Flesh and Bone

Add to List

Review

Flesh and Bone

Avg Rating (0)
Your Rating
Sundays, 9:00 PM EST on Starz
Tracked 3,621 Times
Concluded
1 Seasons, 8 Episodes
60 Minutes
Buy or StreamAmazonAmazon UK
Created/executive produced by Moira Walley-Beckett (Breaking Bad) and executive produced by Lawrence Bender, Kevin Brown and John Melfi, Flesh And Bone is described as a dark and gritty drama that unflinchingly explores the dysfunction and glamour of the ballet world and follows a young ballet dancer, Claire (Sarah Hay), who has a distinctly troubled past, as she joins a prestigious ballet company in New York.

Show Reviews

by Ivsteal

Nov 09, 2015 3:10 AM EST

This show is a breath of fresh air. Love the realism and the gritty chemistry between the characters that leaves you on the edge of your seat. Sorry no explosions or; played out hipster story lines pretending to be relevant. What you will find is a foundation of something great. It has a good cast, engaging story line, broken in depth well rounded characters, and more than just a little side boob. It captures the essence of pushing a dream to it limits. Analyzes the differences between natural talent and practiced discipline. True reality with the a hint sparkle. Not vampires drenched in glitter- enjoy.

by leah

Nov 09, 2015 1:48 AM EST

This show wants to be gritty and titillating but it's just deathly boring when it's not actively ridiculous and stupid. What a freakin' shame.

by Queensie

Nov 17, 2015 6:09 AM EST

Marvelous! I don´t remember another show so dark and intense. It gives me the feeling of almost to much, but still keeps me on the edge of my seat. Flesh and Bone shows you a dark and dangerous world right just in reach of normal people´s everyday life. It seems believable for me, that art and ballet could indeed produce this kind of environment, just as this kind of environment might bring one to this world of art.

by Afinso Sousa Soares

Nov 08, 2015 9:59 PM EST

A sweet, little girl against bitc*y ballerinas, pretentious choreographers, conniving characters, Sex, and drugs. Add the beauty of ballet and scenery and you have the best ingredients for a perfect show to enjoy and binge watch.

by scotwot

Feb 25, 2016 6:07 PM EST

Loved the dancers, watching real dancers 'rehearse' was a real treat. The histrionics of the ballet company staff were a bit OTT and the plot could have been sewn a little tighter together but I enjoyed this. Particularly the exquisite dancing of the female lead, a ballet dancer in real life, I found her acting impressive, it's got to be hard to play such a self-contained yet terribly vulnerable character. Overall, thumbs up, worth a watch even if just for the dancing.

by Amy Petrou

Dec 21, 2015 6:07 AM EST

"You know what's beautiful to watch? Ballet!" it says in the intro. Really? REALLY? I thought so too, but this is dark, so depressing and at times so twisted... I don't like the main character at all and I'm sorry if this show portrays the real world of ballet. I know it's not all roses etc but com' on! I'll give it one star just because of the direction which really sets the mood of the series.

by irishhedgehog

Nov 24, 2015 12:55 PM EST

This is one of the most powerful shows I've seen so far. Flesh and Bone is pure emotion.
I think it perfectly depicts the darker side of the seemingly light-hearted world of ballet. I love how you get to know the different characters in such depth so it feels as if you know them.
This show kept me fascinated and on edge the entire time. It is so powerful and thrilling. From the gripping storyline to the excellent dancing and of course the lovely music selection this show is simply brilliant.

by mxaviera

Jan 06, 2016 8:18 AM EST

I never thought I would enjoy this show, but man, I loved it! Sad to say this is the harsh scary truth of the world today. Love the realism and darkness of this show.

by Klaymor

Dec 03, 2015 11:28 PM EST

I rarely (never) review, but this thing is so relentlessly depressing, I just had to say so. Unless you're into twisted, messed up people whose only redeeming feature is that they can dance and look pretty while they do it....Stay away from this.

by wolfgirl47

Nov 17, 2015 3:11 PM EST

I only made it through the first episode but it was a struggle. The dancing is so beautiful but the rest is straight out boring.

by FrozenField

May 24, 2016 8:49 PM EDT

I don't know what was more poorly done - the acting or the writing - but they both ruined any chance of this being a keeper.

The dancing was a nice relief from the rest of the show which has nothing new to add to TV.

The reality show Breaking Pointe was more interesting than this overbudgeted and overrated snorefest. If only Breaking Pointe had actually had more dancing in it it might have lasted. Flesh and Bone no way.

by heloise342

May 08, 2016 9:35 AM EDT

This show was great, very strange but very mesmerising at the same time.

by ASYAmanda

Dec 20, 2015 11:38 PM EST

Awful. Wish I could get the time back I spent watching. Started out okay but became more and more ridiculous and then just got really boring. =(

by Koolgirlgibbs

Nov 20, 2015 5:05 PM EST

This show though!! So frustratingly twisted, diabolical and filthy. Yet so real a depiction of tortured human spirits, enslaved to their art, enraptured by pain, love,malice and envy. It is dark and shameful and you are entangled by the web it weaves. Just when you think it is being unravelled you realise you are caught even deeper in a web of betrayal, deceit, sadness, torture and disappointment. Yet it is so well acted! The main characters are so talented! The writing so exquisitely engaging and it pulls you in like a seductive lover. You love to hate it but must watch the next episode immediately. You are ravenous for it. Yet you cannot be satiated. I am sick to my stomach at the plotline, yet i watched all 8 episodes back-to-back. A must see for the strong spirited who appreciate realism. A must see for the lovers of ballet, fine art and all things beautiful and passion-filled. But not for the weak or the depressed or those who are too empathetic.

by Inês Junqueira Silva

Nov 15, 2015 3:06 PM EST

A view behind the scenes of the world of ballet. The amazing dancing, coupled with the rest of what happens makes for some intense moments.

by Starling Valo

Nov 13, 2015 2:31 PM EST

This seems like a cross between Showgirls and Black Swan. It seems very predictable and didnt hold my interest well for that reason, but its early days for the show I suppose. Not sure I would watch the next.

by Alejandra Sequera S.

Sep 24, 2019 4:39 PM EDT

Ballet, Men and sexual assault, this crazy story takes us through the crazy obstacles life can be made of.

by fruitfly20

Oct 05, 2018 11:11 PM EDT

This show was not what I expected. I like a good underdog story, and when it is about the stresses and struggles of being a professional ballerina, count me in! However, this show was wacky and a bit disturbed from the beginning. Usually seeing the damage ballet can do to one's body makes me cringe, but in this, it was everything else that made me feel ill. I suppose it was more like ballet meets Game of Thrones - so if you are into that, more power to you. I, however, like to keep those two things separate and I wouldn't recommend this show for the general viewer.

by MGlidden

May 23, 2018 7:04 PM EDT

This was a strange show, but it made me never want to stop watching. I am a little torn on whether I wanted a second season or not. On one hand, it feels somewhat unfinished. On the other, I had my fill.

by dizzerzz1

Feb 10, 2018 3:29 PM EST

Honestly, this show has been one of my favorites since I watched it a year ago.