Charmed

Add to List

Review

Charmed

Avg Rating (3.45)
Your Rating
Fridays ,8:00 PM EST on The CW
Tracked 6,983 Times
Hiatus
2 Seasons, 41 Episodes
60 Minutes
Buy or StreamAmazonAmazon UK
After the tragic death of their mother, three sisters in a college town are stunned to discover they are witches. Soon this powerful threesome must stand together to fight the everyday and supernatural battles that all modern witches must face: from vanquishing powerful demons to toppling the patriarchy.

Show Reviews

by

Aug 29, 2019 2:51 PM EDT

I am a fan of the original. But i didn't want to be like everyone else and just bash the reboot without giving it it's due... I have to say, i had to go back and watch Original Charmed just to get the stink off, ugh, this reboot is full of bad writing, worse acting and just plan unrealistic cgi, Charmed the original, made everything so perfect, it had strong female leads who knew how to act, with great writing, i LOVE charmed and it will never get too old to watch and watch again! Prue, Piper, Phoebe and Paige the true Charmed sisters forever immortalised in the hearts of true fans.

by Innakkk

Nov 03, 2018 11:47 AM EDT

Nothing compared to the original. Yeah the effects are better, but then again it's produced using modern technology. But in terms of actors, acting and even story line, the original is way deeper, making this remake look like a parody of the original. They were better off to create a tv series that had nothing to do with the original show, as the original one is pretty hard to beat.

by shorgoth

Oct 29, 2018 4:57 PM EDT

I'm pro equality for all, I have no qualms calling myself a feminist. This show first episode was a piece of trash. It was misandry, pure and simple. Not only was the plot poorly written, the acting really bad, the special effects cheap but it was unabashed misandry. They made every male characters, rapists or demon rapists. Seriously. This show is insulting and disgusting, it is far from its roots in term of quality.

by christiane212

Aug 29, 2019 2:51 PM EDT

I am not watching it. Did the first episode, I did not like the narrative, the images on the screen, the story.
Awful!

by Jayee

Nov 23, 2018 11:57 AM EST

This show is terrible. Even if you hadn't watched the original and went into it with fresh eyes, the appalling acting, unneeded feminism and political statements this show is trying to push will turn you off very quickly. I have watched 2 episodes and ready to drop it. If you want to see a reboot done well (and include witchcraft) go watch the Chilling Adventures of Sabrina. This show could learn a lot from them.

by elpepin

Apr 02, 2019 2:20 AM EDT

I'm sorry but this show is getting progressively worst. It is too warped up in being MeToo Movement and feminist to the point of displacing man altogether. Not to mentioned that it murdered the original show's memory. The Elders are now all women who's morality is questionable (I'm sorry Elders were for all intent and purposes high angels). I am just hoping that in the new 'Charmed' they dial down the 'scientifically minded' sister , who's constant analysis is completely annoying, and that the lesbian (yes, they made one a lesbian) would shut up about the "patriarchy" and "strong women" sh1t. Also Harry's (the white lighter) power to teletransport FX looks exactly like Harry Potter apparating rather than 'angelic looking orbs'. I was so excited about this show. They had a chance to improve it and they killed it. Fire the writers.

by Sandrine Payerne

Oct 26, 2018 6:53 PM EDT

soooo disapointed.not at all up to it. the 1998 serie was great . this is a pale copy

by PrimRose0033

Oct 23, 2018 1:44 PM EDT

I loved the original charmed. If you never watched the original this could be a nice show . I think the acting is horrible and its definitly an 2018 show with all the internet and mobile phones.. i just watched 2 episodes maybe it gets better but i doubt it.

by Amy Petrou

May 10, 2019 9:56 AM EDT

*Update: I gave it 10 episodes. Didn't changed my mind. Some shows shouldn't be remade*

Ok, first I need to admit that I'm a huge fan of the 1998 Charmed series. I had my doubts about this remake but I thought I'd give it a chance. I was very disappointed. I dislike Mel so much it's hard for me to watch the show. Her character is very annoying. The younger sister (can't remember her name) is meh, the only likable one is the scientist one. It's not like the story is showing potential either. I'll give it another 3 episodes before I dump it. Too bad, I had some long-shot hopes about this one.

by Shivoncarla

Jan 23, 2019 8:32 AM EST

The new Charmed has set itself up as a feminist and progressive upgrade of the original, in ways both positive and problematic. The writers' room is extremely diverse, with a very clear feminist vision of the show.

Whether you hit puberty in the 90's or not, Charmed is a reboot that's worth giving a try on namesake alone.

by Evi Muselle

Dec 06, 2018 10:28 PM EST

It's very different from the original. So, I'm looking at it as a new show instead of a remake and as a new show, it's pretty much one of the more decent shows on television at the moment.

by Jocelyn Chapman

Jan 27, 2020 10:50 PM EST

It's okay. If you love the genre and just want something to watch, it's worthwhile. Otherwise, there's better stuff out there.

by Lolli123456

Aug 29, 2019 2:52 PM EDT

I somewhat recently watched a season or two of the original Charmed. I had to stop watching as the plot and the writing went down hill fast. But the three young women were easy on the eyes and some of the show was fun.

The remake lost me in the first 5 minutes. They seemed to throw the idea of a plot out the window from page one, and I was rolling my eyes by page two.

The press made a big deal about the young woman not being white, but I think they missed the point. They should have mentioned that they were not pretty. I didn't watch long enough for the third woman to arrive. Witches are supposed to be Hot. Did you miss the memo? Are these feminist witches?

No great loss.

by Sean Keller

Feb 09, 2019 8:51 PM EST

I tried I really did but this seems to be nothing more then a sad excuse to insult white men. Every show since trump was nominated and even more so after he won cracked jokes about white privilege or man splanning or trump being a bad person but they keep it to once every 4 or 5 episodes the jokes at the nation do not drive the show and as a result it does not alienate those who support trump. This show at episode 3 is clear they do not want you watching it if you are a white male they do not care who you support. Just to edit this how the heck did this show get a second season just look at the review seriously if you want a show about family and magic just go watch legacies

by Saj2112

Dec 13, 2018 11:07 AM EST

I'm really disappointed in this reboot. I loved the original, and this falls short in every single way. The story is lacking and the characters are just poorly written. I'm not expecting this show to last long at all.

by gggx3

Dec 04, 2018 1:58 AM EST

Listen I was a huge fan of the original. So I was reluctant at first. I didn't love the actors they cast. And I hated the first episode. But I decided to just give it a chance. And then I think it was episode 5. it gets good. I was like finally! Some drama. And multiple story archs. I actually found myself excited for the next episode. So fingers crossed it keeps it momentum. Just watch until episode 6. If you still dont like it ok. But watch until then.

by polsje

Dec 03, 2018 8:23 PM EST

Huge fann of he old Charmed :) that's why I started watching the new recast series. I have a few problems with this reboot. First the fact that is the combination of sisters, how can a white mom have a "African doughter from 1 guy and a white and latino girl from a nother guy ?" Its just to politicaly correct (also there has to be a gay sumthing in it). The acting is oke but the script in the way they are witches and have powers is not. Basic human or witch behaviour is off. If ure house is on fire what do u do ? wait and see ? NO, u look for an escape or if ure a witch like Mell u freeze time.
Writers if u reed this pls make it more real :)

by KerstinRoush

Nov 29, 2018 3:37 AM EST

Why does it always have to be "politically correct" and include a gay and/or lesbian couple? I am most definitely not anti-homosexuals - but it is getting to be overkill in the shows.
As a whole, this show isn't all that great. The acting is bad, but the story is just plain terrible. There is no hand and foot to the whole thing. And the whole "girl power" and the "all male's are bad" vibe that is coming off the show - sorry, but this is not the right platform for this. At all.
I am sorry to say, but this remake sucks. If you really want to watch a great remake, watch "The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina".

by LittlePineappleHead

Nov 19, 2018 7:22 AM EST

I loved the original Charmed and was very excited about this reboot, but after watching three episodes, I think I'm done. The older sister is a passable actress, but the younger two are just dreadful. All of the characters seem very silly and badly written, and the plots so far are all over the place, and not in the least engaging. I just don't know why they bothered, really.

by Den235

Oct 23, 2018 4:06 AM EDT

I keep wanting to compare this show to the original, but its a different show. The pilot was decent. I enjoyed the darker angle on the demons and witchcraft makes it feel more creepy than magic.