The Casual Vacancy

Add to List

Review

The Casual Vacancy

Avg Rating (0)
Your Rating
Sundays, 4:00 PM EST on BBC One
Tracked 962 Times
Concluded
1 Seasons, 3 Episodes
60 Minutes
Buy or StreamAmazonAmazon UK
The Casual Vacancy centres on Pagford, a seemingly idyllic English village with a cobbled market square and ancient abbey. Behind the pretty façade however, is a town at war: rich at war with poor, teenagers at war with their parents, wives at war with their husbands, teachers at war with their pupils. Pagford is not what it first seems.

Show Reviews

by zparpa

Mar 28, 2015 2:39 AM EDT

This definitely isn't a feel good mini series, nonetheless it provides a great insight into the thoughts and feelings of the people of Pagford and highlights a serious issue that can get to your heart.

by Rosanna Bowman Dillawar

May 04, 2015 7:53 AM EDT

I wasn't immediately impressed by this show but as it progressed and events began to unfold, I really felt drawn to it. The show gives insight into the lives of the rich and the poor and how their lives differ and may even be similar. I was gripped by storylines such as child abuse, drug abuse, neglect, and most shocking of all, Krystal's untimely death which was such a surprise. She was a strong character who grew on me as her true self was revealed and I felt that her death was a great way to end the series.

by gabiroba

Feb 05, 2016 7:23 PM EST

Great, quirky, wierd, spooky, brilliant. I need to read this book! The music was perfectly combined to the scenes. All the acting and filing was superb and spot on. I was glad to see actors i grew up with in a totally new light proving how great they are. JK Rowling proved she knows how to tell a story for adults and not just kids.

by Graziella Formosa

May 20, 2016 8:33 PM EDT

It is a slightly tamed down version of the book but still highly gripping and involving. It deals with very real issues (drug and child abuse) that happen in and around a small British town called Pagford but which are glossed over by the self-proclaimed and superficial "elite". This is not a fairy tale and certainly does not have a happy ending but you will relate with it all the same as we can all identify with these characters, having met them in our lives in one form or another. J.K. Rowling's mastery shines true once more and although it is not a carbon copy of the printed story, fans of her writing will love this show as well. I also loved the setting (picture-perfect), the acting (spot-on) and the choice of music. All in all a good solid show- ideal to watch over the weekend (after reading the book ;) ).

by bndoorh

May 08, 2015 4:01 PM EDT

its good but not as good as the book

by lascura

May 03, 2015 1:20 PM EDT

Watched the first episode .. not gripping enough to keep me interested.

by Beatrice Eilert

Apr 04, 2015 7:19 PM EDT

gripping suburbian drama with catchy characters and deep social criticism. the cast delivers the depths of the characters convincingly and with an inner truth that is amazing. especially rory kinnear's performance, although short, is outstanding.

by vronmo

Jul 14, 2016 2:23 PM EDT

As with many series based on books, the book is probably better, but it was an ok show.

by loraylei

Dec 25, 2015 6:47 PM EST

this show was difficult to get into and then i didnt enjoy it

by hannah.hoffmann

Jun 26, 2015 11:31 PM EDT

It's really slow and seems like it was probably better in book form. I honestly was fairly bored through the whole thing but I still wanted to see how it ended.

by jb1357

Jun 13, 2015 12:24 AM EDT

Meh! Not a fan.

by Raquel da Cruz

Jun 06, 2015 9:27 PM EDT

I couldn't read the book yet; however, it seems good-adapted.

by sherri2809

Apr 29, 2015 12:25 PM EDT

LOVED it, the book was a great read and the show was superbly made. Would recommend it to those that love english mysteries and a small town gossip.

by nissastaten

Mar 02, 2015 11:03 PM EST

Wow i can't wait to see how this ends.

by Nick Moore

Feb 16, 2015 10:54 AM EST

It looks like something else ... but I cannot recall it. Enjoyable. Could this be Mr Gambons last show ?