Notorious

Add to List

Review

Notorious

Avg Rating (0)
Your Rating
Thursdays, 9:00 PM EST on ABC
Tracked 4,651 Times
Concluded
1 Seasons, 10 Episodes
60 Minutes
Buy or StreamAmazonAmazon UK
Living at the intersection of law and media, the series explores the boundaries of professional integrity and how far our national tastemakers will go for ratings, notoriety, and the last word.

Show Reviews

by Unknownfear

Sep 23, 2016 12:37 AM EDT

This review is based on the pilot of "Notorious" which aired 9/22/16 (was about to write 23, but realized its after midnight >.> Already made that mistake on my previous review. Whoops)

Notorious feels like a hybrid of various shows and genres such as The Newsroom, Scandal, and The Defenders (does anyone remember that show? Probably not.)

Anyway. The premise is pretty original, and it works. It focuses on Julia George (Piper Perabo), who produces a news show, and Jake Gregorian (Daniel Sunjata), a defense attorney. If the show proceeds how the trailer leads us to believe, then these two work together behind closed doors to supply one another with lads to help further their careers and produce quality news. However, based on the previews for next weeks episode, it could end up becoming some serialized mess of a show that deals with the ramifications of the case in the pilot episode. I certainly hope that is NOT the route it takes, because I will give up on the show so fast if it is. This is NOT the kind of show that should be serialized.

The pilot did a lot of things well. It showed us all the characters, the primary and secondary, and gave us tidbits to remember them by. We were given equal character development for each cast member, as well as good pacing between development and plot points. It should also be noted that the whole cast is extremely good looking, even the people who cameo for less than a minute.

Its an interesting show, with a lot of potential and can be a whole lot of fun. As a genre mashup, I suspect it could pull in some high numbers at first. This is one to watch. What I mean by that is, lets watch and see how it all turns out. Will it stay fresh and smart, or will it become that awful serial mess I described earlier. One to watch =p.

by Ricardo Clavell Haas

Mar 10, 2017 1:05 PM EST

Pretty good show,Loved it,,watched all episodes in 1 day lol

by Lisa Schmidt

Oct 09, 2017 1:47 AM EDT

I just binged on the first 3 episodes of this one today. The show's promotional trailer was not very good in my opinion, but maybe that's because this was a movie retooled to run as a miniseries. I really only watched to see what Piper Perabo was working on after Covert Affairs. I am so glad I gave this one a shot, because thus far the show seems quite good. I honestly hope the writers can keep up with the pace they have set. I think it's brilliantly positioned to pull in the Scandal audience while Kerry Washington is taking some pregnancy leave. I also just read the Notorious was based on the "partnership" of real-life criminal defense attorney Mark Geragos and the Larry King Live news producer Wendy Walker. If this is true, I guess Larry's character got a serious makeover. If you like Scandal definitely check this one out. If it's set up as a mini series, it may not go more than a season, but you won't want to miss it.

UPDATED - I finished watching this one but it honestly lost some of it's appeal for me as it progressed. It felt like the creators were trying too hard and falling short. This did not come close to filling the shoes of Scandal or the Newsroom. The characters were not unique, believable, or interesting enough to make me truly care about the storyline as the series went on. Character development is a big deal to me so I was not too surprised that this series was cancelled.

by Ivsteal

Oct 01, 2017 5:03 AM EDT

Not surprised they canceled this one. Piper Perabo was better in Covert Affairs.

by Will Reynolds

Nov 17, 2016 10:05 PM EST

I love this show and after that last episode I just saw I feel all of the fans of this show need to band together to get a season 2. It would b upsetting to me if it didn't get one and this is to me one of the best shows this network has to offer even tho I have lost respect for it.

by Carmichael1787

Sep 26, 2016 12:35 PM EDT

I love Piper Perabo, she was great in her last show. I thought that Piper and Daniel would mesh well and they do. I like how they use the show to exploit people to find the criminal. Going to be an interesting show!

by wolfgirl47

Sep 22, 2016 9:50 PM EDT

This show deals with the dramatic headlines and how they are handled in the news. It can sometimes become a public relation nightmare. I am very excited to see how the season goes.

by keerthana.ravishankar

Aug 16, 2017 5:34 AM EDT

If you can stand Piper Perabo's (over-) acting, you will probably like this show. Every time, she was on screen, I cringed! If the show wasn't cancelled, I would've definitely stopped watching it. I only watched the show because I followed Covert Affairs and Graceland. But I didn't know that Piper Perabo and Daniel Sunjata had only one look or one method of dialogue delivery. It got tiresome pretty soon. Not worth my time!

by karenx

Apr 18, 2017 3:16 PM EDT

"explores the boundaries of professional integrity and how far our national tastemakers will go for ratings"
Sounded like and turned out to be a great premise! Not so great execution though. By the end it was hard to watch.

by Toya Davis

Apr 16, 2017 10:31 AM EDT

still haven't really picked this up yet waiting to see if it gets canceled or not

by dinuk4u

Feb 21, 2017 2:56 PM EST

it was a nice show but it lacks in certain areas

by Rob Waterman

Oct 29, 2016 6:09 PM EDT

good casting, but not the action that we're used to seeing from these two

by BobbieB13

Oct 26, 2016 11:18 AM EDT

So addicting

by tricianewton

Oct 25, 2016 1:08 PM EDT

I really like the show but apparently it's not doing well. Sure there are some cliche parts but it's entertaining and frankly at the end of a long day that's what I look for. I don't like to be scared out of my mind or a lot of blood & guts. I think the reason the media is hating on the show is that it is exposing the bias we've all known was there for years. Yes, the media shapes how we view things, no they aren't the honest story tellers and researchers they try to sell everyone that they are. And we all know good and bad lawyers. I know plenty of both. I hope this gets a second season because it's sure better than a lot of stuff that's made it two seasons but we'll see.

by christiane212

Oct 13, 2016 9:26 PM EDT

I do not like this show. The plot is hard to follow, the acting is not good.

by ItzHavok

Sep 27, 2016 10:29 AM EDT

Notorious is a legal drama that touches the aspect of public relations and the hell fire that follows the news. The show follows a lawyer and an executive producer working together to make the news popular. The show reminds me of "The Newsroom" but with less grit and with less passion. A decent show but I can't watch it as I just finished binge watching "The Newsroom". Still an alright show I suppose.

by hmab

Sep 26, 2016 12:53 PM EDT

Acted out rather well...
My only fear is that the series may anchor itself around one of the central characters, ignoring the potential of the resources that a News producer and a befriended criminal lawyer can brings to the screen.

by bigbill947

Sep 24, 2016 7:35 PM EDT

Looks like a lot of potential , but need more episodes to make a good or bad review. Glad to see Piper Perado back , that is her isn't it !

by Blackstar_2017

Sep 24, 2016 12:02 AM EDT

Good narrative and strong main actors, slightly cliche with the assistants but seems to have a future. Let's see if it develops beyond the pilot.