Elementary

Add to List

Review

Elementary

Avg Rating (0)
Your Rating
Thursdays, 10:00 PM EST on CBS
Tracked 41,214 Times
Concluded
7 Seasons, 154 Episodes
60 Minutes
Buy or StreamAmazonAmazon UK
Elementary is a contemporary update of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's character Sherlock Holmes, starring Jonny Lee Miller as Sherlock Holmes and Lucy Liu as Dr. Joan Watson, a female version of Holmes' companion. Here, Holmes is a former consultant to Scotland Yard and a recovering drug addict. He travels to New York City to check into a rehabilitation center and then lives with Watson, who becomes his sober companion and eventually his apprentice.

Show Reviews

by Orla-Jo Ní Dhúill

Sep 20, 2014 7:00 AM EDT

A rare gem among traditionally awful American takes on British shows/books. Clever and provocative Elementary delights in busting tropes of its genre.

The procedural format holds the show back a little in comparison with its British competition but Elementary is pointed its own animal doing something different.

The cast are a joy to watch.

by PrivateSmallville

Nov 19, 2014 11:12 PM EST

One of today's best sherlock J. Lee Miller acting skills in this series is superb. Also great cast. This show is a must watch.

by Saerwing

Sep 05, 2017 11:19 PM EDT

The negative things you hear about this show before having seen it, such as "Watson can't be a girl because HolmesxWatson shouldn't be a thing", are unfounded and biased. First and foremost, JLM plays a better Sherlock than RDJ and Benny C, and he definitely deserves to gain a better reputation. With Lucy Liu as Watson, it's almost as if every single episode shows a new interpretation of the duo breaking away from the long standing character stereotypes. The mystery of this show is so fantastic, it has to be one of the least predictable shows on television.

by ZaneAppeal

Jun 13, 2016 6:19 AM EDT

The real problem with Elementary is how stupid the writing is. Sherlock is meant to be a genius, but I doubt he could even tie his shoelaces. Do yourself a favor and watch Sherlock instead.

by Ricardo Clavell Haas

Oct 03, 2016 9:43 PM EDT

i really like the show and cant have enough of it

by ItzHavok

Jan 22, 2016 12:13 PM EST

This show omg! This is the wittiest show since house, but instead of solving medical cases he solves murders and crimes. This drama twists mystery, reality and pushes the boundaries of the human brain. The main duo "Lucy Lui" and "Jonny Lee Miller" are unrealistically brilliant. They will keep you "tunnel visioned" to the television. Some of the best executed and written characters i have seen in a long time, one of my favorites. If you like crime, drama or mystery watch this show.

by Amy Petrou

Nov 16, 2015 6:38 AM EST

Usually I don't like the American version of British dramas. This time it's different. Obviously it's the cast that's great that makes me want to watch the show. Millers' Sherlock is brilliant, I love him all dark and twisty! Watch it!

by rm_stevens90

Feb 05, 2015 10:40 AM EST

love their relationship.. interesting take on the age-old classic sherlock holmes

by Maria Mateescu

Nov 06, 2014 6:29 AM EST

Lovely depiction of Sherlock Holmes. Perhaps a more accurate depiction of the character than in BBC's Sherlock.

by Cumberbitch

Sep 28, 2015 8:43 AM EDT

EXCEPTIONAL WORK AND LUCY IS IMPECABLE

by Speakezee

Feb 20, 2015 5:37 AM EST

Pixar has made a tradition of NO LOVE STORIES, and ELEMENTARY appears to be a no romance kind of love story. not at all like MOONLIGHTING or REMINGTON STEEL, the chemistry between Joan and Sherlock appears to be a love of INTELLIGENCE that has little to do with physical attraction, but who knows what the future will bring.

I do wish they would improve the sound quality of the tidbits of dialog that go by too quickly with the British accent and the soft spoken Sherlock.

It is almost palpable to see Sherlock attempting to permit Joan a semblance of freedom, and she is adamant about insisting on making her own choices...surrender to another's decisions is quite difficult for anyone who is used to being the "smartest person in the room." Quite a challenge when a doctor has Sherlock to contend with.

by deepak3565

Feb 13, 2015 12:58 PM EST

An American version of Sherlock holmes with the hot Lucy liu playing Dr. Watson. Not very impressive when compared to the actual Sherlock but a much layman version of Sherlock.

by Orla Ní Dhubhghaill

Jan 16, 2015 11:11 AM EST

No this is not an American attempt at Sherlock for one thing not all the main characters are white and people's character motivations actually make sense.

by jcfan

Oct 31, 2014 2:23 AM EDT

Elementary is better than I thought it would be. I remember I first I was like, "Really? They are doing an american modern day Sherlock Holmes? That's just gonna be a rip off of BBC's Sherlock" THEN there was the FEMALE Watson and I was like, "Yep, no way this is gonna be good. Not watching this.

Then I think I saw a trailer or something and I thought I might just check out the pilot. Well I did and I really enjoyed. Elementary is its own thing, its unfair to compare it to Sherlock. The more Sherlock holmes the better I say. Plus it is a nice tide me over between seasons of Sherlock.

All in all a pretty decent show that takes the Sherlock Holmes stories and twists them in unexpecting ways. 7.4/10

by QueenSamanthaSmith

Aug 27, 2014 1:03 AM EDT

I must admit that at first I thought this show was kind of boring. But now, after keeping it in my tracker for a couple of seasons, I decided to give it another chance. It's actually quite good and always has my attention, my curiosity and my butt on the edge of my seat. No wonder why it has lasted past the first season.

by 123maxz

Jul 19, 2014 8:57 AM EDT

good show if you like mystery show

by chikayeye23

Jan 22, 2020 7:07 PM EST

Lucy Liu's outfits, YES! Lucy Lui's blonde hair, not so much!
I love the little plot-twist about Watson being a woman. HAD SO MUCH FUN!!!!

by liliroula

Aug 12, 2018 1:09 PM EDT

show starts good and promising , has a small bump around second season but goes up again i'd say. IT is an interesting twist of Sherlock

by kaidenlaw

Apr 06, 2017 6:43 PM EDT

I love this show, and I'm disturbed to learn that Papa Holmes will not be returning for season 5. :(

by roxannebrown

Apr 28, 2016 9:52 PM EDT

I was a skeptic about this show when I first heard about it. Now I'm a convert. Smartly written and well acted. Arthur Conan Doyle would approve.