Counterpart

Add to List

Review

Counterpart

Avg Rating (0)
Your Rating
Sundays, 8:00 PM EST on Starz
Tracked 3,489 Times
Concluded
2 Seasons, 20 Episodes
60 Minutes
Buy or StreamAmazonAmazon UK
Counterpart tells the story of Howard Silk (Oscar winner JK Simmons), a lowly cog in a bureaucratic UN agency who is turning the last corner of a life filled with regret, when he discovers the agency he works for is guarding a secret: a crossing to a parallel dimension. Through Howard and his “Counterpart” on the other side, Prime, the show will navigate themes of identity, idealism, what ifs, and lost love.

Show Reviews

by me2011

Feb 19, 2019 1:21 PM EST

This show quietly came in, kicked ass, took names, and then quietly left. Unfortunately, I only heard about this show halfway into the first season but I was able to catch up quickly. Rarely do you watch a show and have the ability to say that there was not a single bad actor in the bunch. This was well-acted, with a stellar cast, great plot that could have been stretched out with twists and turns for many years or allowed for resolution and new story lines each season. The possibilities were endless, however, due to Starz' piss-poor marketing of the show, it did not have the viewership necessary to keep going.
In addition, we now live in a culture where storytelling is expected to cater to those with shorter attention spans. I'm not being rude, there have been marketing studies showing that attention spans are shorter, and not for the younger generation, for EVERYONE simply because we've become accustomed to getting what we want now. If I want to know the weather, I don't have to turn on the weather channel and wait until they finally get to my city or wait for the local news to tell me, I can find out online in a second, or look at the weather app on my phone on the home screen. For some people, this has changed the way they want all of their information, and for others, we still want what we want quickly, but we can enjoy the crafting of a good story. We can enjoy layers of foundation being constructed and see the beauty and art of seeing it built into a spectacular finish. Ah well, they said there was hope that another network will pick it up for season 3, but I doubt it, these actors are excellent, which means their contracts are expensive. I hope I'm proven wrong about that last bit but it was nice to have the two seasons.

by georgiaraepink

Aug 19, 2018 10:51 PM EDT

Too long to wait for things to happen, got bored quickly and stopped paying attention

by Debra McClure

Mar 26, 2018 1:07 PM EDT

The show has it's moments but they are too few and far between. Wonder what might be in store if they give it a second season.

by frosty55

Feb 12, 2019 11:41 AM EST

Confirmed cancelled with possibility of pickup. Source: DEADLINE


Philosophical sci-fi espionage with J.K. Simmons, an interesting premise to say the least and a solid lead to hold things together. Ulrich Thomsen is a bit underused so far, but it's early and honestly it's nice to see a Banshee alum involved in another intriguing show. The rest of the supporting cast is written a little too cookie-cutter as well and will need to be fleshed out in the name of solid spy-intrigue pedigree. Pacing is going to be a big determining factor for success I believe; balancing all around character development in a slow meaningful way, ramping up the tension and suspense, and hitting hard and realistically when the action kicks off. Production and sound design are going to need to bring more depth, weight, and detail to the settings if they want to keep the monochrome theme fresh. There is tremendous potential here. And lose the CGI blood effects, they look awful, are unnecessary for realism, and can be omitted entirely or inserted from time to time with squibs and good old corn-blood.

Following episode 2, I still find myself wanting; as aforementioned and now with regards to the tactical exchanges. Less is often more when it comes to this type of action, and the gunfights (and knife attacks) still feel too staged and hollywoodesque. As in real life they should feel loud and powerful and crushingly straightforward, but on film (gritty espionage thrillers in particular) this should be brought intimately and uncomfortably close to the viewer. Having someone kill a dozen trained officers and agents, effortlessly and at a distance, negates the stakes and pulls the viewer out of the experience. More to follow, but it's looking rough for season 1.

by kaidenlaw

Apr 07, 2018 7:27 PM EDT

Great concept, loved the characters and production values. The writing was so crisp and the character development so complete, that I felt that I had been watching this show for several seasons. Please tell me its been picked up for a second season.
UPDATE: Renewed for Season 2. Yay!

by marshmallowgod

Feb 19, 2018 7:59 PM EST

Simmons got his dual role down to perfection, manners, facial expressions, body language/posture/movement. He makes it believable.

by Lolli123456

Feb 05, 2018 11:31 PM EST

A mashup analogy would be if the movie Brazil and the TV series Fringe had a baby. The first 15 minutes of the first episode is perplexing and you don't understand what all this beaurocratic and boring business is about. But it sets up the character arc very nicely and the lead role actor does a great job. There is a fair amount of action and its exciting and mysterious as the story world unfolds little by little. If they want this to go for multiple seasons, I think they better interduce so female energy into the core plot as it suffers from too many old man (that is kind of a plot reveal). I just know the juvinile-minded male dominated sci-fi audience will need some sex appeal if this is going to last.

The episodes keep getting better and better.

by SiliconChip

Jan 28, 2018 6:09 PM EST

The show is about the collision of 2 realities of the same world, and the fight between them
The 1st episode will start slightly slow but it picks up its pace and by the end of the 2nd one you will be already hooked :)
It is indeed an interesting story and quit different from everything else out there.... really curious how it will progress.

by iguanasaber

Jun 29, 2019 10:42 AM EDT

The most amassing thing about this show is the actors. the double personas that they play is phenomenal. The idea itself is well thought out however the initial 'accident' to cause it was just pathetic. All in all a pretty good show.

by flyfisher110

Feb 13, 2019 8:27 PM EST

Some episodes are a little slow and hard to follow. But all in all its a real good show. J K Simmons is great in his duel role, but he always has been a good actor. The rest of the cast are also doing a good job, as well as the writers. To bad the second season just got boring, and hard time keeping our interest in the show. Acting is still good, especially J K Simmons.Will stop watching.

by EHutch

Feb 13, 2019 6:05 AM EST

Counterpart can be a bit slow at times but the dark story and briiliant acting are worth it. Reminds me slightly of Fringe. The locations are gorgeous.

by keerthana.ravishankar

Oct 28, 2018 8:47 AM EDT

One season down and there's too much happening; it barely manages to hold my interest. But there's something about alternate dimension that I still keep watching.

by Greg King

Jul 15, 2018 11:12 PM EDT

On SBS on Demand , simply the best TV for years

It stars the guy you have seen a thousand times but never knew his name. He can act brilliant, do yourself a favour watch it

by Liltee

Jul 13, 2018 9:16 PM EDT

Good show. Interesting!

by pirr

Apr 01, 2018 12:56 PM EDT

One of the best shows on TV. Intelligent dialog driven SF spy thriller with great atmosphere.
If you are a fan of complex and authentic characters and story you will like this show ... you might hate it if you expect unrealistic action or humour.

by Ivsteal

Mar 28, 2018 10:54 AM EDT

Since the pilot just pilot lite no flame or substance only slow burn.

by hadrons

Mar 22, 2018 12:57 PM EDT

Well written script, engaging plot. mesmerizing acting of J. K. Simmons.
Can't wait to see how the plot that gets thicker & thicker, will serve some purpose for this Enigma.
So far, combines the BEST of American & British TV.

by

Mar 15, 2018 1:19 PM EDT

The show was boring. I fast-forwarded, then all of a sudden, the main character was talking to a different version of himself and they didn't explain how. I rewound for a few seconds to see what I had missed, then turned it off. Its was still too boring to watch to see what the trick was. I would of had to watch until they explained it.

by writersroomgirl

Mar 06, 2018 1:10 AM EST

Top notch, sleek storytelling. Whiplash's "J. K. Simmons" at his best.

by GaBerlinn

Feb 26, 2018 8:28 AM EST

great show and a beatiful tour throughout Berlin.