The 10th Kingdom

Add to List

Review

The 10th Kingdom

Avg Rating (0)
Your Rating
Mondays on Hallmark Channel
Tracked 553 Times
Concluded
1 Seasons, 10 Episodes
Buy or StreamAmazonAmazon UK
The 10th Kingdom is an epic fantasy TV miniseries written by screenplay writer Simon Moore and released by Hallmark Entertainment. It depicts the adventures of a young woman and her father after they are transported from Manhattan, New York through a magical mirror into an enchanting world of fairy tales and self-discovery. The 10th Kingdom first aired on NBC in 2000 as five 2-hour episodes, with a total runtime of almost seven hours without commercials.

Show Reviews

by KerstinRoush

Jul 18, 2016 1:33 AM EDT

I love this Mini-Series because it has everything a good fairy tale needs. And Everybody needs a good fairy tale now and then :-)

by Lionne Reijsbergen

Oct 01, 2014 5:50 PM EDT

a fairytale story to love or hate but i loved it.

by LizardQueen77

Jan 24, 2020 10:23 PM EST

This mini-series is for everyone who ever loved fairy tales when they were kids. The performances are all top-notch. The really great thing is the story. It reminds us that not all fairy tales are fluffy and sentimental. Through the voyages of our three main heroes, we see so many of our childhood escapes. Places where only our imagination took us before. Imagination is only part of this miraculous tale. This film keeps with the modern idea of fairy tales with some very dark thematic elements. The story is predictable in a way, but original with some nice touches. It strikes a balance between seriousness and silliness, creating an involving and often funny adventure that grows in complexity as the protagonists traverse the different kingdoms. This story combines all classic fairy tales with a modern twist. The scenery and costumes were great. Although the running time is long, the story keeps your attention and isn't slow paced. The actors did an excellent job. I found myself laughing out loud at the antics of some of the characters. As a complete story it is never boring and that is quite impressive for something over 400 minutes long. This mini-series has spectacular visuals, a compelling story line, and off-beat but lovable characters. The script is excellent with its many references to so many beloved fairy tales. The 10th Kingdom takes you along for the journey that so captivates, you hardly notice the time that passes. This movie is an adventure of epic proportions. It was a visual delight with fantastic effects and locations.

by DiogenestheCynic

Jul 18, 2019 1:18 PM EDT

Well, I must admit that this show was a bit cheesy. More, than a bit, actually. In fact, I would say that an Asiago asteroid striking a brie earth killing all of the cheddar dinosaurs and leaving the wimpy little string cheese mammals to rule the earth is only slightly cheesier than this show. That being said, I kinda liked it.

As I said, the show was quite cheesy. The sets seemed cheep, likely because the cast spent the entire shoot trying to chew their way through it all. There were no real surprises, and no real feeling of risk for the main characters. Nevertheless, the female lead was quite charming and John Larroquette was, as always, fun to watch.

by teltigre

Mar 11, 2019 4:20 PM EDT

Really good mini-series

by rachelsdfd

Dec 15, 2016 4:35 PM EST

A great modern take on fairy-tale and fantasy. Could not recommend this show enough!

by LilyEvans

Oct 04, 2015 2:38 PM EDT

This aired every Thursday when I was in middle school and I remember waking up early for it. It's fun for younger audiences but if you let loose you might enjoy the humor it offers. The wolf was my favorite character.

by TiaDP

Mar 11, 2015 7:55 PM EDT

I loved this series when I was younger. It was funny, clever, silly! But rewatching it has showed me how childish and lacking it was. Great for the under 15s, not so great after then!

by Eunchea

Dec 30, 2014 6:56 AM EST

My Childhood right there!!!!