Midnight, Texas

Add to List

Review

Midnight, Texas

Avg Rating (0)
Your Rating
Fridays, 8:00 PM EST on NBC
Tracked 5,582 Times
Concluded
2 Seasons, 19 Episodes
60 Minutes
Buy or StreamAmazonAmazon UK
A small-screen take on the three-book series by Charlaine Harris about Midnight, Texas, where the real world and the supernatural collide in a dangerous, sexy place full of dark secrets and mysterious people.

Show Reviews

by Sylar Dean Paginton

Aug 30, 2017 10:14 PM EDT

This show is shaping up to be fantastic.. it's like a mix between 'Supernatural/Haven/Medium', with a little bit of Twin Peaks's murder thrown in. Each character seems to have an interesting backstory, the special effects look real and not something from a Sy-Fy movie. I think this show will start to be a regular watch for me, especially with Supernatural turning pants now and The Originals finishing after it's next season :( The episode quickly introduces you to the characters and what they are or what power they have. I hope this show sticks around and stays as strong as what this first episode was. Can't wait for next weeks episode now.

by KerstinRoush

Dec 29, 2018 4:10 AM EST

After watching the pilot I am more than intrigued and just about on the way to being completely hooked. It started out strong and I hope it will be able to keep it up. You already get a glimpse of the different characters and who or better what they are. It has the beginnings of a good story - the reason why Manfred came to Midnight. And why it looks like he is going to stay.
If this is going to be anything like Charlaine Harris' True Blood - I predict a long run.

Season 2 was just as good as Season 1 - just too short. Hopefully, Season 3 will be a lot longer. Awesome show! So worth the watching!

by Snootz

Aug 19, 2017 11:25 PM EDT

As of the day I write this review, my fellow reviewers, gave this show an average of 2.5 stars and I will not understand why.

This show is strangely unique. Yes we have all seen vampire shows, shows about people who can see ghosts. Cannot say I have ever seen a show about a priest that can turn into a tiger, on that matter I dont think I have ever seen a show where anyone can turn into a tiger.

This show I admit has it's ups and downs. Some of you have said it reminds you of true blood, but in all honesty, it reminds me more of something that goes further back that True Blood.... Buffy the Vampire slayer.

Team of "weirdo's" protecting the city from vampires, evilness and other "creatures". On that note, going off topic, Xander from Buffy, still 20 odd years later, every year without fail, will be found at British comic cons that tours the Uk. It's always full of minor celebs.

Back to Midnight Texas, this is still a young show, with a lot going for it. The acting I admit isnt great, especially ffrom the vampires little female sidekick. But once the actors/actresses get used to each other etc I think the show will improve.

So before you review it as a poor show, give it time, see the potential and I promise it will imprive

by JJane007

Jul 25, 2017 5:22 PM EDT

All I have to say is wow!
Interesting characters and I just LOVE that talking ginger cat!!!

by wolfgirl47

Jul 24, 2017 11:14 PM EDT

The pilot episode was so good. I hope it can keep this momentum through the rest of the season.

by hmab

Dec 29, 2018 4:01 AM EST

Fantasy, Mystery, Action, Crime, Romance, and Sci-fi.
One of my favorite things happening this summer, the other is Preacher.
Really good ensemble, so much talent in one piece, just absolutely the best
Someone wrote earlier that this is on par with Supernatural, I agree completely, with a little From Dusk Till Dawn and Ash vs the Evil Dead, thrown in.
My biggest disappointment is that the series only runs for ten episodes.
Catch it before it is gone or binge away...

RIP Midnight Texas, it was fun while it lasted...

by JC Elliott

Dec 16, 2018 5:35 PM EST

After watching all of season 1 with just 1 episode of season 2 unwatched, I can vehemently say this:
THESE. CHARACTERS. ARE. MORONS.
The writing is dogs**t and lazy. Each episode is like a mini-mystery-drama where I know exactly what's happening and the characters infuriatingly don't piece it together until 2 minutes later.
I've literally yelled at the show, "ARE YOU SERIOUS, YOU DIDN'T SEE THAT COMING?!"
I'm definitely going to keep watching because this is the first "So Bad It's Good" show I've seen while it's on the air.
If you like vampires and werewolves and angels and demons and other misc. supernatural stuff, give this a watch. I GUARANTEE you'll HATE it, but some of you might also cognitive dissonance it UP and like it at the same time.

by zensluv

Dec 03, 2018 2:08 PM EST

Season 1 was 3.5 stars. Introduced some intresting characters and ideas. Character development is a bit lacking - very 2d characters all round, plenty of tropes we've seen before. But in Season 2, they just gave up on writing, so the script and dialog are cringe-worthy, and the plot runs along with forced drama, and ridiculous situations. Do I still watch the show? Sometimes, because sometimes it is still fun to watch. Probably won't hang in there too much longer, and will pass on Season 3.

by Onesexytan

Sep 05, 2017 2:38 AM EDT

I was a big fan of True Blood - the books and the show - but this show went past my radar. A family member put me on to this. 10 minutes in and I was like,"YES!!! FINALLY!!! Something decent to watch with a supernatural flair." I'm already addicted to this show, and now my fiancee is. I can tell it's going to get better and better. Can't wait to see how it grows.

by Carmichael1787

Aug 11, 2017 9:33 AM EDT

It seemed a little rushed in the first episode but the second and third episodes are picking up! I like the cast and how the character development is going! I'm excited to see more!!

by amandaxavierthompson

Aug 08, 2017 12:57 PM EDT

The name doesn't sound amazing but, after the pilot you start to be really curious... If you like more mysterious series this one it's complay mystique with divine!!!! Let's see where they go with!!!!

by me2011

Jul 28, 2017 12:51 AM EDT

Excuse my French, but this show is a broke-ass True Blood and Charlaine Harris must be running out of ideas for her books. I say this as a huge fan of True Blood. Clearly HBO had a larger budget to support that show, while NBC spent a quarter of that budget to make this show. I want to like this, and I'll give it 3 episodes to see if it changes my mind since sometimes pilots are made on a meager budget, but so far the pilot is weak in terms of the actors, the budget, the writing and direction.

by VictoriaE

Aug 11, 2019 6:41 AM EDT

I loved this show it followed the books why has it been cancelled :(

by LeeJ5

May 04, 2019 5:21 PM EDT

Awesome show indeed. well worth a watch indeed.

by Moniie

Feb 22, 2019 9:15 PM EST

Fantasy/ Mystery/ Drama/ Supernatural. Angels, demons, witches and a psychic. Midnight is a haven for mysterious people.. Interesting characters, the show is a little cheesy though. It is nowhere near other shows like supernatural but if it had been given a chance it had the potential to be good :)

by Mohammed87

Feb 02, 2019 9:54 AM EST

THIS SHOW IS INCREDIBLE, I LOVE SERIES LIKE THIS, FICTIONAL & APOCALIPTIC ETC. BUT AS YOU HAVE GUESSED, THEY CONCLUDED IT. THE BASTERDS.

by GG1

Jan 20, 2019 1:03 AM EST

This was an interesting show, a variety of characters, some who were distinctly interesting, but the show tended to wander all over the place with so many different 'stories' that it was hard at times to maintain an interest in it. Season 1 was alright, but again the storyline tended to go in all kinds of different directions it was difficult to follow at times. When season 2 started the story barely started where season 1 ended and suddenly a lot of new characters were introduced, characters from season 1 had disappeared with barely any mention of where or why they left. I am not surprised the show was cancelled.

by flyfisher110

Jan 10, 2019 7:31 PM EST

This is a good show great characters good scripts. Good mix of bad guys banding together to fight demons. Hope they keep writing great shows and it sticks around for awhile. Wonder what kind of crappy show they'll replace (another good show they cancelled) with.

by kattay35

Dec 25, 2018 8:47 PM EST

Great show
I love supernatural shows. I can't wait to see what happens next

by ricanares

Dec 22, 2018 2:47 PM EST

Another great show cancelled :( Hoping we can get this picked up on another network or get the cancellation overturned.