The Last Man On Earth

Add to List

Review

The Last Man On Earth

Avg Rating (0)
Your Rating
Sundays, 9:30 PM EST on FOX
Tracked 10,406 Times
Concluded
4 Seasons, 66 Episodes
30 Minutes
Buy or StreamAmazonAmazon UK
Written by Forte and produced by 20th TV and studio-based Lord Miller, Last Man On Earth centers a stranger (Forte) who becomes the last human on Earth. It marks a return to writing for Forte, who started off as a writer on the Late Show, 3rd Rock From The Sun and That ’70s Show before hitting it big on Saturday Night Live, where he was a cast member for a decade.

Show Reviews

by Sylar Dean Paginton

Apr 17, 2018 2:45 PM EDT

I have to be HONEST here, I was look forward to watching this and was surely not pleased with the outcome of episode one, so i watched episode 2, then 3 and so on, and I REALLY hated it. The cast, lets face it, leaves you with a bad anger management issue, well for me it leaves me wanting to kill them both. Thank god I'm not one of the last remaining ones with them because I would have killed them by now and gotten away with murder. The main woman is so annoying with her squeeky voice and views, also NO ONE IS THAT DULL. THAT smug arrogant wan*$r of a man needs his private parts cut off, every time i see/hear him on screen I just want to go all hulk on him and SMAAAASHHHHH!

by Jess Twomey

Mar 02, 2015 11:23 PM EST

Phil Lord, Chris Miller, and Will Forte's "Last Man On Earth" is a glimpse into the life of a man who finds himself alone at the end of humanity as we know it. This show is hilarious, but also makes us wonder what would WE do under the circumstances? Would we raid the Smithsonian? Use a swimming pool as a toilet? Would we ever get so pathetic as to call a volleyball our best friend? In conclusion: this show rocks.

by

Mar 14, 2016 4:59 PM EDT

Turns out Will Forte is one of the smartest, most creative folks to come out of SNL. This show somehow managed to move beyond an impossible setup and become a consistently intriguing series.

by jazeron

Mar 04, 2015 4:18 AM EST

First of all - laugh attack hilarious. The last man on earth acts exactly how you'd think a typical man would; driving around the U.S collecting porn, sports memorabilia and Twinkies. The last woman on earth is naggy, annoying, and absolutely perfect for him. I can't wait for more. Bravo Will Forte, you're a g'damn genius.

by irishhedgehog

Oct 07, 2016 5:55 AM EDT

I absolutely love this show! It's such a funny take on the world's end and Will Forte is a genius! I also love Kristen Schaal and the endearing weirdness of her character. This is definitely one of the best and funniest post-apocalyptic comedy shows there is.

by DarkClarissa

Feb 26, 2016 6:22 PM EST

I think I like this. It's quirky and unexpected. I'm not sure why I don't feel I can give it more than three and a half stars though. Perhaps it's because the episodes are short, each one seems as if it's almost a vignette rather than a full episode. It's very amusing and I can relate to so many of the things that Phil does, although perhaps not the toilet pool. I think the thing that is preventing me from giving it a higher rating is that he is so grubby and dirty and it makes my skin itch watching him. Also, so what he doesn't have running water in his current home, MOVE to another part of town. But I'm being picky.

***SPOILER*** The show itself has a lot of potential, although I'm not sure how long they can keep it going as they've had to introduce two other characters and it's only episode three. So we'll have to see if they can stretch it out. Perhaps the writers have other surprises up their sleeves other than him having a selection of women to have sex with? I don't begrudge him it, he is the last man on Earth, but I'm not sure how many jokes can be made about it before it's no longer funny. I really want this show to work though. I'll stick with it for a little while anyway.

by LittleBox

Apr 13, 2015 3:08 AM EDT

The show is pretty cool, but Phil is just such an asshole that it actually becomes annoying to watch, I literally want to punch him in the face every time I see or hear him. The most annoying part is when he suddenly turns into a 'good' person for a couple of minutes at the end of the episode because that doesn't make sense, it's way too out of character for someone like Phil and it's definitely nothing like proper character development.

by 123maxz

Jul 20, 2014 6:28 PM EDT

gave it 5 stars just because of the trailer really looking forward for when it starts

by iLex22

Mar 30, 2020 1:01 AM EDT

I keep watching because I love Kristen Schaal and Will Forte. But in my opinion, the show's biggest drawback is Will Forte's character, Tandy, who in only 1/2 an hour each week, achieves stratospheric levels of annoyance that are truly hard to bear.

In a real-life end of the world situation, ( & i know, this show is very fictional) but I think Tandy just might have been "accidentally" shot early on with no one feeling too bad about it. I know that sounds harsh, but watch one episode from Season 3 and I dare you not to agree with me.

Will Forte is a great comic talent, so I truly cannot understand why he wants to create a character who is so unpleasant to be around. Do we really need to see such painful social awkwardness outlined in blazing neon each week? Yes, Tandy's sweet, yes, he's well-meaning, etc., etc. And all that being true, he is still VERY uncomfortable to spend time with. I am hoping that Tandy's grating personality is leading up to some big psychological reveal, otherwise, everyday Tandy is just torture for torture's sake.

On the upside, I think the other characters are great. They are endearing, charmingly unique and engaging thanks to the good actors playing them. The tone of the show is consistent and funny while the writing is quite good as well; that is when it's not unintentionally exhausting the audience with too much 'Tandy time'. Tone down the "Tandy" and this would be an even better show, a great show.

by lucyloo21

Jan 19, 2019 6:04 AM EST

For me, the best episode still remains the first one Will Forte was the only cast member. As the cast grew in size I felt like the quality dipped as most characters were awful - January Jones' Melissa in particular. A few good guest stars here and there and it did improve in places but I can't say I miss it now it's gone.

by BellBlaq

Jul 22, 2017 3:20 PM EDT

This is surprisingly funny so far. It's not going where I expected, but is going to the most logical place so far. I look forward to not being disappointed!

by Industrialcontortion

Mar 09, 2017 9:41 AM EST

Better than I anticipated. He may not be alone, but I found this one good to watch with my SO. The cliffhangers are intense and compare to Lost.

by wolfgirl47

Mar 04, 2016 11:00 AM EST

I was really exciting about this show. The trailer for it looked really good but I just couldn't make it thorough the first episode.

by Estella Ortega

Dec 16, 2015 7:04 AM EST

With all the apocalyptic shows out there, this is a funny show about what would happen if everybody is gone. I love it! I am curious about why aren't there any bodies, but too entertained with Phil taking iconic treasures and using them with utterly disrespect. LOL This show could go on for a while because it is easy to introduce new characters when things get dull. I can't wait to see how Phil's brother returns from out of space when there is no "Houston we have a problem".

by loulounana

Nov 19, 2015 7:09 PM EST

If you want to laugh and have good time you MUST see the last man on earth !

by me2011

Sep 28, 2015 12:52 PM EDT

I'm still on the fence after watching the entire first season. I can't recall this type of story being told on TV before, and it has occasional laughs. I think the thing that keeps me from really enjoying this show is the character Carol, I can't stand her.

by Speakezee

Jun 08, 2015 11:28 AM EDT

If you like this one...check out FIND ME A MAORI BRIDE...wacky situational humor done by actual native New Guineans.

Can't believe I haven't already reviewed this one...It is amazing! The characters are all believable and the situations are so clever and REAL, but not trivialized at all. The growth of the characters is a one step forward two steps back at times, but then they get back on track. I loved the SUPER GUY who turned into a bad guy.

by Aiffe

May 27, 2015 2:31 PM EDT

I had high hopes for this going in: speculative fiction comedies are rare, and this comes with the pedigree of the creator of 3rd Rock from the Sun, which I enjoyed.

However, this simply doesn't hold up on any level. The entire comedy is based on shallow, lazy tropes about "how men and women are," which are sexist, boring, and untrue. The first episode was all I could get through, and usually I'll stick with shows for a while to see if they get good, but I couldn't even imagine this possibly going anywhere I would like, and reviews indicate it just gets worse, they just deepen into even more hateful parodies of the gender binary.

I couldn't even take the premise seriously because simply no attention was paid to any kind of realism. Humanity was wiped out by a "virus," but there were no corpses anywhere, just a big empty playground of wish fulfillment. This is like every criticism of the zombie genre being about wish fulfillment for beta males who want to steal stuff and have hyperviolence, only for even more pathetic beta males who don't even want to blow up zombies. It isn't remotely relateable unless you're a pathetic white guy who sits around being entitled and wishing you could do anything you want like a big unwatched child, and generally hating women while being angry you can't get any.

There are also apparently no animals in this world--raccoons and coyotes don't despoil the supermarket foods, there are no packs of feral dogs, as you'd expect after a virus affecting humans. Nuclear power plants don't melt down without maintenance. There's no respect for the genre, just "what if I could do anything I want" with a few jokes about how women are awful but ya just can't live without them. I wasn't sure if this was written in 2015 or 1885, because the mindset of women (notably, white women, but in the genocide that was apparently also part of the wish fulfillment, only white people survived the end of the world) are a civilizing force on bestial men, all rules and order and properness comes from women. The last woman on earth couldn't be hairy-armpitted and leg-bearded and FINALLY free to break all the oppressive rules that don't benefit her--oh no, because rules are in a woman's blood, and only exist to oppress white men...who in reality are the main beneficiaries of every rule and system.

The first episode ends with these two parodies of their genders deciding to get married, clearly settling into a lot of old-timey jokes about how awful heterosexual marriage is because they can't stand each other. I really don't know how they took such an interesting premise and managed to be this small-minded and boring, how they went so far to break out of the status quo only to underline it, and insist the status quo is the only quo and just how things are and must be.

And most damning of all, I didn't laugh once. What was I supposed to laugh at, the "oh, that's SO true" fallacy of how men do plumbing with duct tape even though they don't know what they're doing, because women are completely helpless and depend on their sad bumbling useless asses? How a man about to kill himself because he had no one to talk to, when interrupted by the knowledge that another human was alive in the world, within forty-five minutes of hearing her speak remembered how much he hated women talking? I wish he'd just killed himself, then he could have all the silence he wanted. This show was AWFUL, just sad, painfully unimaginative, and pathetically lazy. Tell a story about the last man on earth when you have anything of worth to say about the nature of humanity.

For a speculative fiction comedy about being the last surviving human that's ACTUALLY FUNNY, do yourself a favor and watch Red Dwarf.

by KevinC26

Apr 30, 2015 1:13 AM EDT

This guys sure knows how to get into the most cringingly awkward situations with his lies and deceitful attitude. You can't help but laugh at his selfish misbehaviour that always gets him into hot soup

by tpn22

Apr 15, 2015 7:51 AM EDT

An entertaining show about two abnormal people trying to sort out their differences for the fate of humanity.

but actually...

I stopped tracking this show after the first few episodes and I really don't see how this show is going to last. Turns out he's not actually the Last Man on Earth, so the title is deceiving. Also, I'm just generally not a fan of Murphy's-Law-type humor. If you were a huge fan of Curb Your Enthusiasm, which was basically the epitome of that type of humor, then you might like this show. For me, it just gets irritating after a few minutes.