Downton Abbey

Add to List

Review

Downton Abbey

Avg Rating (0)
Your Rating
Sundays, 9:00 PM EST on ITV/PBS
Tracked 59,538 Times
Concluded
6 Seasons, 52 Episodes
60 Minutes
Buy or StreamAmazonAmazon UK
Set in the fictional Downton Abbey, stately home of the Earl of Grantham, early in the reign of King George V, during the two years prior to the Great War and commencing with news of the sinking of the Titanic, an event that triggers much of the storyline. It follows the lives of the aristocratic Crawley family and their servants.

Show Reviews

by lucyloo21

Nov 03, 2014 1:39 PM EST

Simply beautiful to watch. This show is really well written with great characters on both sides of the upstairs/downstairs divide. Some story lines can be a little dull (did anyone really care about who won the village flower show?) but on the whole a very entertaining series.

by cat-91

Mar 15, 2015 2:37 AM EDT

Period dramas + the British = Success

by Jessica Flynn

Jan 15, 2016 4:23 PM EST

I held off watching the series for the longest time and went into binge mode once it had concluded. This is one of the best drama series I have ever watched, and I regret not getting caught up in all the excitement throughout.

by SaneshFrancis

Jun 26, 2018 7:13 AM EDT

Dame Maggie Smith, need I say more.

by scotwot

May 23, 2016 11:59 AM EDT

Not for me. I know everyone loves it, but not me.

by dassiearwen

Oct 17, 2015 3:15 PM EDT

I love how this show keeps me hooked even when there aren't any worldshifting things happening (like in many of the shows I watch). The characters are very interesting and while the story hasn't as many twists as other shows airing, it is still very interesting and keeps me wanting more. I am sure season 6 will be a satisfying end to a very nice ride.

by bndoorh

Sep 26, 2015 9:32 PM EDT

2ed best british show ever

by daviswalden

Oct 14, 2014 5:47 PM EDT

Downton Abbey's depth and exploration of class schisms in England allows for the growth of an excellent and interesting period drama. It explores social problems of the era as well as a clash between conservative and liberal thought. It also takes a look at the changing political views of the time. Overall, Downton Abbey is here to stay. Its acting, writing, and gorgeous scenery will be more than enough for viewers.

by Jocelyn Chapman

Sep 18, 2016 11:36 PM EDT

LOVE THIS SHOW!! Highly recommend to anyone who enjoys dramas. Excellently executed. One of my all time favorites.

A warning: every season has one episode that may make you feel uncomfortable to watch with children around, but all other episodes are great for any age!

by Speakezee

Dec 28, 2015 1:23 AM EST

BEST FINALE EVER! all those wonderful characters got resolution in logical manners. I was right about losing an old friend!

The conclusion will be like losing an old friend or ten or twenty...the characters are so varied and delightfully flawed to showcase important issues that are TIMELESS...marriage, children, homosexuality, morals, culture, role of women and servants and aristocracy. It shows us the demeaning situation of working class people in an era that seems all too current.

by Indigo1311

Dec 19, 2015 5:46 AM EST

Acquaint yourself with the fascinating members of the aristocratic Crawley family, the extensive staff that work for them, and witness how personal and historical events affect their lives and the era they live in. The writers of this series are so accomplished that every character is so well defined that it’s impossible to believe they exist only on film. If I had to single out the person that most amuses me, it would have to be Maggie Smith, who literally steals every scene she’s in with her demeanour and wit. The scripts, sets and costumes are all faultless, and the acting is superlative. With beautiful stories ranging from enduring love and friendship, to heartbreak and war, everything is tastefully written and filmed, then served on a silver platter. There are truly no words adequate enough to describe just how wonderful this show is, and what a joy it is to watch. Take a step back in time and immerse yourself in the glorious story telling that is Downton Abbey. You may never want to leave.

by LEE64

Oct 19, 2015 1:20 AM EDT

I am crushed this show is concluding. Why???

by Reach4raj

Oct 16, 2015 9:52 AM EDT

A british period drama , with nice characters...

by marcensseraph

Mar 19, 2015 1:24 AM EDT

One of the best period dramas BBC has ever done.

by imkemertens

Feb 06, 2015 1:49 PM EST

good show about the life of the rich ones, in the old days

by a.nwns

Apr 02, 2020 5:05 PM EDT

A beautifully done show.

by d5patel

Jul 05, 2018 6:44 PM EDT

i loved the first season after that it just went down hill

by keerthana.ravishankar

Aug 17, 2017 5:58 AM EDT

This is one of the best period dramas on TV! The ensemble has done a fabulous job and although it gets a little dry in a couple of seasons, you are already so engrossed with the characters that you don't mind it. I loved this show and I am glad they ended it when they did; I enjoyed it through-and-through.

by heloise342

Apr 26, 2017 7:07 AM EDT

Downton Abbey is a really nice show to watch if you want quality British drama. Looking at a number of talented actors, I don't need to say that the acting is amazing. It's also very well filmed, and even though it is a drama, it's still realistic and historically accurate, it's not over the top which I really appreciated. The characters are real, grounded, and the show is funny and heart warming. I just had a blast watching the show!

by Deana1988

Mar 03, 2017 11:11 PM EST

My friend tried on countless occassions to get me to watch this show. I always refused but one day he put on a couple of episodes for me and when I came home, i binged watched the rest. This is a great show and something I never thought I would watch!