Lethal Weapon

Add to List

Review

Lethal Weapon

Avg Rating (0)
Your Rating
Tuesdays, 9:00 PM EST on FOX
Tracked 8,797 Times
Concluded
3 Seasons, 55 Episodes
60 Minutes
Buy or StreamAmazonAmazon UK
When Texas cop and former Navy SEAL Martin Riggs suffers the loss of his wife and baby, he moves to Los Angeles to start anew. There, he gets partnered with LAPD detective Roger Murtaugh (Damon Wayans, Sr.), who, having recently suffered a "minor" heart attack, must avoid any stress in his life.

Show Reviews

by James Adkins

Feb 22, 2017 3:06 PM EST

Awesomeness fun with laugh out loud laughs, Lethal Weapon is a hell of a rollercoaster ride. All of the cast is great as the action never stops and then you'll get emotional with them.

by bigbill947

Sep 24, 2016 3:00 PM EDT

I was set to watch and be disappointed , I had seen all the Danny & Mel Movies and Gibson does crazy really good ! Instead I found it to be a Good Cop show from a Movie Series story with some well written story and plenty of action.....or Violence , if you prefer to call it what it really is ! We shall see if the scripts can do their , Movie predecessors justice , so to speak !

by Emma J. M. Svensson

Jan 30, 2017 4:08 PM EST

Dark, but funny. How do you keep living when the love of your life has passed on? This criminal drama has quickly become one of my favorites in the genre. I really love the quirkiness of it while at the same time battling issues like depression, suicidality and just plain life. Riggs's (Clayne Crawford) professional genius and swag is the absolut best about it all. And even though I thought he was perfect with his late wife, I can't wait for the future relationship between him and his therapist (Jordana Brewster), it is going to be epic (but I do want the creators to take their time getting there, which I'm sure they will have, the show has a bright future!).

by robinlage

Oct 05, 2016 10:57 AM EDT

Love, love , love this show. the cast is perfect together. and since I love it, the show will be cancelled. :(

by Ricardo Clavell Haas

Oct 03, 2016 12:48 AM EDT

Really like it all i have to say about the show so far.

by Carmichael1787

Sep 26, 2016 12:31 PM EDT

I am loving the chemistry between these guys. Clayne even sounds like Mel from the movies!!! This show is going to go far and I'm excited to see how it flows!!! :)

by ExArmyJay

Sep 22, 2016 11:44 PM EDT

Loved the movies, and this show has promise. I feared this would be another NCS, NCIS, JAG, Miami Heat, Magnum PI wanna be boring show, but the pilot was pretty good. Kinda expected a little more from Major Payne himself, but enjoyable

by Unknownfear

Sep 22, 2016 2:06 AM EDT

This review is based on the pilot episode of "Lethal Weapon" which aired 9/27/16

First off, it should be noted I have never seen the movie. It was a little before my time, and I was raised going to the movie theater as opposed to buying VHS and watching them at home, so I've really seen nothing from before 1993 save Jaws and Star Wars. Okay, now that thats out of the way.

Going on, I was not expecting much from this show at all. The trailer looked like it left a lot to be desired, namely, a premise, and my dad's description of the movie as "Just a buddy cop movie" didn't make me very excited.

I was beyond pleasantly surprised.

Lethal Weapon, in spite of being a remake of a movie series is very fresh for television. It's about an older cop who has recently recovered from hearty surgery and needs to keep his heart rate down, and a cop whose wife and daughter were killed and who wants to die himself to be with them. One who wants to live, and plays it safe, and one who wants to die, and is reckless and crazy. Both are good detectives. So there is a premise, but its one that would only work with likeable characters who we want to learn more about; and I can say that after seeing the pilot, both characters are indeed very likable, and I would like to learn more about them.

The pilot was full of action, and not your typical run of the mill shootouts, but calculated decisions, high-speed chases, explosions, and things that took some creativity to write up. The dialogue was smart, but not overly witty, and they kept the minor characters such as the lead cops family to a minimum, so as not to bore us with superfluous soap opera scenes.

Overall, it was an extremely strong pilot, and I'd highly recommend it.
4.5 stars.

by KerstinRoush

Mar 16, 2017 3:45 PM EDT

After having watched the entire first season I can say this is a really good show and I hope it is here to stay. It has very well drawn characters that always manage to surprise you.And it has a solid story that still has quite a few twists and turns to keep it really interesting.
The characters are not just well defined they connect with each other. They play off each other and within the story really well. It all makes sense.
It was a really good first season, I am really glad that it got renewed for a second season and I am really, really hoping it will be around for a while. For being based on a three movies they got A LOT out of the story. And it is not finished yet. Way better than Frequency.

by mysay85041

Sep 28, 2018 4:07 PM EDT

UPDATE: I'm not sure if I really understand the cast change. Did Mr. Crawford just not play nice with the others? It's odd to have a Lethal Weapon show without Riggs. I do like the new actor so I'll watch a couple more episodes but this might be then last season.

I was really shocked at all the reboots this season and wasn't sure about this one. How can you take a pretty successful movie franchise and turn it into a weekly tv series? I have been a fan of Damon Wayans since his early days but knew nothing about Clayne Crawford. I thought the chemistry between the two hit off quite well. Script was entertaining and did seem to follow what I would expect a cop show to be. I will continue to watch.

by Melissa-LeeM

Jan 06, 2017 4:18 AM EST

I really wasn't expecting much from this show and started watching just to see what it was like, but was pleasantly surprised. There is good chemistry between the leads and is entertaining enough to keep watching.

by Pixxidix

Jan 01, 2017 2:35 AM EST

Oh look another cop / action series, with a white hero and the black funny sidequick. How cliché

by Michael Riffey

Oct 13, 2016 6:51 PM EDT

Love this show, it's a great adaptation and I actually teared up a little on the first episode.

by wolfgirl47

Oct 08, 2016 12:37 PM EDT

I have watched all the movies and I was all set to be disappointed. How could they expect Damon Waynes and Clayne Crawford to live up to the legend of Mel Gibson and Danny Glover? I was pleasantly surprised at the chemistry between them. The cast and writing are great.

by elfspider

Oct 01, 2016 4:43 AM EDT

I'm a little confused on Riggs feelings/character after the loss of his family, but am keen to see more. Pretty funny.

by GeorgeAnn

Sep 22, 2016 10:24 PM EDT

fun and funny

by debmpd

Sep 21, 2016 11:13 PM EDT

I loved the first episode. I just hope the series maintains the same pace for the entire season.

by JJane007

May 08, 2018 8:44 AM EDT

Great action/comedy show based off a movie. The actors really bounce off each other.hope it keeps going!

by Mohammed87

Feb 01, 2018 6:40 AM EST

i am loving this show , i hope continues for at least 20 seasons

by 2Valley

Oct 09, 2017 12:15 PM EDT

Love & was so ready for this new season!