Orange is the New Black

Add to List

Review

Orange is the New Black

Avg Rating (0)
Your Rating
Thursdays, 3:00 AM EST on Netflix
Tracked 73,353 Times
Concluded
7 Seasons, 92 Episodes
60 Minutes
Buy or StreamAmazonAmazon UK
From "Weeds" creator Jenji Kohan comes Orange is the New Black, a women’s prison drama with comedy that takes no prisoners. Based on the acclaimed memoir of the same name by Piper Kerman, the series is about engaged Brooklynite Piper Chapman, whose decade-old relationship with drug-runner Alex results in her arrest and year-long detention in a federal penitentiary. To pay her debt to society, Piper must trade her comfortable New York life with fiancé Larry, for an orange prison jumpsuit and a baffling prison culture where she is forced to question everything she believes about herself and the world at large. As she struggles to adjust to her new reality, she finds unexpected laughter, tears, conflict and camaraderie amidst an eccentric and outspoken group of inmates.

Show Reviews

by leah

Dec 14, 2015 12:15 PM EST

Completely deserving of all of the praise this Netflix original has received. The best showcase for women on TV.

by Isotropic

Dec 14, 2015 12:15 PM EST

An extremely well made TV show with a solid plot and compelling characters. It makes absolutely no sense, then that I just don't enjoy it like I think I should. Don't get me wrong it's still brilliant TV and I don't regret watching it and will definitely watch any future seasons but it's just not on the level of some other shows out there; most notably its Netflix original counterpart: House of Cards.
What I will say is that if you're looking for strong, and (more importantly in my opinion) realistic, female characters then look no further.

by rachelsdfd

Oct 08, 2019 5:22 PM EDT

Most of the seasons of the show are amazing. Very funny and a lot of really good drama based on real social issues such as racism, poverty, addiction etc. The last few seasons, the storylines did get a lot more over the top and it lost it's humour for the most part but overall definitely worth a watch for anyone who enjoys a good comedy/drama

by zparpa

Dec 14, 2015 2:33 PM EST

Phenomenal first series, second series lost me a bit

by xannah89

Mar 03, 2015 3:23 PM EST

shocking, compelling and you want to root for the bad guys or girls in this case

by Shivoncarla

Nov 06, 2018 10:05 AM EST

OITNB - SEASON TWO
In Jenji Kohan’s magnificent and thoroughly engrossing new series, Orange Is the New Black, prison is still the pits. But it is also filled with the entire range of human emotion and stories, all of which are brought vividly to life in a world where a stick of gum could ignite either a romance or a death threat.

by talgikiwi

Jan 06, 2016 1:24 AM EST

Highly recommend to anyone over 18 who doesn't mind seeing an array of nipples. This is my favorite show. It's got a genius way of moving along with the central plot while providing intriguing back-stories for the characters. Every episode has some insight into why your favorite characters are in prison, as well as the motives they have for acting the way they do. The plot is almost open for interpretation in a way. I think it's absolutely genius and a PERFECT combination of drama and comedy.

by dassiearwen

May 17, 2015 1:51 PM EDT

Awesome! One thing you should know when you start out: I believe you are meant to dislike Piper. Don't stop watching because you do, because other characters are so great. Even the once you'll dislike have great storylines. Worth the watch.

by turtle

Apr 07, 2015 2:36 PM EDT

Well, for me it's nothing special but still worth a watch when you are tired or bored.

by cat-91

Mar 18, 2015 7:21 AM EDT

Still can't believe this is based (albeit surely loosely) on a true story

by legacy_user_7180d

Feb 18, 2015 3:46 PM EST

Love love love

by andrew.bremner

Oct 09, 2014 3:12 PM EDT

Very interesting but really my type of show -- OZ was better

by eddierogers92

Sep 28, 2016 9:13 PM EDT

This show is the pioneering show for Netflix for a reason. The show reached even greater heights from season 2 on wards when the prison itself and all the inmates and CO's became the focus over just a single protagonist (Piper : Season 1). Great binge watch every year and i'm sure it will hit 10 series.

by Industrialcontortion

Jan 28, 2016 8:45 AM EST

I laughed, I cried, I was angry, and turned on.

by lascura

Aug 02, 2015 8:02 PM EDT

I was hesitant to watch this series because it just didn't appeal to me but my nephew insisted I watch it so I agreed... Now I'm binge watching the first season and I'm so glad I listened to him because I'm really enjoying it. big thumbs up for me

by Anne-Lotte

May 13, 2015 4:28 PM EDT

If you liked Prison Break and love females that are fighting (or the opposite...) than this is your show.

by Toya Davis

May 07, 2015 6:58 PM EDT

i don't think its weird at all that i now fantasize about going to prison to meet beauty women. and play sex games ;)

by iriswonderland

Apr 04, 2015 2:30 PM EDT

This show is catching and the good thing is that you can watch an entire season in one go. Yay, gotta love Netflix.

by ItzHavok

Feb 28, 2015 10:01 PM EST

This show is a modern drama about survival and adaptation.The situations/conflicts are original and funny. You will laugh, you will cry, you will fall in love with the cast. Which group do you belong to? Who are my friends and my enemies? How can i manipulate people to get what i want? Do I recommend this show to the drama and comedy addict? I do.

by steelsheen

Oct 26, 2014 1:45 PM EDT

If they could stop focusing on the blond stick and focus more on the other inmates the show would be better. What's her face skinny broad is an awful human being.