laugh at ourselves-- a laugh that's very much needed sometimes. (And boy do I need that license plate!)

Micah Fowler is wonderful as her son, reacting to the ridiculousness of people who treat those with disabilities as if they're aliens, lepers, or toddlers, and it looks like this character is an apple that didn't fall too far from his mother's tree when it comes to sass. In a world with so many outside looking in shows about disabilities where the family and child are constantly feeling sorry for themselves, this is a refreshing and needed change in perspective.

Also worth mentioning is John Ross Bowie (Kripke from "The Big Bang Theory") providing his usual snarky charm as the father of the family. Bowie's character is the balance of the family, providing a little calm and sanity when his wife and kids need it while still remaining supportive. I dare say that he's dangerously close to being too perfect, but we are just getting started.

Finally, I want to add that it's nice when I genuinely enjoy a pilot episode. I didn't feel like I was being led by the hand through exposition, which is rare and why I usually hate pilots. For a show to be enjoyable to me from the start says something about the show overall. I really hope this one sticks around.

by wolfgirl47

Sep 22, 2016 8:06 AM EDT

I love Minnie Driver and I am excited to have her back on tv. The show had some funny moments. As the mother of a special needs child, I thought that the struggles of being your child's advocate were realistic. Sometimes I felt that the supporting characters were trying a bit to hard.

by Suzanne Silver

Oct 08, 2016 5:42 AM EDT

This show is excellent!!
I dare you not to laugh. :)

by TamaraC77

Sep 24, 2016 8:51 AM EDT

Recommended on the Fall TV: New Shows to Watch From NBC, ABC, FOX By T.J. DeGroat this show hits the spot!! Its Funny, Socially aware, diverse while giving people a voice its well worth watching.

Speechless is about a family with a variety of abilities; wheels, track,space, balance and fight (makes sense when you watch it) trying to live life in a world not made for them (we can all probably relate) Starting again in a new school the group do all they can to have some stability and equality in the most hilarious, down to earth ways possible. This very "imperfect" family are actually the most "perfect" resemblance of family love, devotion and justice you would want to watch.

by Sue Wamser

Oct 26, 2016 3:46 PM EDT

I'm in love with Frank! Most of my aides think that all they have to do is toilet me and roll me in front of the TV. He brings normalcy into the day The writers have them doing hilarious things. Of course Minnie Driver makes a good choice as a mom for hiring him.
Speaking of Minnie Driver I laughed so hard I was crying. You've got to watch this.

by Lisa Schmidt

Oct 10, 2016 5:40 PM EDT

I wasn't sure this show would be able to handle the issue of parenting with special needs kids and still be funny without being insensitive, but I was pleasantly surprised. After watching the pilot episode I kept going until I had completed the first 3 episodes. Minnie Driver's character and her wacky family are exaggerated but most parents would relate to the crazy humor. This show is actually reminiscent of Malcolm in the Middle in my opinion. It's simply good family entertainment.

by DiogenestheCynic

Jun 16, 2019 10:41 PM EDT

The parents make a good, contrasting team that actually manage to be good parents most of the time. The daughter is also pretty amusing, but I never did really connect with any of the kids on the show.

by michellz

Jan 07, 2018 6:12 PM EST

This is a thoughtful, well-written show- I like how it makes fun of the hyper-sensitivity bs that can accompany the education system.

by Cavillor

Dec 31, 2017 12:53 PM EST

Upon first watching, seemed good, but now I realize that it's trying to copy Shameless (US), however failing to keep up to its quality. The comedy and jokes Speechless offers isn't a complete flop, yet they could do better. They feel out of place and more of a 'punchline' type rather than integrated in the actual life characters are living - the viewer can't escape knowing that they are watching a comedy show, rather than forgetting about real life and emerging themselves with it.
They attempt to have heartfelt moments in the family, but at the end of the day it all combined feels mediocre at best.

by Irdween Dominique

Jan 29, 2017 5:48 PM EST

This show is hilarious I love it !

by Sarah_G

Jan 25, 2017 8:04 AM EST

Great, so, so good, funny and pure but it adresses the issues around ableism in an open way

by Stephanie Li

Oct 02, 2016 10:21 PM EDT

I'm loving this show right now! The daily struggles of the DiMeo's to function sort of like a normal family with their anything but normal lives are made all the funnier by the turmoils of adolescence that not one, but all three kids are going through. This show is the perfect mix of comedy gold and heartfelt, emotional moments. Well done ABC!

by eljay36

Sep 25, 2016 5:32 PM EDT

I give it 5 stars*****!

Just saw the 1st episode of Speechless. I really enjoyed this show. Minnie Driver is the main force in this story. All the rest of the actors follow suit in the action as well.

by tvman26

Sep 23, 2016 9:10 PM EDT

I liked it. the show is refreshing, story and text are smart and funny, and Minnie is excellent. I will watch it!

by PrinceValiantUS

Sep 22, 2016 12:55 PM EDT

This is not worth watching. Such rotten comedy. ABC should take an example from CBS's BIG BANG THEORY!!