Rush Hour

Add to List

Review

Rush Hour

Avg Rating (0)
Your Rating
Thursdays, 10:00 PM EST on CBS
Tracked 1,729 Times
Concluded
1 Seasons, 13 Episodes
60 Minutes
Buy or StreamAmazonAmazon UK
"Rush Hour," a reimagining of the hit feature film franchise, is a buddy-cop drama about a maverick LAPD detective and a by-the-book detective from Hong Kong who knock heads when they are forced to partner together.

Show Reviews

by Maria Mateescu

Apr 05, 2016 3:33 AM EDT

[Based on the pilot] I have been a long time fan of Jackie Chan's and Chris Tucker's Rush Hour movies, which are absolutely fantastic (not works of art but funny and great dynamics) so it's safe to say I was a bit skeptical they could recreate the same chemistry. I think they almost succeeded. Carter is still fantastic and Lee has the same style. But even if the new Carter lives up to Chris Tucker's performance, the new Lee still has a bit to work for it. Sure the fight scenes are still good... but not Jackie Chan good. I'll keep an eye on it though.

by Unknownfear

Apr 01, 2016 12:42 AM EDT

This review is based on the Pilot episode which aired 3/31/2016.

Rush Hour is a 60 minute primetime Drama on CBS based on the classic 90s Buddy-cop franchise by the same name starring Jackie Chan and Chris Tucker. The show, stars Jon Foo reprising Chan's character Lee, and Justin Hires as Tucker's Carter.
The show is a re-imagining of the movies and as such, is based on a premise and its characters rather than a plot. So clearly, the show will be procedural and focus on the chemistry between the characters and the humorous situations they encounter.

The pilot felt a lot like the movie with Ice Cube and Kevin Hart, Ride Along. It wasn't bad, but you wouldn't go to theaters to see it. Rush Hour the movie was phenomenal because the jokes were carefully written, very funny, and the action was extremely well choreographed and the stakes, high. As a TV show, all of that is minimized for the small screen. It becomes more of a Beverly Hills Cop/Ride Along rather than the super epic Rush Hour.

Justin Hires is extremely grating. He's sort of like Kevin Hart, without the high-pitched voice, or the funny. He's just straight up annoying. That being said, the writing wasn't bad. His wise-cracks were very Carter-esque and funny, he just didn't deliver them well. Foo as Lee was pretty spot-on.

Overall, I'd definitely give the show more time to polish its act and discover that sweet spot. I think it has the potential to be the next Castle if the cases stay smart and the banter between them just keeps on improving. Otherwise, it could go the route of The Player, which was a great show, but got canceled really quickly.

by srk1949

Apr 03, 2016 8:49 AM EDT

Definitely not Jackie Chan and Chris Tucker . Terrible attempt of making a TV series from a movie. A reimagining of the hit feature film franchise. I's say more like sabotaging a hit film franchise. I doubt this will last beyond one season.

by jamal_is_inthe_house

Aug 14, 2016 4:03 AM EDT

I love that show, it's a crime drama, but it's light, witty and funny. It's based on the Rush hour movies, on the characters of Chan and Tucker, but these guys have a thing- chemistry, banter, of their own and to top all that with wendie malick, who is amazing as always, i so hope the cancelation isn't final and it gets picked up by Netflix, who have saved a lot of shows lately, so thanks for that.So let's hope that the show will continue to amuse us.

by Shyan Davis

Apr 13, 2016 3:52 AM EDT

It's not bad as long as you're not comparing it to the film as they are very different. I like it.

by flyfisher110

Feb 14, 2018 2:58 PM EST

This was not a well done show, script or acting. It was some what entertaining but not that good.

by KerstinRoush

Aug 21, 2016 4:29 AM EDT

I looove the movies. And even though this show will never get on the same level with the movies, it still is pretty darn good. It is funny, it has good cases, and after watching the first three episodes it has really found it's stride. There is a connection between the two main characters and they play off each other really well.
And now I am kind of sad that the show has been cancelled after only one season - it was really good and I have been looking forwar to a new episode every week.

by anonymousfrog00

May 12, 2016 4:19 PM EDT

Lame action wanna-be about as tired theme. Even the actors are sleepwalking for a paycheck

by surrealisticuniverse

May 10, 2016 9:27 PM EDT

I'm not surprised. I feel they'll cancel this show too

by eriduserpent

Apr 20, 2016 7:50 AM EDT

Ok so far but the American detective is annoying and the Chinese guy is cool but each episode is same´y...
It is like WOW! what the Chinese dude do all his running and jumping fast and watch the other act a tad shady but get the job done.

by keithd121

Apr 14, 2016 12:53 PM EDT

Started with some good scenes and reminders from films, now to build on ...

by true-blood

Apr 02, 2016 2:49 AM EDT

This drama is a disappointment. Totally did not live up to my expectations.

by bigbill947

Apr 01, 2016 3:11 AM EDT

If you never saw the Movies ,DO NOT GO SEE THEM till u know the series ended , the Movies were great but better to judge TV remakes w/o seeing the Movie !