Legion

Add to List

Review

Legion

Avg Rating (4.03)
Your Rating
Mondays ,10:00 PM EST on FX
Tracked 12,185 Times
Concluded
3 Seasons, 27 Episodes
60 Minutes
Buy or StreamAmazonAmazon UK
Follows the struggles of David Haller, a diagnosed schizophrenic who has an odd encounter with another psychiatric patient that raises the question: are the voices he hears and the visions he sees real?

Show Reviews

by ItzHavok

Feb 17, 2017 2:17 PM EST

A legion is defined as a vast host, multitude, or number of people or things... in this case the visions and voices believed to be unfolding in David Hallers' head. If I see it... if I believe it... if I live it... does that not make it real? The writing is quite uncanny, the cast was chosen beautifully and the atmosphere is originally bleak. I recommend this show for anyone who is as demented as I am and enjoy the diverse fortitude of the human psyche. It just kept pulling me closer and closer to my television... I almost fell of my couch.... so crazy eh!!!

by kaidenlaw

Mar 28, 2017 12:45 AM EDT

They'd better renew this masterpiece. I loved every minute of this show. I am not ready for the finale. This is an instant classic. Fact.

by mike_9000

Mar 18, 2017 12:29 PM EDT

A very, very, frustrating show.

It's beautifully photographed, well acted and wonderfully surreal at times. However, when you have worked through all of the obscurity, there just isn't any engaging story at the heart of it.

Yes - I'm still watching it because it's and hoping that the plot starts to make some kind of interesting sense. It's other qualities make it interesting - but let's have some narrative for series two, please?

by scotwot

Feb 12, 2017 2:28 PM EST

Extraordinary, outstanding, excellence rarely seen on any screen, TV or movie. LOVE!

by Sylar Dean Paginton

Jun 15, 2017 5:56 PM EDT

This was a VERY TOUGH watch for a first episode.. too much crammed into one, all those patients popping pills, it felt like i had taken 20 tramadol along right with them. During the pilot episode, it was ONLY until right at the end that I soon realised it was in fact an X-Men spinoff series all about Professor X's crazy son that has multiple personalities with each one having different powers, and just so happens to be a Anti-Hero, so it makes a change to see things from the bad guys side, he is in fact one of only few Omega-Level Mutants.

by maxzakh

Feb 24, 2017 10:50 PM EST

This show is like a garbage fire, pulls you in with the allure of warmth and then the smell hits you. 3 episodes in it has just been a lame portrayal of a crazy patient. It's what could have been summarized in 5 or 10 minutes dragged out for literal hours. It may as well not be Marvel at this point, just the same flashbacks and nothing happening.

by Unknownfear

Feb 09, 2017 2:48 AM EST

This Review is based on the pilot of "Legion" which premieres 2/8/2017, Wednesday's at 10:00 on FX.

As far as pilots go, this is one of the very best I've seen. (I've seen hundreds).
The series is thought-provoking, has immaculate attention to detail, and is presented to us through the mind of a deeply disturbed individual -- or so he thinks. There are definitely similarities to be drawn between David (Dan Stevens) and Eliot of Mr. Robot. But whereas Eliot is introverted and anti-social, David is more like this sane guy who sees things and now believes he's crazy and his thoughts are all over the place. He's scared of whats happening to him, and so are we. The pilot is masterfully done and you really grow attached to the characters. It's a full 90 minutes, and when it was over, I found myself wishing it would go on forever. This is truly good TV.

I have no idea where they plan to go with this show, but I'm really excited to tune in next Wednesday and find out. Maybe we'll get to see some TV re-imaginings of Mutant's we've seen on the big screen.

by me2011

Aug 20, 2019 10:25 AM EDT

I'm reviewing this after just watching the finale (no spoilers) and I'm surprised I hadn't already. This was a well-produced and directed show with a wonderful cast of great actors. The storytelling is quite unique and puts a very interesting spin on the X-Men franchise. While the X-Men can be thought of more as a superhero franchise, this would be more of a drama with tiny bits of comedy and thriller while being a sort of prequel to aspects of X-Men. I highly recommend this, it was a consistently good show throughout all seasons.

by amandaxavierthompson

Jul 08, 2018 3:41 PM EDT

When i start to watch, i was think will be another hero tv show (some of them they are so boring) but this one its blowing might. You need really have full attention.... amazing /..... loved!!

by Lucy

Jun 18, 2018 6:10 PM EDT

This is a fantastically creative show. Visually stunning, ingeniously written and acted well with mesmerising special effects, Legion was a wild ride that kept me guessing all the way through. The best way I can describe it is a cross between Inception, Stranger Things and X-Men, with Hannibal like visuals and a timeless 60's retro look.

Although it's technically set in the X-men universe, it makes no references to this, apart from using the word "mutant". It's definitely not a traditional superhero story, closer to a character exploration piece, combined with a mystery and a love story?! Either way, it's a refreshing change to watch a show that breaks out of narrative norms and executes itself so creatively.

I would go into more detail about the plot, characters etc, but I think Dan Stevens (David Haller) summed it up best at Comicon when he said that whilst watching Legion we should "enjoy the confusion". So just go watch this magical piece of art, and enjoy being confused and entertained immensely.

by morrigan173

Jun 08, 2018 2:06 AM EDT

Loved everything about season 1. Season 2 is too preachy, with all the John Hamm narration. Also, season 2 is a bit more convoluted and difficult to follow, each episode feeling more like an abstruse art film, rather than a story with a plot, character development, and an expected climax and resolution.

by Brian1964

Jan 06, 2018 8:14 AM EST

Strange at first, but got better as it went on.

by

Jun 28, 2017 3:53 PM EDT

This is investment TV. It takes some work to figure out what's going on, but it's a fun sort of confusion, and the return on that investment is nothing short of the season's most creative new drama.

by antonellaonai

May 18, 2017 9:44 AM EDT

Very happy with this just hope no cancellation anytime soon

by dpoinsett

Apr 22, 2017 8:53 PM EDT

Great show, unique to say the least. Sometimes you have no idea WTF is going on, then it all comes together in one creepy, crazy bad ass show.

by Raquel da Cruz

Apr 08, 2017 8:55 PM EDT

The begining is a little off, but as the plot goes on it gets very interesting.

by honey_jv

Apr 02, 2017 1:46 PM EDT

Great concept and so far so good. I hope they can keep the momentum going.

by Infowun

Apr 01, 2017 5:02 PM EDT

WOW! This show is absolutely addictive! So brilliantly acted and written I don't even know where to begin with my praise for it! I never read the comics but the TV series is definitely the most intriguing thing on screen right now. It has everything from drama to psychological thriller and horror. If you haven't seen this yet then I recommend you do so...... Now!

by Yanick Marijn Wolthuis

Mar 10, 2017 5:42 AM EST

If you like trippy series this is for you, by far already one of my all time favorite series!!

by wolfgirl47

Mar 04, 2017 9:43 PM EST

I just didn't enjoy this show.