Last Week Tonight with John Oliver

Add to List

Review

Last Week Tonight with John Oliver

Avg Rating (0)
Your Rating
Sundays, 11:00 PM EST on HBO
Tracked 9,792 Times
Current
7 Seasons, 202 Episodes
30 Minutes
Buy or StreamAmazonAmazon UK
No matter when a story breaks, John Oliver will cover it the following Sunday.

Show Reviews

by Morgaine

Oct 01, 2014 12:47 PM EDT

Colbert and Daily Show fans, rejoice! This show nestles perfectly into their genre (well, it ought to, considering Oliver's previous work experience). But where I use Colbert and Stewart to keep up with the daily news, Oliver likes to pick important issues that maybe have been shunted off to the side in the mainstream media, and has the time (the show is an extra 10 minutes longer) to go in depth on the issue.

by poio

Oct 14, 2014 2:18 PM EDT

Absolutely brilliant. I wish my country would have one of these! A perfect mix of comedy and actual news you might otherwise never hear of, or at least not in an ulfiltered manner ;)

by Speakezee

Apr 13, 2015 5:12 AM EDT

Thank you for bringing Michael Bolton to a new level of entertainment enlightenment. and god bless the IRS (yes, I mean that).

And last week was just as amazing. it BECOMES part of your shared concept with the rest of the world when he helps to understand WHISTLEBLOWING with dickpics. How can people think of that?

Tackling tough subjects with humor is the hallmark of Comedy Central's spawning ground for incredibly insightful news commentary. John Oliver has moved to HBO so he can use the F word and do full frontal nudity...well, something like that.

by orange_juice

Oct 06, 2014 8:40 PM EDT

LOVE IT. He provides critical views on important issues without failing to be funny.

by eihab71

Oct 01, 2014 9:58 AM EDT

Wow..he is different than the other comedy news show where he takes one topic and spends a good amount of QUALITY time on it. and really gets the point across

by Sudha Kappet Rao

Jul 18, 2014 2:18 PM EDT

best way to get your world news- with a dash of John Oliver.

by steppensquirrle

Feb 17, 2015 1:05 PM EST

Trying to save the world one topic at a time. This is not really a comedy news show. He mentions a few happenings of the past weeks, but most of each episode is spent on a pet issue that is ruining the world and not getting any mainstream media coverage. His brilliance as a comic is what keeps it from being just plain depressing. I think what he is trying to do is absolutely wonderful. I also love the fact that he encourages audience participation. If only it weren't hidden away on pay cable.

by jillybeane16

Nov 01, 2014 1:32 AM EDT

I love this show! But then again, I love The Daily Show with Jon Stewart (for some reason, I don't care for The Colbert Report). In a world of constant bad news and blatant dishonesty, it's fun to get the happenings of the day with a sarcastic and hilarious undertone.

by ZacELB

Jun 15, 2016 8:51 AM EDT

John Oliver Is The Best In His Field!! After Jon Stewart Retired, I Thought No One Could Fill His Shoes(And No One Ever Will), But John Is The Closest We Are Gonna Get. He Is Funny As Hell, Very Witty, And Dead Serious When It Comes To The Issues Being Discussed. He Has A Real Positive Impact On People's Lives, And That's The Best Thing Anyone Could Hope For!!

by Jamnol203

Mar 04, 2016 9:04 PM EST

John Oliver's witty comedy is something no one should ever miss out on. He and his writing crew do a great job relaying news in a very quick and simple way, and they often bring things up that you never really think about on the daily (like chicken farmers). Most clips of this show are on YouTube, so you wouldn't have to worry about getting an HBO subscription.

by cat-91

Mar 19, 2015 4:33 AM EDT

What's with all the Aussie hazing??

by daviswalden

Feb 20, 2015 4:16 AM EST

A powerhouse of a new show. Last Week Tonight With John Oliver not only takes action against powerful groups and brings up little known, but significant issues about them, but it ushers viewers to take action as well. John Oliver's influence is certainly growing. Can't wait to see just how influential John Oliver becomes.

by modyvishal

Feb 16, 2015 4:44 PM EST

John Oliver is brilliant! Every week he attacks a different unethical issue with world class humor. I don't want to miss a single second of any episode.

by Quaid York

Nov 07, 2014 1:35 AM EST

John oliver has done just what needed to be done with late night television. Instead of repeat gimicks, celebrity guests and silly games, he has turn surprising information, facts, and sad truths into something everyone can understand, while making us all laugh at how royally F***** our choices are. This is a must watch.

by MoH1o1

Oct 23, 2014 8:12 PM EDT

best "news" show,,, you know what's going on in the world with the comedy of irony and whats wrong with the world

by d5patel

Oct 18, 2014 7:27 PM EDT

Great show really funny

by JeremyY

Aug 26, 2014 11:43 PM EDT

Funny smart and not afraid to offend idiots

by bigbill947

Aug 18, 2014 5:38 PM EDT

Oliver was always funny on The daily Show with Jon Stewart , but he has come into his own with his own show! he doesn't mind using the word Fuck instead of the Brit exclamation of Bloody , when he emphasizes a story that is some real Bull Shite or people who are full of the Shite !

by cdsdiver124

Aug 04, 2014 10:47 AM EDT

Glad he got his own show

by jessef01

Sep 23, 2018 9:32 PM EDT

A good funny show when not focusing on politics. When about politics the show is a decently funny pandering propagandist show for leftists.