The Handmaid's Tale

Add to List

Review

The Handmaid's Tale

Avg Rating (0)
Your Rating
Wednesdays, 3:00 AM EST on Hulu
Tracked 25,322 Times
Hiatus
3 Seasons, 36 Episodes
60 Minutes
Buy or StreamAmazonAmazon UK
Adapted from Margaret Atwood’s acclaimed novel, this is the story of life in the dystopia of Gilead, a totalitarian society in what was formerly part of the United States. Facing environmental disasters and a plunging birthrate, Gilead is ruled by a twisted religious fundamentalism that treats women as property of the state. As one of the few remaining fertile women, Offred (Elisabeth Moss) is a Handmaid in the Commander's household, one of the caste of women forced into sexual servitude as a last desperate attempt to repopulate a devastated world.

Show Reviews

by

Apr 27, 2017 1:51 PM EDT

There is more fight and light in this series than I expected, but don't get it twisted: this is some rough stuff. From the start, you're immersed in a world of fear, struggle, and heartbreak. In the new theocratic republic of Gilead, Offred must suppress her inner rebel to survive as a handmaid ("two-legged womb") to a powerful commander. We also see her life "before," when she was a carefree student, then a new mom. And we see glimpses of the country's transition. It's terrifyingly realistic. It's extraordinarily compelling TV.

by scotwot

Apr 26, 2017 6:23 PM EDT

“It’s not only a feminist story, it’s also a human story.” Margaret Atwood, 2017 Think this can't happen? Just watch. What's extraordinary and horrifying is how current its issues are to all of us. THT pulls no punches - or slaps (Atwood cameo).Exposition is done brilliantly in the form of Elisabeth Moss' flashbacks and narration. Heard and seen only by the viewer, her thoughts help us understand what is happening, has happened and how. I'm only just at the start of episode two but this is an extraordinary show, one that will stay in my mind for a very long time. As has the book.

“It’s not only a feminist story, it’s also a human story.” Margaret Atwood, 2017

by bayleej

May 04, 2017 11:04 AM EDT

Absolutely brutal to watch but its addictive, i want to know more and i have to keep watching. Such a good premise, i cant wait to find out more about their world and how it so quickly fell to shit.

by RiannaBlok

Apr 29, 2017 5:30 PM EDT

Heartbreaking, gruesome, powerful, strong. Must watch for everyone.

by Raquel da Cruz

Apr 26, 2017 5:31 PM EDT

OMG! This show is so sick! It shows us how our freedom can be so fragile and it is so adequate in our times,

by Amy Petrou

May 02, 2018 11:58 AM EDT

Any series that makes me this emotional, either with tears or pure rage, has my 5 star votes.
Everyone should watch this! I know, you'll tell me it's fiction. In these U.S. of A, I can't say that it's really unfathomable because I thought many things were unthinkable nowadays and I got it wrong. I always disliked the ultra-religious "human beings" that pick and choose from the bible whatever suits their perverted minds but this is a different level. The series is amazing, can't recommend it highly enough!

by me2011

Dec 22, 2017 2:11 PM EST

As a woman, this show seems more like it should be in the horror genre rather than drama. Excellent acting by the cast and crazy good storytelling and directing.

by wolfgirl47

May 10, 2017 12:12 AM EDT

A very powerful story. The writing and casting are fantastic. This show is highly addictive and a must watch in my book.

by kmasalas

Apr 30, 2017 7:06 PM EDT

So Far... Fabulous! It's really sticking close to the book, which I like, and it's not only cool because it's current, but it is so poignant with everything going on in the states. It really shows how easily and quickly people's individual rights can be taken away when they give up they're freedoms and privacy out of a fear of terrorism. This is such an important series to see. It really shows what can happen when as a society tolerance is replaced by fascism. I am amazed at how amazing this is going, so much so I just had to say something. :) Yay! Margret Atwood! Good for you!

by tyma38

Jun 07, 2017 10:02 AM EDT

There is an election tomorrow June 8th 2017, the current Prime Minister in the UK has promised that if she wins, she will change some of the human rights laws hat currently governs us due to the fact that the UK has had three terror attacks in the last few months.

I have only just finished watching episode 3, I however despair realising how easy it is to give up our rights and freedoms for the promise (made by governments) to keep us safe because of FEAR/TERROR. It's frog boiling isn't it. It won't be done at once, it will be gradual.

“If you give up your freedom for safety, you don't deserve either one.”-Benjamin Franklin

by Toya Davis

Jun 04, 2017 4:48 AM EDT

Man does this show makes me feel some type of way. it cuts deep at the heart of how they did things in the old days and of how some still justify things like this now. being a feminist myself this show is very hard to watch i could barely stomach the first episode (the clothes just about killed me). if the writer in me didn't just absolutely love this crazy ass plot i wouldn't think twice about this show but as she would have it (writer-ego) she loves it so while shes jumping with glee at the concept and characters ill be swallowing my pride during every episode!

by miss_fatzou

May 20, 2017 8:01 AM EDT

This is a must-watch for me . kept me engaged the whole time . Powerful story .

by Sanne Popelier

May 17, 2017 3:18 PM EDT

Where can I sign up for Every martch ever for women, whatever preferences?!?! Tis is so good acting and realistically possible!! Made me cry and stop doing anything else!! Sooooo powerfull nu episode 5

by Speakezee

May 11, 2017 11:12 PM EDT

hard to watch because it is both so disgusting and so believable. the role of women in society is precarious at best, and as soon as women even consider that they might have rights, people are there telling them they are being too pushy or strident...sad

by GeorgeAnn

Apr 28, 2017 10:29 PM EDT

As good as the original if not better. Solid acting, nice script I'll watch more.

by eriduserpent

Apr 27, 2017 6:35 AM EDT

So far so good and very believable for America LOL

by marcensseraph

Apr 27, 2017 2:39 AM EDT

'A cautionary tale' to be sure; and a good indication of where America could be heading under certain conditions. I have not read the book, but the show is great so far. I would give it 5 stars but it is a little more graphic than I care for, but not too much - just enough to portray what needs to be portrayed.

by frosty55

Jun 06, 2018 11:50 AM EDT

Take a deep breath and hold onto everything you value, because this work inspired by Atwood's novel will show you what it means to have it torn from your grasp. Tense, brutal, honest , too real and imminently believable, the stories depicted hold nothing back in depicting just how bad things can get and how all of us share the responsibility by our actions and lack thereof. This is something everyone should watch. This is something everyone should discuss. This is not entertainment, it is a lesson. In history, anthropology, theology, social and cultural studies. Though categorized as a drama, there is nothing dramatized. These things happen. These things are happening today. These things could be our reality tomorrow, in an instant. Watch, learn, beware, and be grateful that the creators had the freedom to produce this and that we as viewers have the freedom to appreciate it.

by ItzHavok

Feb 26, 2018 4:30 PM EST

A Handmaid's Tale is a science fiction drama about a world that most woman have become infertile and the United States have taken matters into their own hands. The have established Marshall law and are now herding women who can still have children, pimping them out as maids and baby ovens. Woman have lost all possessions, bank accounts, you name it... they have returned to the old ways, where men rule and women obey. The cast is well chosen and the story is very well written. The series does not follow the book as much as it should but the directors bring light to a terrifying future. A decent piece of cinema. I recommend this to the drama fanatic.

by gusters

Feb 18, 2018 10:59 AM EST

This show based off the book does a really good job at staying true to the story line. I can't wait to see where they take this. It's extremely scary to realize how something like this could really happen in our world in order to safe guard human existence. This show is very easy to binge watch and will definitely leave you wanting more.