Better Things

Add to List

Review

Better Things

Avg Rating (0)
Your Rating
Thursdays, 10:00 PM EST on FX
Tracked 4,044 Times
Hiatus
4 Seasons, 42 Episodes
30 Minutes
Buy or StreamAmazonAmazon UK
Co-created by and starring Pamela Adlon, who plays a working actor with no filter trying to earn a living, navigate her daughters' lives, have fun with a friend or two, and also - just maybe - squeeze in some private time once in a while.

Show Reviews

by Lisa Schmidt

Sep 25, 2016 2:57 PM EDT

This is a beautiful show about motherhood in our century -- a show that shines a realistic light on a variety of painfully funny parenting moments. Actress Pamela Adlon's performance is authentic genius in this honestly funny, touching story that so many women will relate to. Her character Sam is doing the best she can to lovingly guide and raise her kids without worrying about being judged for her choices. She is unapologetically human and I believe that's what delivers the show's magic appeal. If you don't have kids, you may not be able to appreciate this show completely. This show is not one for adrenaline junkies or anyone who lacks a sense of humor about life. I say give this show a chance. It might surprise you. But if it doesn't appeal to you, just switch the channel--don't criticize art that you can't understand.

by TelevisionFanboy

Nov 29, 2017 4:44 PM EST

Better Things is funny in a subtle but semi-realistic way. Pamela Adlon is an amazing actress, hopefully this show develops into one worthy of her talent. ***It has, 2 seasons in Better Things is much much better.***

by Speakezee

Sep 15, 2016 7:22 PM EDT

if you liked adlon in californication, you will love her now...I did and do...she is flawed and honest and earnest and clever and human. I hope to get to know the three kids too. She is dealing with issues that I really didn't have to manage when my kids were young.

by wolfgirl47

Oct 08, 2016 10:54 PM EDT

This show not only shows motherhood in a realistic way but it does so with humor.

by Anttan076

Jan 31, 2017 2:09 AM EST

Excellent Show!

by TamaraC77

Sep 24, 2016 9:04 AM EDT

There is an element of reprise in Better Things as we have the co creator Pamila Aldon almost playing the same character, Marcy from Californication, only as a single Mom with older kids. Nothing wrong with that, as she was a very funny, clearly human and pretty hedonistic character. Better Things provides a slightly toned down version with the addition of the alternative views, ideas and expressions from her kids while approaching the nature of motherhood as a single actress. This show has a great meta element with cool cameos and humour peppered throughout. Worth seeing where it goes.

by gusters

Jun 01, 2019 4:48 PM EDT

This is a cute little show about a single mom trying to raise 3 daughters on her own. Lowkey want to punch Frankie in the face though, just saying lol. Dysfunctional, yet loving and fun family to watch.

by Carlotta Mismetti Capua

Apr 08, 2019 7:02 PM EDT

Fun in despair.
A sort of Altman kind of thing about motherhood, and how really can be like.
Full of truth compassion for women's life.
Super arty, for USA standars of series.
Will Evolve.

by annarain12

Nov 28, 2017 7:07 PM EST

This show really should be an hour long! It has a good comedy base, but also gives us a look at many issues family go through. Not too heavy, but enough to create a good amount of thought. I really would love to see it brought to an hour. BTW, this season's finale, which includes a graduation gift was awesome!!! choreography, music, all of it really fantastic, just brilliant.....

by lucassaldanha

Nov 18, 2017 4:15 PM EST

It has subtleties that any other series highly hopes to achieve.
It's funny and deep and that's very difficult to do.

by GeorgeAnn

Sep 28, 2017 11:38 PM EDT

It feels real

by steelsheen

Oct 17, 2016 4:59 AM EDT

Well made show about what makes a family a family warts and all.

by zander250

Sep 16, 2016 10:10 PM EDT

Boring and almost painful to watch.

by Calamari_Princess

Sep 09, 2016 3:16 PM EDT

To be fair, pilots can be rocky, so I'll give this one more shot. But based solely on the pilot, this show blows; it's not smart/insightful, funny, or even mildly interesting. Following some random person home from the grocery store and watching them put away their groceries is about the pace of this show. :/ Actually, watching a stranger put away their groceries or mow their lawn or clean their windows (you get the gist) would be a more entertaining way to spend half an hour.

by TsipporaM

Apr 29, 2020 8:30 AM EDT

i just finished season and i ?? i have no idea what's going on
i have so many questions they just don't bother to answer.... is frankie trans? DOES DUKE SEE GHOSTS?? what is going on with phyllis? why did they do that weird dance??
it feels like they thought they were saying something but weren't actually saying anything ...just vague incomprehensive things because they liked the sound of them. unless someone tells me season 3 is hugely better i won't be watching any more of it.
which is a shame because i really liked the characters for the most part.

by TheRandomme12

Sep 02, 2018 9:29 PM EDT

At first I wasn't really into this show, but then as I was browsing Hulu I ran across it and it's something I enjoy watching in my downtime. It's not really funny to me but I somewhat enjoy the show.

by keerthana.ravishankar

Aug 03, 2017 8:24 AM EDT

I watched it only because I loved Pamela Adlon in Californication. But I think I liked her only because there was David Duchovny in the frame. This series was boring and not worth my time.

by Lolli123456

Jun 26, 2017 11:19 PM EDT

A great first season. The main actress was far better than I had thought she would be having seen her on Louie which I didn't care for at all (Louie produces this show I think)... you get sucked into the reality of her life as if you are a neighbor actually watching someone live their mundane yet tragically fascinating life... the show has some seriously beautiful real moments that deserve awards. Looking forward to season 2.

by magikhoe

Dec 14, 2016 8:13 PM EST

this show could be better

by vronmo

Sep 23, 2016 12:10 PM EDT

Not sure what I think, but will give it a couple of episodes to see if I will continue towatch...