BoJack Horseman

Add to List

Review

BoJack Horseman

Avg Rating (0)
Your Rating
Fridays, 12:00 AM EST on Netflix
Tracked 5,186 Times
Concluded
6 Seasons, 77 Episodes
30 Minutes
Buy or StreamAmazonAmazon UK
Meet the most beloved sitcom horse of the '90s ... 20 years later. BoJack Horseman was the star of the hit TV show "Horsin' Around," but today he's washed up, living in a Hollywood bachelor pad, complaining about everything, and sometimes wearing colorful sweaters. Set in an L.A. where humans and anthropomorphic animal-people coexist, "BoJack Horseman" is about one man (well, horse-man) who peaked too early and must figure out what to do next.

Show Reviews

by ZaneAppeal

Mar 17, 2015 1:29 AM EDT

Will Arnett plays a washed up 90's TV star Bojack Horseman, who takes an introspective look into Hollywood, and his life choices when a ghost writer is hired to finish his autobiography.

by Natalie Stacey

Oct 19, 2016 4:34 PM EDT

EVERYONE who loves TV needs to watch this. True drama-adult-cartoon with real continuation between episodes - which I loved! Also, I believe it might have the best theme tune of all time. Was stuck in my head for weeks after ending this years' season. Awesome

by

Mar 17, 2017 5:13 PM EDT

BoJack Horseman is one of the best shows I have ever watched. It takes you a few episodes to get accustomed with the at first seemingly unfitting mix of the (more or less) extremely cynical and self-destructive characters and at times goofy, slap-stick-esque humor. But once the main character, BoJack, starts opening up a bit (in his own stubborn way, naturally) you grow to like him in a weird kind of way that at times frustrates you so much that you want to stop watching the show all together. This love-hate is the same kind of bond the other characters have with BoJack, which stands for the amazing ability of the show writers to form a connection between you as the viewer and BoJack, who is so very humanly, or rather, horsily faulty and deeply troubled. The other characters are similarly unique and go through many turmoils, as well.
One of my favourite humoristic elements is the way part of the animal characters' traits are based on things the pure animal versions of them are characterized by (such as Mr Peanutbutter, who is a dog, listening to commands from others even if he does not want to).
All together the show is a sensitive, very dark and confronting, yet also strangely ironic, take on the show business industry and more generally on life decisions people make and how they want to see themselves and want to be seen by others.

My only critique would be that the cycle of BoJack's self-destruction is a very drawn out one. As soon as you think he finally realized something and will be able to cope better with himself and life, he "relapses" into another bad decision and the outcome makes his situation even worse than before. This got a bit too much for me in season 3 but I cannot wait for season 4!

by irishhedgehog

Oct 07, 2016 4:25 AM EDT

BoJack Horseman really took me be surprise. When I first started watching it I didn't expect a whole lot or better yet I didn't know what to expect but was completely fascinated just one episode in. I love the 90s flashbacks, the sarcasm, the craziness but also the surprisingly emotional and serious plotlines. Although this might sound and seem like your typical cartoon it is nothing like any other cartoon I have ever watched.

by talhoino

Sep 11, 2014 5:20 PM EDT

Surprisingly one of the greatest cartoons I've seen in a very, very long time.

by ALCON

Oct 30, 2016 12:10 AM EDT

Initially on the surface it is but a satirical view of tired celebrities and divas battling in the realm of hollywood.
On deeper review, and especially in the third season is transforms into art - surrelism if it were a TV show, yet grounded.
Great show.

by kelsburgers

Sep 23, 2015 8:45 AM EDT

Love it, not other show like it

by Shane Jones

Sep 19, 2017 10:24 AM EDT

Back in the '90s, I was in a very famous TV show.

by JilmaR

Oct 19, 2016 3:51 AM EDT

This is one amazing show! An amazingly well written and produced cartoon that has intelligent humor and great focus on details. Is deep and also lighthearted and there is no way someone would not laugh at least every 10 min of an episode. Has also some reality onto it without losing the animal anthropomorphism that is characteristic. Pretty awesome!

by steelsheen

Sep 10, 2016 9:15 PM EDT

A slow developing show that eventually sucks you in. Added bonus it craps all over Hollywood which makes me happy. Also GJH also an incredibly dark show that gets progressively darker as it goes on. It's not a traditional cartoon in any way.

by arnav120

Aug 03, 2016 8:25 AM EDT

a true Gem of a show.. it aptly depicts that emptiness, despair, the eternal need for us to be happy and that fear of the future does exist. Also, how it has a restraining effect on people, even the successful ones.

What a unique, distinct world the writers have created, besides the characters are inherently funny as hell.
Season 2 was snubbed but S-03 definitely warrants an Emmy nomination.

As Alan Sepinwall rightly said, its the best show on Netflix!



by Alexander Jones

Mar 22, 2016 3:13 PM EDT

How can a horse feel such intense sadness?

Bojack Horseman's second season was wonderfully melancholy, but also cemented some of the things I loved about the series in an effortless, euphoric manner. The beloved sadness was highlighted and focused upon during a few pivotal moments that were peppered throughout the season (often later into the year.) When watching the show, I was struck by some of the darker moments taking place in Bojack's life. Without giving away any spoilers, fans should know that this season is an improvement from the last. The stakes are larger, and characters have surprisingly dramatic arcs. This season Bojack shifted even more away from the comedy side -- when describing the show to others, I often compare it to Family Guy (that is, if Family Guy showed the consequences of Peter's actions and never reset itself.) At the heart of the typical animated comedy is individuals misbehaving, and something that Bojack was more willing to explore this season. With F is For Family premiering late this year (also a Netflix Original Series,) I found that the show wasn't willing to dig into some of the individual heights of Bojack. The key members of the cast return including Bojack Horseman (Will Arnett,) Todd (Aaron Paul,) Princess Carolyn (Amy Sedaris) and more. The show continues to have a star-studded voice cast with great actors and comedians such as Paul F. Tompkins (Mr. Show) and Adam Conover (Adam Ruins Everything.) One of the great aspects of this show is how many of these voice actors and comedians defer away from being funny all the time. Known funnyman Paul F. Tompkins, shies away from being the humor vehicle with Mr. Peanutbutter, a talking dog following in the footsteps of Bojack himself into a serene depression nursed by horrific decisions and an inability to do the right thing. Stanley Tucci's Herb Kazzaz unfolds what happened in the split between Bojack and Herb this season with another pair of episodes cradled in sadness. With a third season on the way, Bojack is likely going to continue to offer beautiful sadness in a profound manner. While this may not be the Netflix show that will make you burst into tears, it just might be the most thought-provoking one -- what an odd thing to say about a half-hour animated comedy.

by ewart_j

Aug 04, 2015 8:00 AM EDT

Extremely clever comedy, which starts out as just a laugh but builds into an intelligent social commentary. Very funny.

by Vuk Matic

Jul 05, 2015 3:46 PM EDT

Started off a little slow, but once you get into it it is pretty funny, certain parts really made me laugh. Love Will Arnett though, his voice suits the role flawlessly! All in all good when you have no serious tv show to watch and could use a laugh, albeit most likely a cheap one

by GabiPaula

May 31, 2015 1:17 AM EDT

Yes! A thousand times yes! It's a really weird tv show, but I just can stop watching it!

by ItzHavok

Mar 03, 2015 9:05 PM EST

BoJack Horseman is an animated comedy about a washed up actor (a horse) drinking and stumbling his way through whatever he calls a life. The jokes are funny and show's presence is solid. I would watch this show if i was bored... you will enjoy it.

by generalkate7

Mar 30, 2020 8:14 PM EDT

So dark, so funny. A look at where people end up and how they got there, and the effect we all have on those around us.

by jaja_plz

Jul 09, 2019 4:57 PM EDT

por siempre será una de mis series favoritas, estoy muy ansiosa esperando la sexta temporada.

by housecat87

Oct 17, 2018 1:32 PM EDT

Comedy, sarcasm, animal instincts and drama. This show might be labeled as a comedy but sometimes it had so much drama, realness and words of wisdom that it should have been called - documentary. There's a little of BoJack in all of us. He says everything that we can't or won't because we are too afraid what others may think. Other characters are amazing as well - Princess Carolyn, Todd, Diane and of course Peanutbutter. It even sounds hilarious? It gets better with every season, darker and funnier. People who draw and write this must be a little(?) nuts but also intelligent and talented. I totally recommend!

by linkinwhark

Sep 21, 2018 10:42 AM EDT

It's like Mad Men but cartoon and funny. Very depressing though. Best show ever.