Anne with an E

Add to List

Review

Anne with an E

Avg Rating (0)
Your Rating
Fridays, 3:00 AM EST on Netflix
Tracked 2,844 Times
Concluded
3 Seasons, 27 Episodes
60 Minutes
Buy or StreamAmazonAmazon UK
The series centers on a young orphaned girl in 1890, who, after an abusive childhood spent in orphanages and the homes of strangers, is mistakenly sent to live with an elderly spinster and her aging brother. Over time, 13-year-old Anne will transform their lives and eventually the small town in which they live with her unique spirit, fierce intellect and brilliant imagination.

Show Reviews

by scotwot

May 14, 2017 12:15 PM EDT

Love this! I'm surprised as I love the original adaptation so much I wasn't sure I'd have space in my heart for 'another' Anne - with an 'E' but it's a wonderful period adaptation to immerse yourself in and forget about all of the things going on today. Everything is exceptionally well done! LOVE! ♥

by Lolli123456

Apr 24, 2017 8:14 PM EDT

Great show, supurb acting, sets, costumes... the period peice aspect of it is done remarkably well. The girl playing Anne *must* win awards for this. I'm watching the Canadian broadcast, so already at episode 6.

by Queensie

Apr 17, 2017 6:03 AM EDT

i have to admit some uncertainty about another production of "Anne". I loved the books as a child and I enjoyed the movies, but wasn´t sure how they would go about the show.
After finishing the first four episodes I can say I enjoy the show very much. I think it is great for children, but also has enough real drama in it for adults. Of course, if you have already been an "Anne"-Fan before, I would call it a must-have. I look forward to share Anne´s journey and to have more time to watch her development than in the movies.

by kookos

May 13, 2018 5:25 PM EDT

I absolutely adored this adaption of Anne Of Green Gables! The acting is superb, the characters are all lovable, even the ones I wasn't so keen on initially, the atmosphere and the nature are beautiful, the story is lovely... I watched all episodes in one sitting and now I can't wait for more.

by Minako-

May 12, 2017 10:52 PM EDT

I wasn't sure about what would come out of this. Anne is dear to me and the fact that it's an adaptation and not 100% following the books was scary. But truth is I've enjoyed every second of it. I had binged all 7 episodes before I realised it. And while some things are new and not from the books I think they've done a good job of keeping this Anne true to the spirit of the Anne we know from the books.

by Charity250994

Feb 04, 2018 7:37 AM EST

Anne is an amazing character. The show is educating and there is Always something exciting happening

by

May 24, 2017 6:53 PM EDT

This version of Anne, from Emmy-winning Breaking Bad writer Moira Walley-Beckett, is darker and more realistic than some might expect. After opening on a beautiful expanse of Canadian Maritime countryside and shifting to the nervous Cuthbert siblings, who are expecting an orphan boy to arrive at Green Gables, we finally are introduced to Anne. We don't see lightness and excited curiosity, but rather a troubled reaction to a nearby baby's cries, leading to a dark flashback to life in an abusive home. The story, about this unwanted girl's slow but steady effort to win over the Cuthberts and the people of Avonlea, is over 100 years old but feels remarkable relevant, spotlighting themes of identity, sexism, and bullying.

by Judith MacIntyre

May 23, 2017 12:53 PM EDT

This is a must see for all. I love, love , love it. Anne is so refreshing it is a joy to watch. All the actors in this show are doing a great job and the country side is showing up so beautifully, shows PEI as the beautiful little province that it really is. This show will pull you in almost from the opening show and once you start watching it you just can't stop, wonderful program, wonderfully done, hats off to the producer for this gem. Can't wait for the next season to start to see what Anne gets into next, you never know with her as she is thinking all the time.

by pvatta

May 17, 2017 11:58 AM EDT

This show was such a refreshing change from all the shooting and killing that's in so many other shows. I have seen other Anne shows and seen the play but this one comes across with a bit more drama and is different from what I've seen before. There had better be a season 2 because that ending was not a closer. I need to know what happens next!

by Rick C. Bowen

May 09, 2017 1:25 PM EDT

very good retelling of this classic. so much detail. great acting. just the right amount of everything, i know whats coming next but im looking forward to it. great first season

by CaroVC9

Apr 24, 2020 5:58 PM EDT

One word: Beatiful

by English_project_LTQ

Apr 08, 2020 7:26 AM EDT

Valeria - 3ºAR
It is a series based in the time of 1890 and it is about an orphan girl who has a lot of imagination and she will be adopted.

by mefeefo

Apr 08, 2020 3:27 AM EDT

Amazing and heavenly!

by generalkate7

Mar 31, 2020 2:33 AM EDT

This was a great adaption from the books with some added flair of more backstory from Anne, and beautifully done. I wish we were actually able to see Anne grow up and become an adult, but alas, cancelled.

by Deniz Rüya Aydın

Mar 30, 2020 3:53 AM EDT

#renewannewtihane ♥ ♥ ♥

by misttherain

Mar 10, 2020 5:23 PM EDT

this series was so good that I'm truly sorry that they were unable to complete and instead were concluded.. it was different than the other Anne of green gables but just as riveting.. loved the scripts, actors, costumes and the scenery captured well by the camera people.. a must watch into our not so distant past..

by eljohnston1990

Jan 06, 2020 6:43 AM EST

I've never read or watched Anne of Green Gables so I have nothing to compare this to, but I really loved the show from day 1. Some magnificent performances from the cast and it touches on some fairly dark themes at times. I find myself cheering Anne for her open mindedness and imagination, as well as her enthusiasm for life. I am REALLY hoping the CBC and Netflix are able to come to a resolution with this...because I want season 4!!

by Kelly Munn Bly

Jul 03, 2019 11:13 AM EDT

Yet, another version of the series of books Anne of Green Gables. The young Anne in this one is full of life and entertaining. Always a classic.

by pgutekunst1950

Oct 20, 2018 11:41 AM EDT

My favorite story since my daughter was a little girl. Such a great version!

by Princesse_Sierra

Aug 11, 2018 8:42 PM EDT

I had great hopes for Anne with an E when I first heard about it. Hearing about how the show would be introducing darker themes to make it more realistic didn't even bring out the purist in me - it's not as if the story hasn't had more faithful screen adaptations.
But there is such a thing as taking away from the soul of a story, and twisting its characters beyond recognition. That's the impression I got off of watching the first season, and I have to say I'm not looking forward to watching the second season.
That being said, Amybeth McNulty has given an outstanding performance