The Haunting of Hill House

Add to List

Review

The Haunting of Hill House

Avg Rating (0)
Your Rating
Fridays, 3:00 AM EST on Netflix
Tracked 4,119 Times
Hiatus
1 Seasons, 10 Episodes
60 Minutes
Buy or StreamAmazonAmazon UK
A modern re-imagining of Shirley Jackson's iconic novel

Show Reviews

by scifenefics

Oct 16, 2018 1:02 AM EDT

Definitely the best horror I have seen for ages, certainly number one for this year.

by tribepanda

Oct 21, 2018 6:12 PM EDT

I'm not often compelled to write reviews, but this show deserves it. The Haunting of Hill House is billed as a horror and it certainly has elements of Horror in it, but at its heart it's a story about coping with trauma. I needed to take breaks from watching the show, not because I was scared, but because the raw emotions were too much to take in large doses. This is the story of a family ripped to shreds and shoved back together only to find that their pieces no longer fit. Their jagged, broken edges causing each other undue pain and agony as they asses who they've become in light of what they have (or have not) seen. I ached for this family to find closure in a way I never would have anticipated. Even if you do spot the twists coming, it's worth the ride to watch this family fumble through the dark in search of resolution. I'd go so far even to say that seeing the twists coming makes them all the more painful.

Don't be deterred by the marketing; even the faint of heart can enjoy this, provided you have enough kleenex.

by scotwot

Dec 10, 2018 7:21 PM EST

Love this show, I'm at episode five and hooked. Watching one or two eps per night. I haven't seen horror this good in years, it's exceptionally good psychological horror, spooky horror and really scary horror all rolled into one, combined with heart, through family relationships we can all relate to, plus lots of popcorn jumps. Shirley Jackson's novel was one I read as a kid, so to watch it done so well = wow!

by

Oct 16, 2018 1:43 PM EDT

this is boring

by blastise

Oct 14, 2018 4:36 PM EDT

Best horror show I've seen in a REALLY long time!

by gusters

Jun 01, 2019 4:52 PM EDT

Not sure what season 2 will entail, but season 1 definitely gave me quite a few jump scares.

by tpn22

Jan 27, 2019 11:32 AM EST

As an avid horror watcher, this is watered down, contrived and overrated. I've watched 4 episodes and there's just no respect for the viewer. Have you learned absolutely anything? No. Is it scary at all? No. The scariest part of this show was a CGI sickly kitten. The little "hints" or "connections," if you'd like to call them that, that are supposed to keep you watching are kinda dumb, like an obvious juxtaposition with poor writing of Theo in her childhood saying "don't touch me" and then adult Theo saying "touch me." Could they have written that any more in my face? We still would've gotten the message without that awkward line at the end. Give your audience a little credit, Netflix. This isn't horror; this is a slow drama with an occasional and obnoxious jump scare. I'm not wasting 9 hours on this to get to the 10th hour when they finally decide to explain something to me.

The only redeeming parts of this show are the acting and the backstories, but there are plenty of other shows that give me this and more.

by spgm

Dec 28, 2018 12:53 PM EST

One of the best drama/horror I have seen in ages

by georgiaraepink

Dec 06, 2018 12:36 AM EST

Best horror I've seen in a while. Great acting & Kept me interested all the way through,

by steelsheen

Oct 28, 2018 10:25 PM EDT

whoever wrote this garbage needs to have their pro card revoked PERMANENTLY. Cheesy, cliched awful dialogue.

by Maroozey_2019

Apr 16, 2020 7:47 PM EDT

Original
Thought provoking
Highly recommended
Can't wait for season 2

by vallejopx

Jan 28, 2020 6:34 PM EST

I love this TV show. If you like mystery, drama, thriller and horror this is definitely for you

by Chivonne D'cruz

May 25, 2019 7:50 AM EDT

This is an amazing show, with a good story and old school horror. The pace is interesting and has some lovely shots and camera work. Do watch and hope you like it.

by Missy Wallace Woodall

May 12, 2019 2:03 AM EDT

This is one of the best thrillers, especially not to be a movie, i have seen! Really keeps u on the edge of ur seat, even got several yelps out of me, lol. Highly recommend!!

by Sophie Hartl

Nov 28, 2018 7:54 AM EST

Wow, this show is incredible. It is scary and you're ripped from one storyline to the next, until it is all more or less revealed to you by the end, until when you're sitting at the edge of your seat conspiring for what could have happened. Cannot recommend enough, even if you get scared easily- watch it during the day or with friends :)

by Sanfate

Nov 19, 2018 4:47 PM EST

I had a really slow start into the series. But midseason (ep. 5 or 6) there was a moment which did the trick for me. I was kind of hooked.
Getting this far was due to a recommendation of a friend.
Therefore if you gat a similar problem with the first few episodes, let me tell you that it might be worth it to stay tuned.
The first season as a whole is good and sound.

by web4real

Nov 14, 2018 9:20 AM EST

The Haunting of Hill House caught me by surprise. I'd heard that it was a creepy and enjoyable show, but I did not expect it to be as grounded as I found it to be. Essentially the show is focused on family and the relationships between different members and how different people deal with grief and trauma. Ended up not being as frightening as I expected, but the character development and the way in which the story unfolded was captivating. Would definitely recommend, even if you're not big into horror there is a lot to be enjoyed.

by slayeron

Nov 14, 2018 12:41 AM EST

I don't generally enjoy the horror genre as a whole, but there really seemed to be something special about this show. Acting was superb, storyline was awesome and eeryness kept me coming back for more. Loved it!

by marissaputri

Nov 13, 2018 11:58 PM EST

Revolutionary. Perhaps among the best shows this year.

by gabsters02

Nov 07, 2018 3:13 PM EST

By far one of the best horror show I've seen in a long time. Caught me off guard and made me jump out of my seat a few times.