The Americans

Add to List

Review

The Americans

Avg Rating (0)
Your Rating
Wednesdays, 10:00 PM EST on FX
Tracked 18,661 Times
Concluded
6 Seasons, 75 Episodes
60 Minutes
Buy or StreamAmazonAmazon UK
Created by Joe Weisberg, The Americans is a period drama about the complex marriage of two KGB spies posing as Americans in suburban Washington DC shortly after Ronald Reagan is elected President. The arranged marriage of Phillip (Rhys) and Elizabeth Jennings (Russell), who have two children who know nothing about their parents true identity, grows more passionate and genuine by the day, but is constantly tested by the escalation of the Cold War and the intimate, dangerous and darkly funny relationships they must maintain with a network of spies and informants under their control. Complicating their relationship further is Phillip’s growing sense of affinity for America’s values and way of life. Tensions also heighten upon the arrival of a new neighbor, Stan (Emmerich), an FBI agent working in counter intelligence.

Show Reviews

by KenoshaMike

Mar 14, 2015 4:02 PM EDT

Having grown up in the eighties, this show really appeals to me. I especially enjoy 80's references like Columbia House Records, Mars bars and, of course, Ronald Reagan speeches. Kind of gritty, but an awesome show!

by

Mar 09, 2016 6:32 PM EST

The best spy drama on TV. Sorry, "Homeland." But also just one of the best shows on TV. Y'all got me straight-up rooting for the KGB.

by daviswalden

Mar 03, 2015 10:47 AM EST

Probably one of television's most underrated dramas, The Americans is one game of cat and mouse after the other. Each season outdoes the last.

by ItzHavok

Feb 28, 2015 10:47 PM EST

The Americans is "Homeland"... but the opposite point of view. The Russians are here, sleeper agents have infiltrated the American continent. This family of Russian spies have to overcome and deceived each other for the greater good of Russia. There is death, sex, deception, betrayal, honor, murder, manipulation, infiltration and segregation. I recommend this show to any action period drama fanatic.

by DarkClarissa

Jan 29, 2015 12:22 AM EST

Ahhh, there's nothing quite like the smell of fresh Cold War espionage in the morning. I've been a fan of The Americans since the first episode. Being of a certain age... (ahem, you know around 29 and a half), I remember the era depicted vividly. There was a desperation, a paranoia about the late '70s/early '80s that was unique to that time. The threat of annihilation by nuclear holocaust was a vivid horror etched into everyone's minds. Propaganda and misinformation was disseminated the world over to control what the general public thought. Popular culture depicted the spies of the time as glamorous, dangerous and sexy. The reality, I'm sure was a lot more brutal.

The Americans does a great job of authentically bringing the atmosphere of the era to life. Following what to all appearances is a normal all-American married couple who are, in fact, Russian spies the show draws us into the darkness of the Cold War. The brutality, the double dealing on both sides, the emotional cost, these are all dealt with. On one hand you feel that you should hate the main protagonists for their subterfuge and crimes. But, this is where the show is a cut above many others. The Americans makes all of the characters sympathetic in some way.

Each episode is over far too quickly and each season has flown by. Watch it: you will find yourself rooting for the most unexpected characters; you will hold your breath as you sit on the edge of your seat; you will be glued to the screen as you feel tears forming after a particularly brutal scene. It is probably the best drama on TV at the moment, in my opinion.

by scotwot

Mar 15, 2016 11:43 AM EDT

I loved the pilot but haven't been able to see more eps, so far. Can't wait!!!!! It looks soooo good.

by slouis.1694

Dec 28, 2015 1:52 AM EST

If you loved the movie Salt with Angelina Jolie you will DEFINITELY love The Americans. Russian Sleeper Spies undergo an entirely new definition in this series featuring two KGB spies posing as your average suburban family, except for the fact that their children know nothing about their identities and they are awaiting to fulfill their mission. 3 seasons later, the show continues to impress, and interesting point of view for a TV show instead of the usual CIA/FBI point of view.

by Reach4raj

Oct 16, 2015 9:21 AM EDT

Excellent recreation of the era, amazing screenplay and acting by the cast. If you like US - USSR cold war era spy thriller and drama , you can't miss it!!

by kaidenlaw

Jun 12, 2016 9:54 PM EDT

This season was intense, well written, superbly acted, compelling must see TV. I never loved two commies so much. I can't wait for next season.

by tvman26

Apr 25, 2015 2:48 AM EDT

Such a good show!!Raw,full of emotions and twist.Great acting and script!!!It drags you to watch and wonder what will be in next episode,which I want from a show.

by MetalRico

Nov 21, 2014 6:00 AM EST

This show was a tip from a friend of mine. And a good tip.

The Americans take place in the early 80's and is about two KGB spies placed in the american community. It is some what an arranged marriage. But they clearly care for each other. And that is for my the best part of the show. Ofcourse their is some great spystuff in there. And it is a bit weird to follow two russian spies in America fighting a war against them. In the most cases you see the USA against Russia.

There are some intresting story lines in the show. Phillip and Elizabeth (The two spies) are in America for about 18 years, give or take. And Phillip is liking living in the USA more and more. They have two children and raised as an Americans. They have no idea that they are Russian. There is a lot of intresting stuff in there. Including how thet did spywork 30 years ago.

by mnimaroff

Nov 11, 2014 11:47 PM EST

Love this show. Can't wait for it to come back!!

by me2011

May 06, 2016 5:07 PM EDT

A superb show with such good acting and production value that you'll think it is 1980 again.

by Lisa Johnson

Aug 10, 2015 10:07 PM EDT

learning a lot about the 80's and the cold war great show

by djbarrie

May 31, 2015 3:26 AM EDT

Very suspenseful. They try to keep as real to the era they are in. Great cast.

by AceTheNomad

May 18, 2015 8:49 AM EDT

I really enjoy the relationship between Elizabeth and Phillip

by Kalynda

Mar 18, 2015 10:55 PM EDT

My husband and I LOVE this show. It's deep, doesn't insult our intelligence, and has a great cast. Just a great show all around. We are part of the nuclear fear, Cold War generation, and it's nice to see the good and the bad of both sides.

by Duncandehaan

Jan 05, 2015 5:40 PM EST

this is a good one !!

by jmlomber

Oct 21, 2014 12:17 PM EDT

Amazing and insightful. Original and Unique. Breath of fresh drama air.

by steelsheen

Oct 11, 2014 3:43 PM EDT

Eh, don't get the love for this series but Felicity is still a a tasty little biscuit so I tune in.