Sleepy Hollow

Add to List

Review

Sleepy Hollow

Avg Rating (0)
Your Rating
Mondays, 9:00 PM EST on FOX
Tracked 23,427 Times
Concluded
4 Seasons, 62 Episodes
60 Minutes
Buy or StreamAmazonAmazon UK
From co-creators/executive producers Alex Kurtzman and Roberto Orci, the thrilling new action-adventure SLEEPY HOLLOW is a modern-day retelling of Washington Irving’s classic. ICHABOD CRANE (Tom Mison) is resurrected and pulled two and a half centuries through time to find that the world is on the brink of destruction and that he is humanity’s last hope, forcing him to team up with a contemporary police officer (Nicole Beharie) to unravel a mystery that dates all the way back to the founding fathers.

Show Reviews

by Infowun

Sep 22, 2014 4:37 PM EDT

utter garbage and a clumsy attempt at making freemasons look like good guys. not even worth watching the first season.

by 123maxz

Sep 13, 2014 2:13 PM EDT

not that bad did not know what to expect

by TREPE

Sep 13, 2014 2:20 AM EDT

Those interested in a preternatural show set in the present with ties to American Revolution era events should look elsewhere. The show beguiles you into believing the writers actually researched that era of time but that is a lie. The end of the first season is abundantly horrid.

So basically the writers offer viewers a depressing tragedy of a story intent on brainwashing the audience with falsehoods. I am at an absolute loss how they think this is entertaining to anyone. However, I am all for statists to throw more money down the drain at it by renewing it for more than a second season.

The actual story itself is full of inconsistencies, illogical, and unreasonable actions, events, and responses. If it isn't Ichabod's son blaming his parents, hugely flawed spiritual world, then its Ichabod supposed intelligence failing to see what is in front of him. I know emotion makes us stupid but that lasts for about a day. Then a new day comes and our brains resets on its own unless we choose to reset it before then.

The writers could have easily just followed contemporary ideas of the rules that govern the spirit world. Watch a few episodes of Dead Files and maybe even 'gasp' consult with a Psychic Medium. You know, such as Star Trek consulted with actual scientists for their shows.

But no, with 2/3rds of Americans believing in spirits and the afterlife the writers thought the best coarse of action is to wing it and end up with a hodgepodge of erroneous contradicting 'laws'. So to speak.

The characters themselves are hugely two dimensional. It is as if the world fails to actually exist unless Mister Crane does something. Other characters can't do things on their own or solve their own problems at all. Such as his wife simply following his sandbox mentality to get OUT of purgatory all on her own. Noooo HEEEEE has to 'saaaveee' her.

And why must the writers fail so horribly? Seemingly because they fail to be able to figure out how to write characters that are smarter than them… let alone multiple characters acting independently, such as you know… reality.

Whether this political ideology was forced on the writers or something they thought of is irrelevant to me; But when Mister Crane comments on the second amendment it was too much. I forced myself to move on until the end of the first season though which was abundantly horrid.

By too much I mean Mister Crane thinks the founding fathers were afraid extremists would use the second amendment as an excuse. Except that is exactly what America's founding fathers wanted. They WERE extremists themselves and they very much want #DistrictofColumbia to FEAR citizens.

That is documented fact, regardless of Statist's repeated attempts to rewrite history. Of course, statists always try to rewrite history, as logic and reason abundantly fails them.

I know, a reader might be appalled at my bringing politics into this review of the show. Except such a reader fails to realize that politics is in every choice they make in life. In addition, this show brings in the American Revolution which pretty much guarantees politics as a discussion point.

The problem however, is that the writers fail to actually forward any view point except statism, r374rded characters, and depression. Of course, the American Revolution is absolutely without the statists' point of view. Thus if anything the show should be chalked full with supporting liberty instead of the government.

by jillybeane16

Aug 23, 2014 1:14 AM EDT

Great show, great acting/actors, and I can't wait to see where the people behind the show take it. Genuinely, an edge-of-your-seat kind of show.

by Randy Tompkins

Mar 28, 2019 11:06 PM EDT

good the first cpl of seasons but the last season sucked

by Tijana Damjanovic Gertner

Apr 30, 2018 9:55 AM EDT

God, this show started off well. Well, not just well, it was bloody amazing. It was mysterious, terrifying, and interesting, with just the right dose of humor when the pace allowed it.
I was truly thrilled to watch every new episode.
And then they ran out of ideas. And started sucking hard.
Plots became predictable, characters shallow, and it all left a sour taste.
Seems that writers were the ones placed in the Sleepy Hollow, as they all apparently fell asleep, and let this once-promising show become yet another lackluster time killer.

by ulloaconejos71

Apr 13, 2018 9:33 AM EDT

It had to come to an end. I just didn't like the changes for the final seasons.

by SuzetteS

Feb 04, 2018 2:24 PM EST

This show have me still holding on.Glad they got renewed for another season.

by Kirsten Brontmire

Jun 11, 2017 7:14 PM EDT

Started out good and strong and interesting, then got really dumb as it progressed.

by OSSISS

Jun 05, 2017 8:48 PM EDT

With a brilliant start to what could have been a fantastic series, Sleepy Hollow quickly decided that they were going to off their main villain in the middle of season 2.
They, then, meandered around, looking for a main villain and plot.

They never found one.
Only worth a watch into the middle of season 2.

by Rob Waterman

May 10, 2017 7:03 PM EDT

Thank you FOX for dropping yet another good show without even giving it a proper send off.

by SMG2016

Apr 17, 2017 5:31 PM EDT

2017 04 17___As I catch up my episodes by using the FOX link provided, I notice FOX has become somewhat glitchy. As the commercial breaks reach the end of their commercial, the playback freezes instead of continuing to the show. So I manage to restart the episode, and find the approximate point where it should have been ... it takes a moment and it runs a course of commercials then continues with the show (like it should have done initially). Finally, I managed to reach end of season successfully, but somebody at FOX may want to check this out ... it's extremely annoying. Meanwhile ... I eagerly await next season :)

2016 05 13___YES! YES! YES! WE GET A SEASON 4 !!! Despite the fact I had a bit of mouth surgery today, I am happy and I'm smiling and ... oh, Gods, it hurts but I'm just so thrilled I don't care !!!!

END OF SEASON 3
As we reached the end of season 3, rumors are flying about cancellation.
I would really dread to see that happen. Icabod is such a fascinating character ... one of those "hard to come by" sort.
The last episode left things open enough to continue on ... please let it happen ...

The fact that it's listed as "hiatus" and not "concluded" leaves me with some hope :)

by Nastarika

Mar 20, 2017 10:13 PM EDT

it has been entertaining, always surprising you with different plot twist.

by Idaho_Biker

Jan 29, 2017 1:57 AM EST

Too Bad they didn't announce that You had to watch "Bones" (Season 11, Episode 5) PART 1 of the Crossover Show with SH then to watch SH "Dead Men tell No Tales" Episode which is Part 2...Hmmm, I wonder How many Viewers watched SH 1st , and wondered where the other Half of the Show was at??? Never the less it was still a Great Night of SH & Bones even if you watched them in reverse. After watching this Episode and looking at this Season so far, I feel it promises to be far more entertaining than Last Season, and will prove that SH is a Viable Series worth Keeping. I wish they had created a Episode that covered what happened at the end of Season 2 and the Jump to this Season since there were some rather apparent changes including Ichabod getting a Haircut, and Abbie being back and already in the FBI (kind of left a Big Gap, only to the imagination as to what transpired)

by KerstinRoush

Jan 08, 2017 5:22 AM EST

I have only watched the very first episode so far (so this review is going to change once I progress with the show) but I can say I already like it. I am usually not one for the horror stuff and I am so not going to watch this in the evenings - but it is good.
I like the characters and the story line so far. Let's see where it will take me.

by Unknownfear

Jan 07, 2017 1:58 AM EST

This review is based on the Season 4 Pilot which aired 1/6/17

Sleepy Hollow has been re-branded, revitalized, refreshed and while we're alliterating -- repackaged.
While the title remains the same, the the show still focuses on one Demon Hunter, Ichobod Crane, they have now taken Sleepy Hollow itself out of the equation and have instead relocated the show to D.C, which is not only very apropos to Crane as a founding father, but opens the door for some potentially great storyline involving old buildings and masonry.

In addition to the new setting, we've been given an all new cast, each of whom on first appearances seem likable and offer fun banter. As for their depth as characters, we will have to wait and see in future episodes, though I trust they will be dynamic, as for all Sleepy Hollow's faults, character writing is not one of them.

Overall, I was really pleased with this season premiere and really like the new direction they are heading. Crane has had time to adapt to the new world, and its fun to see him quoting modern pop-culture like a fish out of water. I was very surprised when they decided to renew Hollow for a 4th season, but I'm glad they did, it seems to be paying off, and I hope the ratings reflect this.

Yay demons!

by Jeffrey Ross

May 18, 2016 7:31 AM EDT

LOVE THE HISTORY LESSON ALONG WITH THE ADVENTURE! GREAT SHOW!!

by bigweezey

May 04, 2016 7:26 PM EDT

I used to watch this show but quit after a few episodes. I just got tired of it and usually when I leave a show it usually gets cancelled so we shall c here but it doesn't look good. I guess I got bored from the storyline of it.

by circlehugs

Apr 30, 2016 12:55 PM EDT

Finished Rewatch 9/20/15
Finished Season 3 4/8/16

by buttaflygem

Apr 12, 2016 12:27 PM EDT

I really wish they would renew this and keep it going, but now that Abbie's dead what is to become of the show? I love the two main characters so much!