The Borgias

Add to List

Review

The Borgias

Avg Rating (0)
Your Rating
Sundays, 9:00 PM EST on Showtime
Tracked 13,092 Times
Concluded
3 Seasons, 29 Episodes
60 Minutes
Buy or StreamAmazonAmazon UK
The saga of a crime family in 1492 Italy.

Show Reviews

by ginjar420

Jul 31, 2015 12:59 AM EDT

Oh dear, I don't know if it was the accents or the beautiful sets and costumes but I loved this show! I got super into it, it was the perfect amount of romance and intrigue.

by Chivonne D'cruz

Nov 28, 2014 5:41 AM EST

A show that comes from Showtime is going to have the class, intrigue, mystery and overall sheer awesomeness that is involved with the network. The Borgias is a historical drama that made me actually root for the couple that shouldnt even be considered a couple - fans of the show know that i am talking about Caesare and Lucrezia! ;) Jeremy Irons who voiced Scar in the Lion King delivers a wonderful performance that i salute, sir. the sets, the outfits the story, intrigue, murder and betrayal and twists and turns of this show were perfect. i felt the story was going to be developed but it ended, however, well cased and everyone did their part in making it a beautiful period drama and gave a stunning insight to the Church mafia.
CD

by gusters

Dec 01, 2017 8:03 PM EST

I couldn't get enough of this show. The corruption that's brought to the forefront will make you think twice.

by Yzol01

Oct 28, 2014 7:51 PM EDT

A brilliant dramatised adaptation of the history of the Borgias

by ChicEtHautaine

Apr 14, 2018 6:08 PM EDT

the borgias or how to climb the stair of power
religion & morality apply only for their own purpose
so incest, corruption, plots, crimes, cheating... no boundairies

by bingewatcher4now

Feb 18, 2016 3:19 PM EST

I watched first 2 episodes of this show and then first 2 eps of Borgia (dir.Tom Fontana); and I could'nt stop watching the latter(Fontana' s version ) till the end , as it is the first show that got me binging obsessively. So outta 2 stars that I've given,one is for Sir Jeremy Irons and other is for costumes. So much for an exquisite and enthralling version...go check Borgia (canal+) all season eps are in english!

by kfsoterten

Dec 02, 2015 10:43 PM EST

Incest should not be this hot.

by dassiearwen

Nov 08, 2015 11:48 AM EST

A great period piece. The characters are great and intriguing. I loved every storyline and I am incredibly sad it is finished. Even more so because of the unresolved stories in the end.

by Reach4raj

Oct 16, 2015 9:51 AM EDT

you like Italian History , see it....

by Lysanne Gelinas

Jun 04, 2015 11:27 PM EDT

Excellent show, well done!

by rachelwe

Nov 26, 2014 4:34 PM EST

Great show, really enjoyed it

by smilesfromheart

Aug 07, 2017 10:20 PM EDT

I had some kind of withdrawal after I binged the whole series.
I really liked it. Took me a while to get hooked.
Definitely like this over "Borgia". Not to mention Jeremy Irons performance did not disappoint me since he was the main reason I watched the show to begin with.

by Georges E. Kalfat

Jun 21, 2017 6:17 AM EDT

A great show about politics and power struggles with a great setting, cast, and acting! The only downside is that the show needed a closure which was not provided when the network decided to cancel it! Where is that 2 hour special to provide closure that showtime promised?!!!

by reglyt

Aug 18, 2016 7:50 PM EDT

Besides 'Dungeons & Dragons', my favorite film/series starring Jeremy Irons. Seriously, though, Irons spearheaded a very talented cast, with many players I didn't know before, and many I have come to really admire (Sean Harris (!!!), Colm Feore, and Gina McKee).

SPOILERS
Obviously, I'm miffed like everyone else that the series ends before we see the eventual downfall of the Borgia papal dynasty-to-be. Here's hoping Showtime eventually ends the series with a standalone movie or mini-series.

Finished: August 18, 2016.

by Therese73

Jun 17, 2016 9:54 AM EDT

I never thought I was a big period drama watcher but turns out I really like them. It took a while but I finally finished The Borgias. Not being a history buff means I wasn't hung up on right or wrong facts. The costumes, cinematography and story made it a viewing pleasure.

by seygra20

Mar 09, 2016 4:54 AM EST

It's sad that this show got cancelled. I enjoyed the twisted relationships and the storylines.

by QueenSamanthaSmith

Feb 22, 2016 1:57 AM EST

This show was an absolute edge of my seat can't wait to see who's getting killed next kind of show and that is why I loved it. I loved the flirting between the brother and sister, (don't care for it in real life, but hey, this is TV!) and I knew this show would go further if only they had kept it on the air. I miss this show and wish there were more daring shows like it. The man who played Cesare Borgia, was so freaking FINE!!!! I'm going to watch the other shows that he was in. He needs to be given a main character role like that again.

by Alex Christie

Jul 29, 2015 5:35 AM EDT

A very good show, historically acurate, and very entertaining. The intrigue is very well placed and followed, the actors are truly amazing (Jeremy Irons takes his papal role very much at heart and the show is all the better for it). History buff or no, this tv show will be enjoyed regardless, settle in for a holy journey to debauchery and sin. Very enjoyable stuff.

by 0o0

Feb 17, 2015 9:25 PM EST

I love Historical Dramas. This is one of my top.

by Mohammed87

Jan 21, 2015 10:19 PM EST

SEX SEX SEX. LOVE IT.