Sweet/Vicious

Add to List

Review

Sweet/Vicious

Avg Rating (0)
Your Rating
Tuesdays, 10:00 PM EST on MTV
Tracked 996 Times
Concluded
1 Seasons, 10 Episodes
60 Minutes
Buy or StreamAmazonAmazon UK
Starring Taylor Dearden (“Ophelia”) and Eliza Bennett (“Jules”), “Sweet/Vicious” is an offbeat superhero story for the millennial generation. Hell-bent on bringing justice to those who get away with abuse on their college campus, Jules and Ophelia take on double lives as wannabe vigilantes. Filled with clumsy attempts and missteps, the odd-couple pair of antiheroes must balance their new secret life with best, friends, parents, love interests, and the metaphorical monsters under their beds. At the core of the f*cked up, hilarious, heartbreaking world of Jules and Ophelia is the heart of the show: two girls, who never felt like they belonged, finding a home in each other...and trying to kick a lot of ass.

Show Reviews

by henneberg

Apr 17, 2017 1:53 PM EDT

This show is sooo great. I didn't see it coming, but once I started I couldn't stop watching. Sweet/Vicious deals with rape and the consequences of rape culture really well, and while the subject matter is dark and uncomfortable, the show never belittles or take the easy way out. Yet, it still manages to be fun to watch and tell an important story. It is nuanced and empowering and I want all teenagers to watch it so they can understand the world they live in better.

by

Mar 15, 2017 5:12 PM EDT

Sweet/Vicious takes MTV's scripted fare to the next level, finding a nuanced tone that's perfect for telling such a layered story. The series begins with sunny sorority girl Jules (Eliza Bennett) and weed-dealing hacker Ophelia (Taylor Dearden) teaming up to battle the on-campus sexual assault that is largely ignored by the administration. Both have their reasons for committing so fully to the cause. There are surprising comedic moments, mostly from Dearden (Bryan Cranston's daughter), and superhero-style action sequences, but the show really excels as an exploration of sexual assault and the culture it breeds. Watching terrible men (and a few women) get their asses kicked makes this sweetly cathartic TV.

by Kat Atkinson

Jan 25, 2017 7:24 PM EST

My favourite new show of 2016 (and there was some serious competition - Luke Cage, anyone?!).

The show focuses on a pair of vigilantes out to get justice for the victims of rape at their university who have been let down by the institution. The premise sounds wildly crass, but as one of the main characters is herself a victim of a sexual assault, it is more than just a gauche attempt to cash in on the lucrative super hero/vigilante genre. We see the aftermath of this terrible crime through the eyes of a victim defiant against the school's protective stance on their best a brightest male students. We see victims too afraid to press charges, those whose accusations were ignored and those who chose to fight back.

The subject matter can be pretty dark, particularly the sexual assault scenes, but they are dealt with in a way that is respectful and is key to the story, not just there for added drama. It also depicts the scope of the epidemic in the fictional university, which in itself is eye opening if even remotely accurate to reality.

The main characters, Jules and Ophelia, are engaging and complex, yet at times their interactions are completely humourous, making the tone for this show a little lighter than it otherwise could have been. The supporting cast are stellar, further adding to the out and out quality of this show.

It was clear after Teen Wolf that MTV could pull of producing their own scripted dramas, but this show is leagues above the supernatural drama in pretty much every way. Gritty, action packed, caring, sweet and vicious.

by Ayuuie

Jun 28, 2017 4:28 AM EDT

Jules and Ophelia were total badass! Didn't expect much from this show when I first heard about it but after the first episode, I was instantly hooked! Amazing show that got canned way too early! Not happy MTV!!

by Blondeyblonde

May 02, 2017 11:38 AM EDT

Why would even THINK about cancelling this show? The writing was impeccable and the storyline was solid. Was definitely a cult show in the making.

by Mary Pickford

Apr 28, 2017 5:33 PM EDT

EFF YOU, MTV!!!!!! This was the best show they came up with in years. SO much need :___(

by Jackman90

May 07, 2019 5:00 PM EDT

One of the best shows I've ever watched. A travesty that it was cancelled after just one season, but still compulsory viewing.

by Therese73

Jun 18, 2017 12:37 AM EDT

Ended way too soon, this was my new favourite and then pulled :( Hope there's a follow up of some kind.

by Sarah_G

Jan 25, 2017 8:09 AM EST

Yeah, girls, beat those rapists up! Jules needs a hug.