Bates Motel

Add to List

Review

Bates Motel

Avg Rating (0)
Your Rating
Mondays, 10:00 PM EST on A&E
Tracked 19,591 Times
Concluded
5 Seasons, 50 Episodes
60 Minutes
Buy or StreamAmazonAmazon UK
The teenage years of Norman Bates from Alfred Hitchcock's "Psycho."

Show Reviews

by TelevisionFanboy

Jan 13, 2016 7:58 AM EST

Bates Motel is a prequel version of Psycho set in modern times. What makes this show so successful is it's ability to tell a dark story well. Watching as main character Norman begins to unwind and his mother Norma protects is riveting.

by rachelsdfd

Nov 17, 2015 6:05 PM EST

Very chilling psychological drama. It gives a great insight into how someone can have multiple personalities and not even know about it. The fact that it is based on a real story just makes it all the more intriguing.

by kaidenlaw

Mar 04, 2016 10:04 PM EST

This show is off the chain! The writing and acting is so----good. I can't wait for it to start next week.

by ZaneAppeal

Mar 08, 2016 6:04 AM EST

If you're a fan of Psycho, I recommend reading/youtubing Slavoj Žižek's analysis of the film, and how each floor of the Bates motel relates to different parts of Norman's psychology - Id, Ego, and Superego. It's super interesting, and brings a whole new dimension to the movie at least.

by ZacELB

Mar 11, 2015 11:14 AM EDT

What Can I Say About Bates Motes? It's Filled With Action, Suspense And Just The Right Amount Of Creepy! The Complexity Of The Characters Is Unparallelled! It's A Great Series, It's Bold, Daring, Bloody And Bordering On Immoral!! It's Unique!

by Michelle Mashuro

Oct 11, 2014 8:57 PM EDT

Creepy and stunning. Their relationship has you cringing.. it's a must watch!

by ItzHavok

Jul 05, 2015 9:27 PM EDT

The starts off a little slow but develops into something deviously captivating. The story is sadistic; about a dysfunctional family trying to run away from its past and start a new life. The bond between mother and son is twisted and corrupt. I recommend this show.

by me2011

Mar 22, 2015 11:55 PM EDT

Really great acting on this show... such that I can't watch it right before bed because Norman is creepy as hell!
The only thing this show needs is a new network... A&E is too small for this show and it needs better marketing. Other than that, it's perfect and I highly recommend it.

by irishhedgehog

Feb 21, 2015 5:16 AM EST

A fascinating and exciting show which perfectly illustrates the fatal impact of a highly dysfunctional mother-son relationship on both Norman and Norma. Great cast and great writing. I like the inside-look one gets into a psychopaths mind. The only thing I don't care for is the whole thing with the drugs. It seems a bit far-fetched. Other than that it's a great show.

by Dominic Wade

Oct 16, 2014 8:52 PM EDT

Having seen Psycho, this was a must see to understand the origins of Norman Bates. I must say, it has been a thrill to watch.

by bussman15

Sep 15, 2014 6:56 PM EDT

A great twist on a classic. I was a little nervous at first after reading the book and watching the movie, however its a great way to develop Norman Bates backstory. I strongly recommend watching it.

by lizzykeiger

Aug 11, 2014 8:22 PM EDT

At first its a little weird, and might take a little to get used to, but it's well worth it. This is so well written and i love how each character grows and how what you thought was true in the beginning is completely wrong.

by Sam Smelser

Aug 04, 2014 12:46 AM EDT

The relationship between Norma and Norman makes me kind of uncomfortable at time, this show is very Kubric-esk, it reminds me of Clock Work. It's worth giving a chance, but I'm still on the fence.

by lisabradley100

Jul 12, 2014 7:30 AM EDT

Hmm, this is a bit of a strange one. Wouldn't dream of missing an episode, but at the same time am not sure how much i like it. The story is certainly engaging and the acting top notch, but somehow the story stretches just a little too thin, there's too much else going on that could be tv shows in themselves: the drug ring: the sick girl trying to fit in with her peers; the unhinged mother. While it works in some respects, I often find myself urging the writers to just get to the point. That said, by the conclusion of the second series we did seem to be focusing more on Norman's problems and developing the arc of the character that leads to Norman Bates - aka Psycho.Will just have to see what season 3 brings

by roxannebrown

Sep 20, 2015 7:44 PM EDT

I just can't say enough about this show. The entire origin story of Norman is very intriguing and the acting is spectacular.

by Anne-Lotte

May 13, 2015 4:20 PM EDT

It is very interesting to have a peek in the life of Norman Bates as an teenage boy. His development is very scary and that makes the show so good I think.

by FrozenField

Mar 20, 2015 9:50 PM EDT

I have a confession to make. I have never seen Psycho. I keep meaning to but every time I go pick up movies I wind up finding new ones I want to watch. However, this means I'm not biased by the inevitable movie comparisons.

This show is good. Well written and creepy. They do the violence in a way that makes it horribly clear as to what happened without actually showing much. That takes good acting and good directing.

Freddie Highmore manages to be sympathetic and creepy which can be difficult to balance. Despite knowing where he is heading I can't help hoping for him to turn it around.

Vera Farmiga is really impressive as well. It doesn't take long to why she has been nominated for this role for quite a few awards.

Also, bonus points for Nestor Carbonell and those gorgeous eyes.

I hope it continues for a long time without jumping the shark.

by chikayeye23

Feb 23, 2015 7:48 PM EST

Alfred Hitchcock never imagined the impact of his thriller, much less that someone would be interested in creating a prequel. Bravo to Freddie and Vera for giving life to the most outrageous fiction-duo of the 1960's!!!

by Alejandra Sequera S.

Aug 29, 2014 12:02 PM EDT

Great show! really creeppy and exciting!

by 123maxz

Jul 19, 2014 7:19 AM EDT

prequel to a old movie called Psycho love the show always looking forward to the next show