Firefly

Add to List

Review

Firefly

Avg Rating (0)
Your Rating
Mondays on Fox
Tracked 12,882 Times
Concluded
1 Seasons, 14 Episodes
60 Minutes
Buy or StreamAmazonAmazon UK
Five hundred years in the future there's a whole new frontier, and the crew of the Firefly-class spaceship Serenity is eager to stake a claim on the action. They'll take any job, legal or illegal, to keep fuel in the tanks and food on the table. But things get a bit more complicated after they take on a passenger wanted by the new totalitarian Alliance regime. Now they find themselves on the run, desperate to steer clear of Alliance ships and the flesh-eating Reavers who live on the fringes of space.

Show Reviews

by scotwot

May 26, 2016 4:41 PM EDT

LOVED this show, everything about it!

by gusters

Oct 07, 2015 9:03 PM EDT

This show was definitely before its time. Too futuristic, but amazing. Really disappointed that it only lasted 1 season, a shame honestly.

by anunderdogxo

Jan 17, 2015 1:47 PM EST

Unfortunately, I didn't watch this show when it aired, but I was introduced to it by my brother. I love this show and it's sad that it only lasted a season...but at least they made a movie!

by Joe Bennett

Oct 27, 2014 4:58 PM EDT

Still crying about this with the rest of the Firefly fanboys. We need a support group!

by cat-91

Oct 18, 2014 3:55 AM EDT

You cant take the sky from me!!

by 123maxz

Jul 19, 2014 9:07 AM EDT

great show to bad it got cancelled

by Jocelyn Chapman

Sep 18, 2016 11:45 PM EDT

Phenomenal show! Action, comedy, romance, drama, intrigue--absolutely brillant! Worth watching it again, I caught onto even more the second time through. At first I didn't think I would like this ''space western'' but an amazing show is an amazing show! I highly recommend this show to anyone. Wish there was more than the 1 season and movie, but it was just too ahead of it's time.

by Lucy

Sep 24, 2015 11:49 AM EDT

So I can finally claim my geek card as I have got round to watching the cult classic tv series FIREFLY! My sister and I watched all 14 episodes in just over a week :O

I can safely say that the show deserves it’s cult status. The crew of Serenity are basically scavengers and tradesmen trying to survive on the edge of space, bonded by war, love, loyalty and even desperation - which creates a great dynamic in the group and kind of a family feel.

The futuristic backdrop is well thought out, and ultimately timeless too; the mix of western and sci-fi worked really well (I was a bit worried it wouldn’t, but they pulled it off superbly). The story lines were captivating and different each time (I discovered that spn’s Ben Edlund wrote some of my favourite episodes!)

But for me what makes Firefly such a good show is it’s CHARACTERS. The show has 9 actors in it’s main cast, but each is developed, with their own back story and distinct personalities which reflect their background something which we are seeing less of these days…

By about episode 3, I was shouting at the tv "yes, that’s exactly what *insert character name here* would do!” and when your audience can understand your characters so quickly and really GET them, then you’ve got a winning show right there. Personal favourite character is probably a close tie between Zoe, Kaylee, Jayne, Mal… okay basically I loved everyone

It is such a shame the show was cancelled, I can see that it didn’t have the ‘umph’ and action packed feel that seems to be the norm these days, which is probably why the viewing figures weren’t spectacular. BUT YOU DON’T NEED ACTION PACKED TO HAVE A GOOD SHOW! As Firefly has undoubtedly proven here. In the meantime, I look forward to watching the follow-up film “Serenity” and applaud Joss Whedon on his fantastic efforts in creating the show.

I’D DEFINITELY RECOMMEND WATCHING IT!

by jcfan

Nov 11, 2014 1:28 AM EST

Firefly is one of the best sci-fi shows EVER. I mean JOSS WHEDON and NATHAN FILLION! What more needs to be said, though you could also say SUMMER GLAU. there you go, I just gave 3 reasons to watch this show. What are you waiting for?

by Joao_Vilaca

Nov 10, 2014 11:36 AM EST

I'm so mad they ended this show

by lizzykeiger

Aug 03, 2014 4:52 PM EDT

It took a few episodes for me to get into it because it was so hyped up, but when i did i was obsessed! Its a Sci-Fi western which sounds incredibly strange but it works, i love every one of the characters, so well done! If you're new to the show, be sure to watch the movie "Serenity" after you're done!

by Ivsteal

Jan 20, 2016 10:33 AM EST

I still can't believe they ended this show after one season, at least we got a movie with and epic ending out of it-

by bruhannuh

May 25, 2015 10:09 PM EDT

Castleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!

by anjaaaaah

Jan 31, 2015 2:16 AM EST

It's genius. It's Joss. I'm so heartbroken that it lasted only 13 episodes.

by Queensie

Jan 30, 2015 10:38 AM EST

The only thing wrong with this show is that it has only one season. Besides that I would definitly recommend it. Love the characters and that they are all very different.

by kfsoterten

Nov 22, 2014 12:53 PM EST

Amazing show, wish it didn't end.

by Mohammed87

Oct 26, 2014 10:03 PM EDT

i love this show, bring it back

by bndoorh

Oct 23, 2014 6:44 AM EDT

I GIVE THIS SHOW A

by dassiearwen

Oct 22, 2014 12:47 PM EDT

Bit of a slow start, but a great tv series that didn't get enough episodes nonetheless. Definitely worth a watch, be prepared to be sad when it is over.

by tenkgirl

Oct 10, 2014 9:57 AM EDT

best. show. ever.