Krypton

Add to List

Review

Krypton

Avg Rating (0)
Your Rating
Wednesdays, 10:00 PM EST on Syfy
Tracked 6,553 Times
Concluded
2 Seasons, 20 Episodes
60 Minutes
Buy or StreamAmazonAmazon UK
Years before the Superman legend we know, the House of El was shamed and ostracized. This series follows The Man of Steel's grandfather as he brings hope and equality to Krypton, turning a planet in disarray into one worthy of giving birth to the greatest Super Hero ever known.

Show Reviews

by Spyke91

Mar 22, 2018 4:31 PM EDT

This is gonna be awesome. :D

by Sylar Dean Paginton

Mar 22, 2018 2:58 PM EDT

Going on the Pilot episode.. the effects are great, the story is cheesy along with the acting. The voices of the actors.. WTF did they go with British/Australian accents..? it's cringe worthy and damn awful... it would be like making Supergirl and giving them all South African accents, it JUST DONT WORK!! I had MASSIVE hopes for this show but guess its just all been ruined with this pilot. I'll watch a few more episodes though I highly doubt i'm going to get over these accents immaterial of how good the visual effects are.

by hmab

Aug 18, 2019 6:11 PM EDT

Perfect!!!
Great ensemble...
This is the origin story of Superman's grand parents.
Great visuals and a DC Sci-Fi story that has not been produced by the CW, so enjoy .

8/18 Good luck to the cast, I will miss you...

by ZaneAppeal

Feb 24, 2020 12:22 AM EST

Is it a bird? Is it a plane? No, its... a train-wreck. Just like its namesake, this show was doomed to destroy itself under internal pressures of mediocrity.

by me2011

Sep 08, 2019 4:51 AM EDT

This is a decent show but not really worth the watch because it contains history that screws with the settled history of Superman. I was hoping to learn more history, not see the history I know of become altered to absurdity.

by BartJr

Jan 20, 2019 6:20 PM EST

Muito boa, criou toda uma antologia em cima do nome da família de Superman/Kal-El. Os personagens são muito bem apresentados e a ligação entre eles e as historias em quadrinhos é o mais legal.
Excelente ponto de vista e esperamos o que vai acontecer na segunda temporada.

by CarolannL

Jun 28, 2018 12:42 PM EDT

Unfortunately, this show did not give me the hype I was expecting. I kept feeling like something was missing from the show. I will give it to the show though, it isn't anywhere close to Smallville or Supergirl. How to make a Kryptonian show without any of the superpowers we are used to. Thought it would work, didn't for me. Sorry

by flyfisher110

Jun 20, 2018 7:11 PM EDT

Slow and boring. Nothing like I thought it would be.

by agustj

May 17, 2018 3:56 AM EDT

really enjoyed this show

by Snootz

May 13, 2018 3:51 PM EDT

I have mixed opinions on this show. It started off so well.

One thing that i DON't know whether I like or hate is the zod's being black. I have always known the Zod's to be white. Whilst this isnt an issue, did they all have to be British?

It's like them saying all Black, British people are evil

by Heather Morgan

Apr 25, 2018 2:00 AM EDT

I'm halfway through the 4th episode and I'm not seeing much improvement from a boring start and wooden acting. Only for diehard superman fans.

by LizardQueen77

Nov 19, 2019 4:20 AM EST

Was really sad to find out this was so suddenly cancelled. The show ended on a huge cliffhanger, that will never be resolved. I really liked it. It was a unique take on characters that were not really known about. It is a really neat look at a world I always wanted to know more about. I love the cinematography. The special effects are more polished than a typical tv sci fi type show. The the background story of Superman's family origin is truly compelling. The depth in which the world of Krypton is shown (the guilds & characters) is impressive. Very dark, but filled with heart and morality. Perfect casting, awesome characters and great stories.

by Jamie Reynolds

Aug 19, 2019 7:20 PM EDT

Well, here we go again another canceled show. So to be honest they did not really give this show much effort. Dialogue and story were bleak and the execution of background scenery was poor and boring. Now imagine if they actually knew a yellow sun gave them power and they could have been a race of supermen and superwomen throughout the galaxy. What a story that would be.

by Rashid Alzayani

Aug 12, 2019 9:13 PM EDT

Different type of superhero show

by kaidenlaw

Aug 08, 2019 6:03 PM EDT

Until now, I never knew there were African-Kryptonians.

It's a show about the up, up,and awkwardly mobile Krytonian elites with more than clouds between their knees.

by LeeJ5

Apr 14, 2019 7:31 AM EDT

Awesome indeed.

by Moniie

Feb 01, 2019 7:21 PM EST

Story about superman his grandfather. Good effects, some episodes are a little slow buti do like the background information you get.

by vrtxf

Jul 03, 2018 8:50 PM EDT

Short version: I hope S02 will be better than the 2013 Superman Unbound !

Starts poorly, becomes a little awkward (25%), then weird, then confusing (50%), then a bit more relevant than expected (superhero-scifi 75%), then very very very STRANGE (dr) and then surprise ending is not a cliffhanger and actually quite decent. Hoping season 2 will be like ... better still.
From a Marvel vs DC perspective this is like a lot like Inhumans, production value, gentrification and all that other boring stuff that you re not expecting from a superhero story as old as last century ... only it's probably not going to get cancelled.
PS: Level 13 intellect my %^& ... sits back 9 months reads whole kryptonian documentation and lets himself get sucked into the phantom zone. Gotta wait another season for Brainiac VS Doomsday which was the only really hot part for me... well that and clones obviously.

by smilesfromheart

May 30, 2018 12:02 PM EDT

S1E1: Of course I will watch Superman related. But having said that, superman was an all american hero. The new guy with the accent is killing the originality.
S1E9: I was going to stop tracking and watching but I guess I will watch one more to finish the first season. However that is it for me. I did not enjoy it nor did I get it. I know it it two generations ahead and yet it is not as appealing as I hoped it to be. If I want to be honest, I did not connect with any one of the characters and least of them all the main one (Grandpa to be).
ONE SEASON was more than enough

by Duranis

May 29, 2018 4:10 PM EDT

Thank you for renewing this. At least the DC side of things in TV shows seems to be ok...mostly, Black Lightning so-so, well I guess Gotham has gotten a bit ridiculous but I guess a city full of baddies is what finally makes Bruce become the Bat...Anyway back to Krypton. At first I didn't have real high hopes for the show, especially when everyone has british accents (Good thing Superman didn't grow up there after all, he would have ended up sounding like James Bond or something - hahaha).

But by the 3rd ep I was happy enough with it. This takes place about 2 generations before Kal El is born, so we have plenty of room to work with here. The story moved along decently well, trying not to present any spoilers. The main character Seg El (Superman's Grandfather) is involved with 2 women but no real hanky panky as the Kryptonians are beyond that savagery! Anyway it isn't clear which woman eventually becomes Superman's Grandma but I'm sure more of that will flesh out in future seasons.

Seg has some helper from a future Earth-man who has a way to travel across time and space. Other well known DC entities also make appearances. As expected everything is basically in disarray from what we would assume the normal expected outcomes would be. Basic premise of the story is that the Earth-man is here to help Seg save Superman due to some interference with the time line. I do like how they ended the season, all topsy turvey but will lead to some excitement for the next season on how will they fix what is now broken...or do they...