The Great British Bake Off

Add to List

Review

The Great British Bake Off

Avg Rating (0)
Your Rating
Tuesdays, 8:00 PM EST on BBC One
Tracked 3,822 Times
Hiatus
10 Seasons, 131 Episodes
60 Minutes
Buy or StreamAmazonAmazon UK
The Great British Bake Off sees ten passionate home bakers take part in a bake-off to test every aspect of their baking skills as they battle to be crowned the Great British Bake Off's best amateur baker. Each week the nationwide tour sees keen bakers put through three challenges in a particular discipline.

Show Reviews

by

Apr 13, 2016 2:09 PM EDT

Take everything you love about U.S. food/cooking shows, remove everything you hate, add a dash of Himalayan pink salt, and you've got this perfectly prepared British vittle. The impossibly named Paul Hollywood and Mary Berry both kinda look like they'd be annoying judges, but they're delightful. Even the hosts are winning. It's remarkable.

by antonellaonai

Apr 27, 2017 10:08 AM EDT

Ever since I came across this on Netflix I went and looked for the rest of the seasons problem now is waiting for a new episode every week obsessed

by jillybeane16

Apr 05, 2016 5:31 PM EDT

I like the setup of this British reality show, it's better the intentionally-misleading-just-for-ratings setup that most American reality shows follow. Also, this reality show is filmed on the weekend, so contestants can still work or go to school. They have foreknowledge about two of the baking challenges so they can practice during the week and prepare any templates. With that disclaimer out of the way, this is a great show to watch if you bake, want to learn to bake (I'm in this category), or desserts and breads fascinate you. The hosts are funny, the judges are hard to read, and most of the contestants are genuine, non-fame-seeking individuals. This is not a show that you have to start with Season 1 and move forward, the format is simple: Round 1=Signature Bakes; Round 2=Technical Challenge; Round 3=Showstopper Challenge; Round 4=1 Contestant Eliminated based on how well they did across all three challenges. As a result of this easily understood format, it’s okay that PBS started with Season 5. But, here’s a piece of advice as someone who has watched Seasons 3-5: the episode before the winner is announced is a recap of the previous season and discusses what those home bakers are up to a year later. This is only a problem if you plan on watching the other seasons (which I highly recommend) and don't want any spoilers. What I do is skip that episode and save it until I watch the season featuring those contestants. Lastly, the episodes after the winner is announced are where Paul Hollywood and Mary Berry (real names of the judges) show how the contestants should've baked the challenges to be successful.

by Chuck_Finley

Feb 23, 2015 9:16 AM EST

love this show, you learn so much. very nice to watch even if you´re not a baking enthusiast because of the charming hosts and candidates.

by guavalove

Aug 07, 2017 3:14 PM EDT

I don't know why it's so addicting to watch people bake but it definitely is. I love this show.

by Lucy

Jun 03, 2017 11:10 AM EDT

Such a warm and uplifting show about baking, with genuine contestants who just want to bake rather than be famous (such a welcome change!) There's challenges, skills tests, humour, food history and palatable tension in each episode - a very polished and highly successful format that shows the contestants off in a postive and likeable way.

Each challenge on the show is unique and offers a chance for contestants to show their skills as well as develop and expand on new ones. The hosts are great and pack as many puns as they can into each episode, in an inherantly British way. The judges are very knowledgeable and very fair on the contestants too (I suppose eating baked goods all day puts you in a sunny dispasition). Summertime in Britian isn't the same without this show, fingers crossed it remains the same when it goes over the Channel 4.

by TiaDP

Feb 23, 2015 6:56 PM EST

Makes me hungry and happy all at once!

by ValentinaO1

Dec 15, 2014 8:35 PM EST

Love it, great for rainy days.

by Katharyn Shuker

Jun 16, 2018 6:30 AM EDT

I love the Great British Bake Off, and I am so glad that channel 4 kept the same format and timings. I loved Sue and Mel, they were hilarious and I was dubious about new hosts but Noel and Sandi are amazing and it is shocking that two people that appear to be polar opposites can bounce off each other to brilliantly. I think that Prue had a hard act to follow but that she has done a great job. I am looking forward to the next series.

by sidereelAdam

Apr 13, 2018 5:38 PM EDT

WHY ARE THESE OLD WHITE PPL ALWAYS GETTING STONED ON TV??????? VERY UNPROFESSIONAL DO NOT LET UR KIDS WATCH THIS TRASH!

by Sarah_G

Jan 25, 2017 7:33 AM EST

Excellent. But is it worth it now that Mary, Mel, and Sue are not gonna be on?

by Yzol01

Sep 11, 2016 2:22 PM EDT

If you love baking then this is the show for you! It's quintessentially British in every way, has a national treasure in the form of Mary Berry and show cases what can be achieved by average every day people who have a passion for baking

by RBT2

Dec 31, 2015 12:43 PM EST

Enjoyed the first season. Looking forward to more being available for streaming.

by Alice Sherman Simpson

Dec 16, 2015 6:53 PM EST

Love this show! British baking is quite different than French.
One gets quite fond of the contestants in all their quirkiness.
And what can I say about the locale? Delightful show.

by Cáit Ní Chonchobair

Nov 06, 2015 9:20 AM EST

Kinda getting a bit boring.

by jb1357

Jun 13, 2015 12:31 AM EDT

Meh! Not a fan.

by JaneC.

Nov 16, 2014 10:51 AM EST

More cake anyone

by PaulienvanderWal

Nov 01, 2014 9:03 AM EDT

best cooking show ever!! also love the specials