Stranger Things

Add to List

Review

Stranger Things

Avg Rating (0)
Your Rating
Thursdays, 3:00 AM EST on Netflix
Tracked 48,597 Times
Hiatus
3 Seasons, 25 Episodes
60 Minutes
Buy or StreamAmazonAmazon UK
In the series, a young boy vanishes into thin air. As friends, family, and local police search for answers, they are drawn into an extraordinary mystery involving top secret experiments, terrifying supernatural forces, and one very strange little girl. The series, set in Indiana, is a love letter to the ‘80s classics that captivated a generation.

Show Reviews

by scotwot

Jul 17, 2016 8:32 PM EDT

Wow! Fabulous, binge watched this and loved every single second. So many '80s pop culture references, E.T, Firestarter, Stand by Me. If you, like me, grew up in the 80s, this is a must see! Next season, please, Netflix! :)

by Chuck_Finley

Jul 16, 2016 5:40 AM EDT

With its amazing 80s atmosphere and creepy X-files meets E.T feel this show is set to impress. Within its first minutes of run time I could tell I had found something special here in Stranger Things. Its intriguing story gives information at a great pace and I never felt myself getting confused or bored. The characters of the show are the true stars here, the casting is perfect. I'm hooked!

by fireryone

Jul 15, 2016 10:46 AM EDT

5 episodes in, loving every minute :) time is disappearing.
Theorising all the way and changing theories as the show changes.
And the nice way it plays with D&D / RPG themes.

But it's almost 1am and will have to leave the next 3 episodes for tomorrow.
As long as they don't find a way to ruin the ending it'll be keeping the 5 stars.

Note; I can be quite easy to please with tv shows,
If I enjoy something it will easily get 3-4 stars out of me,
Only a few of the ones I give 5's to I'll go out of the way to recommend in a review.

Do it, marathon this on netflix - now.

by jillybeane16

Jul 17, 2016 3:34 PM EDT

I knew this was going to be good from the moment I finished watching the trailer. I'm now two episodes in and it's like I'm back in the 80s and I love it. Please don't let this have a dumb ending and please let it get renewed for a second season.

by

Jul 18, 2016 1:10 PM EDT

Winona Ryder starring in a fun supernatural drama described as "a love letter to the '80s classics that captivated a generation"? Yes, please. The nostalgia factor is huge here. Taking place in 1983, we've got overt nods to E.T, Firestarter — even The Goonies. And it all works. Especially Ryder as Will's frantic single mom. Wino forever!

by keebaby1

Jul 16, 2016 5:49 PM EDT

i was shock a how good this show is it took me back to when i was a kid i love this show it has horror drama sci-fi fantasy and that feel good feeling all around people should really watch..

by James Adkins

Jul 18, 2016 1:25 PM EDT

A great show made in the '80's. No wait, a great show with a sense of knowing what it is but also with so many themes: paranormal, science fiction, drama, adventurous and comedy wove into one with a nostalgic, classic feel. Great, creepy music and classic songs from the era move along with great performances by the actors. 2 stars from the '80's shine as Matthew Modine is good as a creepy doctor and Winona Ryder as a grieving mother. If you loved '80's movies, you'll love Stranger Things.

by ItzHavok

Jul 17, 2016 12:03 PM EDT

Stranger things is a science fiction period drama concentrating on mysterious life-form and abductions surrounding a community. The cast is littered with Easter egg actors that make this show bigger and better. The storyline flows very well and the characters are well depicted; coming from the well set 80's atmosphere and era. This show is recommended to the science fiction guru.

by Heather Thompson

Jul 16, 2016 2:59 PM EDT

I absolutely loved this series. I can't give it enough praises and I really hope they do a season two. If you enjoy the genres of suspense, thrillers, and paranormal with a little drama and romance then don't miss this show. I guarantee you will not be disappointed.

by TammyS

Jul 16, 2016 8:04 AM EDT

Two episodes in and I'm liking this. The story sucked me in from the beginning and it isn't dragging or getting boring. The story keeps going which I love. So much mysterious and climatic scenes, the show has you on the edge of your seat trying to guess what will happen next!!!! I'm sure this will be a hit for the summer. Plus it's set in the 80's and actually done right in the case of setting and props.

by todd.wn

Jun 06, 2018 9:03 AM EDT

[THIS REVIEW HAS BEEN DELETED

by Lucy

Dec 06, 2017 1:16 PM EST

Stranger Things season 2 was an absolute blast and although it didn’t quite reach the lofty heights of the first season, it came pretty damn close. The core cast of characters, as well as some nice new additions, help to drive the story forward with new dilemmas, character development and an atmosphere that certainly is more horror-fuelled and spookier than season 1.

The plot of the season is similar to season 1, but deals more with recovery from season 1s events, developing characters, delving in the history of Hawkins Lab and Eleven’s backstory and adding yet more supernatural threats to the town of Hawkins. It treads a mostly familiar path, but keeps the pacing right, the script tight and the characters solid to ensure that you’re along for the entire ride.

The main strength of season 2 is still the group of children, who form the central cast; Mike, Dustin, Lucas, Will and Eleven are still distinct in their personalities and intentions and most are developed organically as they face new challenges in Hawkins. Will had a lot more to do this season and although he was in the grips of the Mind Flyer for significant parts of the show, I felt like we got to know him more as a character, rather than a ‘missing person’, this season. Dustin and Lucas fulfil their roles of the comic relief and risk take respectfully and their families are also introduced and expanded on, giving them more depth as characters. Lucas was underused last season and I’m pleased that he was given more of the story to tell and his relationship with Max was a nice touch.

Mike had more of the focus in season 1 and takes a back seat here, which was a little disappointing (but understandable to let the other characters shine). However, Eleven comes into her own and has a whole plot driven ‘side quest’ of her own, portraying all of Eleven’s complex emotions often with just simple sentences and facial expressions. Although I enjoyed seeing Eleven explore new elements of her personality and discover more about her past, keeping her apart from the gang until the penultimate episode didn’t allow for their relationships to develop much, which was one of season 1′s highlights.

Another of season 1s successes, were the great characters of Jim Hopper and Joyce Byers. Joyce is still stuck in a ‘worry about Will’ rut (understandably so but felt a little like re-treading familiar ground) but thankfully we get to know Hopper more as a struggling adoptive Dad and secret keeper of the mysterious Hawkins lab. Out of all the characters this season, Hopper’s development and arc have been my favourite, very well written and executed!

Nancy, Jonathan and Steve all return and after a brief love triangle moment, Jonathan and Nancy establish themselves as the unrequited love fulfilled and a detective duo to boot. Steve has probably the best lines of the season and turns from ‘that popular guy’ to the world’s most loved babysitter to the kids. The partnership between him and Dustin was fantastic and their scenes were just great to watch.

New characters of Bob, Max and Billy had little to do overall but Bob was a sweet natured guy who certainly helped when the time came for it. Max was a feisty new edition and a promising team member, but at times felt like a shoe in for Eleven. Billy had little to do, apart from make Steve look a good person and make you feel sorry for Max. Even the abusive parent subplot felt like it was tacked on the end - the season could definitely have existed perfectly fine without him. (Hopefully he’ll do more in season 3).

Aside from the characters, the main difference in season 2 was the darker, more horror driven atmosphere, It certainly felt scarier and the visual effects were more dynamic and creepy this time around, upping the intensity of the show for sure. Will being attacked by the Mind Flyer was a nail-biter of a scene to watch! The Upside Down remained a great setting for the supernatural horrors to live, although I can’t help but feel that mini demo-dogs were a wee bit predictable. Surely there are more creatures about in the never-ending Upside Down?

Perhaps my own real criticism of the season though is the lack of a human villain. Dr Brenner was a cold and intense villain in season 1 and the lack of a human ‘monster’ in the show made the final battle feel a tad flat as everyone was on the same side, humans vs unknown monsters. I’m not counting Billy as a villain (he was barely there), and I suppose you could count Kali and her gang as villainous, but they ultimately posed no real threat to Hawkins.

I am certainly looking forward to season 3, after season 2s lovely ending (I cried), it will be interesting to see how they tie up the few plot strings they have left. Personally, I am hoping for new monsters (both human and supernatural), the chance for Eleven to interact more with the group and more babysitter Steve!

by gusters

Dec 01, 2017 7:41 PM EST

This is seriously the best Netflix Original Series to exist so far. It keeps you on the edge of your seat and is super hard NOT to binge watch. Each episode leaves you wanting more. I'm so excited for more seasons. I can't wait to see what the writers come up with. The music (the original score) fits so well with the 80s. It makes me think of all the old 80s SCIFI movies (The Last Starfighter). WE NEED MORE SHOWS LIKE THIS. The character development is unlike any other. MOTHER STEVE.

by elfspider

Aug 16, 2016 9:22 AM EDT

Amazing detail and relatable characters, are only two of many reasons why this show is my new favourite obsession.

by Rob van der Zee

Aug 03, 2016 11:10 AM EDT

Stranger Things is the newest foray into Netflix's original programming, of which brings us their most impressive- and strange- production to date. When a young boy named Will Byers goes missing, his friends, mother and the town are thrust into a conspiracy involving a mysterious girl named Eleven and something even more sinister hiding in the woods of Hawkins, Indiana.

From the get-go, you can tell this is an homage to classic '80s Spielberg, drawing on E.T. and Close Encounters, as well as JJ Abrams' Super 8. But, as the show progresses, it becomes more and more like a twisted Stephen King story set in a Spielberg movie. It becomes a dark and twisted ride into an even darker and more disturbing world where the stakes feel higher than anything before it.

I can't go into great detail because spoiling even just a bit of the story takes away from the greater mystery, but I can say, it's one of the most thrilling and intense series to be on TV, without being on TV. If it were to continue, they have to pull the same punches they did with the first season, because they took a great many clichés, and somehow made them fresh and surprising, save for just a couple that they purposefully left cliché.

by Sylar Dean Paginton

Jul 15, 2016 10:48 PM EDT

If the Silent Hill movies were made in the 80's.. this is exactly what I think they would have been like. I have to be honest here, the first 2 episodes were not that great but from episode 3 onward.. WOW! I loved every minute of it, so much that I actually couldn't resist to watch the remaining episodes, so I basically watched the whole season in one sitting. This show kinda reminded me of that 80's comedy/horror film - The Monster Squad.

4.5 stars because the first two episodes were a little slow to build up the season and it's story.

by Industrialcontortion

May 26, 2017 9:39 AM EDT

Perfect mix of retro horror, looking forward to more.

by Jocelyn Chapman

Dec 30, 2016 8:07 PM EST

Sooooooo good!
Though if you are a chicken like me don't watch right before bed XD

by Brian1964

Nov 06, 2016 9:32 PM EST

Excellent combination of Science Fiction and Horror. The young actress does an amazing job of showing emotion with very little expression, something adult actors can't do.

by helder83

Aug 25, 2016 7:38 AM EDT

AMAZING show!!! Original, twisted, great special effects and incredible story line. And Winona's performance is absolutely stunning! highly recommend it!