Game of Thrones

Track

Add to List

Review

Game of Thrones

Avg Rating (4.21)
Your Rating
Sundays, 9:00 PM EST on HBO
Tracked 326,088 Times
Concluded
8 Seasons, 75 Episodes
60 Minutes
Buy or StreamAmazonAmazon UK
Seven noble families fight for control of the mythical land of Westeros. Friction between the houses leads to full-scale war. All while a very ancient evil awakens in the farthest north. Amidst the war, a neglected military order of misfits, the Night's Watch, is all that stands between the realms of men and icy horrors beyond.

Show Reviews

by daviswalden

May 09, 2016 12:17 PM EDT

Besides having an awesomely, awesome theme song that gets you pumped for every episode, the intense amount of intrigue, political drama, love stories, and mysticism in Game of Thrones make for a very interesting and captivating television drama. Well-acted, well-scripted, and with a fantastic story, this fantasy series is unlike any other.

by ZaneAppeal

May 09, 2016 12:15 PM EDT

A historical retelling of the benevolent and righteous reign of King Joffrey Baratheon before his brutal downfall in 1483.

by blair85

Apr 14, 2016 12:22 PM EDT

This review will be spoiler free, so read on without worry of ruining the plot.

Game of thrones is a great series that challenges the tropes of television, and fantasy as a whole, pushes the envelope on how big a show can get, an how heroes and villains are defined, outperforms most competitors on effects, writing, and production quality, and proves that when done right, an adaptation can be as good as what it aims to translate.

While many who read the books would argue that they are better than the show, and vice versa, for those who never have read them, I would instead say that neither one is the definitive version. Both have their merits. The books will give you better insight into a character's motivations, but the show gives you scenes with characters who have never had their own point of view chapters. The books use Sex and violence to show the world as a dark and ominous place, where someone would not want to live, while the show uses cinematography to create some of the most evocative imagery ever put on the small screen.

Game of thrones is almost peerless in it's scope, ambition, and shock value, and will go down as one of the greatest shows ever created. Is it without faults? No. There are some characters who lose much of what made them interesting on the page (though some become much more interesting); Some plots are dropped, or downplayed, in favor of other ones that are not nearly as intriguing; Some story beats are skipped, and replaced by newly created ones, which can be hit or miss; And some locations lack the wow factor you might get in your own imagination, while others dwarf their descriptions from the source material.

Overall, I say watch it. The show is unlike anything that has come before in television, and has something for almost anybody. There is a steep learning curve at the beginning due to the sheer number of characters, locations, and plots happening right from the opening credits, but at least stick through the end of the first episode, and you won't be sorry.

by ItzHavok

May 09, 2016 12:17 PM EDT

This show is a great collection of action, drama, fantasy and diverse story-lines. There is a lot going on in this show and it is not recommending for people with ADHD. The story is well written, the actors are well cast and above average in execution. The fantasy aspect of this series if very well shown through magnificent sets, beautiful backdrops and a functioning wardrobe. The plot twists and turns when you least expect it... something devastating always happens. Every season gets better and better. If you like a show that has courage and that will keep you on the edge of your seat, this is the show for you.

by TelevisionFanboy

Apr 08, 2016 11:36 PM EDT

Game of Thrones is a fantastic Fantasy sensation! High drama, witty humor, and a myriad of creative characters make this show a delight to watch. It is the most pirated television show of all time and the biggest show of the past decade for very good reason! If you haven't started watching it already, take the plunge! There's no fantasy show as fun to watch as Game of Thrones!

by deepak3565

Feb 13, 2015 11:09 AM EST

Watched it more than once and read the books as well. Amazing adaptation of the book. Beautiful sets and actors. Amazing screenplay. Winter is coming soon... :)

by Eric Birlew

Dec 19, 2015 6:29 PM EST

There are not enough episodes in a season to keep us going, then it's a long wait, we want more. I love this show, it brings out the inner Warrior in me as usual when I watch and I long to fight once more but getting to old and the body says no more Wars for me.

by chocochick

Jan 29, 2015 3:45 PM EST

Never read the books, but this show has a complication and amazingly drawn out plot. That is the main attraction to this show. There is a quite a bit amount of mature content both nudity, language and gore which to be honest is not my style of TV at all (prob why i took away half a star) its not that it bothers me, its just i feel often times it is necessary. But still the plot of the show and the characters are amazing. the twists in the show are compared to no other show that i have ever seen. Always the opposite of what i expect to happen is what ends up happening.

by Chivonne D'cruz

Mar 01, 2016 6:42 PM EST

Game of thrones is a beautiful fantasy show that takes the viewer to beautiful locations and intriguing story lines. Female characters are quite strong and when they mention a villain, you do cheer when the villain is gone. However, the show is brave and doesn't mind killing off everyone, quite true to the books. the seasons go by quickly and the last season finale was good, but had too much going on and for the first time i felt it was rushed to get everything out there. however, as game of thrones fan know, no spoilers and also we wait not so patiently for April
. :)
CD

by eddierogers92

Oct 01, 2016 12:22 PM EDT

EPIC! SEXY! VIOLENT! COOL! What's not to like?? A fantastic fantasy adventure that can appeal to everyone and anyone. Arguably the best show made in the 21st century so far ... a must watch!

by rachelsdfd

Apr 13, 2015 7:39 AM EDT

Absolutely amazing show! Mystery, dragons, war, wolves, love, hate, it literally has it all!

by legacy_user_7180d

Apr 08, 2015 3:32 PM EDT

Valar morghulis!!! O.M.G sooooo gooddddddd!

by cat-91

Mar 19, 2015 4:39 AM EDT

The epicness of this show is just incredible, can't wait to see how it goes down in the end!

by lizzykeiger

Dec 07, 2014 2:33 AM EST

I have no words for this amazing show, even the title sequence is interesting. Despite being incredibly twisted and destroying everything you love, you will keep coming right back, impatient for more. Every character is worth paying attention to, even the ones you hate. My only critique would have to be when in some moments they made some of the men more heartless than in the book.

by gusters

Jun 01, 2019 3:45 PM EDT

You know nothing Jon Snow. I feel like I wasted 8 seasons watching this. :( Ending didn't live up to the build up of the show. I'm so disappointed. Hopefully the final book will do it better justice when it comes out, IF it comes out.

by me2011

Mar 31, 2019 6:13 PM EDT

Well acted & directed with high production values. It's really a great show, so great that I've re-watched three times.
My appreciation for the show grows each time I run through the series again. Is it absolutely horrible that I love Cersei? I know she's evil but Lena Headey plays the role in such a way that makes you silently root for her to overcome her obstacles. Granted, I don't want her on the throne but I love the character too much to want her to die for her sins.
I digress, if you are looking for a show to love and watch a dozen times until the day you die without ever getting bored, this is it.

by Jules Cameron

Oct 24, 2016 12:04 PM EDT

BEST show on tv :)

by Ivsteal

May 12, 2016 6:12 AM EDT

My guilty pleasure, along with 76% percent of the population on planet earth.

by Tiemy Obers

Jun 01, 2015 1:33 PM EDT

Sometimes i think why do i keep following this series, but now and then there is that one episode.. and you go like, wtf.. more please.. x3

by Ducky55

May 30, 2015 10:00 AM EDT

It's hard to review this show. Everything has been said. I haven't read the book, probably never will, but this is extremely enjoyable, from every aspect. It is well written and superbly acted. I don't always follow exactly who's who with all these bearded guys, that kinda sound and look alike, but I'll be damned if it's not among the greatest things on TV right now.