The Rookie

Add to List

Review

The Rookie

Avg Rating (0)
Your Rating
Sundays, 10:00 PM EST on ABC
Tracked 6,497 Times
Hiatus
2 Seasons, 40 Episodes
60 Minutes
Buy or StreamAmazonAmazon UK
The Rookie is inspired by a true story. Nathan Fillion plays John Nolan, the oldest rookie in the LAPD. At an age where most are at the peak of their career, Nolan cast aside his comfortable, small town life and moved to L.A. to pursue his dream of being a cop. Now, surrounded by rookies twenty years his junior, Nolan must navigate the dangerous, humorous and unpredictable world of a “young” cop, determined to make his second shot at life count.

Show Reviews

by KerstinRoush

Apr 20, 2019 6:18 AM EDT

This is one of the best shows I have watched. And not just because I love Nathan Fillion and am happy to see him back on screen. I really like the story. It is different. And the way this show is made is different.This is not your usual cop show.
The basic story is really good and what they made out of it during the first season is solid. Continuously solid. The characters are well drawn and the actors are great. It is all believable and nothing in there jumps out as fake or overdrawn.
I have waited to write this until the end of the first season and I can say I am still hooked. Solid show with great moments. So worth watching!

by JJane007

Nov 19, 2018 8:00 PM EST

Stars Nathan Fillion this time as a rookie cop. Makes a change from Castle where he played the writer side -kick. Other well known actors from other shows that were cancelled or ended are in this series. The cast seems well suited to their new roles in this series. Has humour as well as drama and action. I like it so far.

by Phyliss Henry

Jan 21, 2019 12:25 AM EST

love this show. This is a good story about an older man becoming a cop starting as a rookie. Everybody treats him like an old man. This is a good idea for a show..

by writersroomgirl

Dec 02, 2018 9:40 PM EST

My friend and I decided to watch this show out of loyalty to Firefly. Plus, everything else had vamps and werewolves. Not only was it surprisingly fresh but one of the episodes gave us insight we were able to use the next day -- in real life! The detectives who arrived all wrote down the name of the show based on our judgment, conclusion, and their ability to save a life based on information from this show.
"Keep flying and stay shiny!"

by milesobrien

Nov 02, 2018 3:16 AM EDT

I like Nathan.He has a thougtful delivery and his character struggles with the moral ambiguities of the modern police world. Some of the ongoing issues with the police administration seem a little cliched but I am guessing they are real. I like the show and will watch the season.

by Graybeard35

Jan 25, 2019 5:00 PM EST

Not just another cop show. Plenty of action, but more driven by character development than the action. Just enough humor to keep it balanced. Fillion's John Nolan, although the main character, shares the spotlight with the other characters and their stories. Hopefully, ABC will be smart enough the renew and run this show for many years.

by Zstenmark

Jan 15, 2019 2:48 AM EST

Easy to watch - enjoyable cop drama with a good variety of characters. Really enjoy The Rookie, glad to have Nathan Fillion back on my screen. Hope this one sticks around.

by ElizabethK13

Oct 19, 2018 12:32 PM EDT

Wow, for a first episode, this was great!!!
I Love Nathan Fillion. And I'd watch this even if it sucks. But, It absolutely DID NOT.
There was so much action, I loved it. I hope they keep it going.
Great Job guys!!!

by SirMom

Mar 16, 2020 2:08 PM EDT

thumbs watching

by learjock

Feb 24, 2020 8:53 PM EST

Nathan Fillion inserts himself very well in this new role. Seeing that in his previous series and other things that he's done make him a true jack of all trades. The cast and crew of The Rookie work so well with each other and makes you want more after every episode; the mid season premiere closes off the 2 part episode started last year.
Great action, good empathy, good acting and lessons in life. All around good fun and entertainment.

by rakeshreddy39

Feb 06, 2020 9:53 AM EST

a good show.

by Ddeicke

Oct 11, 2019 9:47 AM EDT

The Rookie is an excellent cop show. Nathan Fillion is terrific as Officer John Nolan. He was also very good in Castle. The rest of the cast is great as well.

by honey_jv

Jul 01, 2019 3:33 PM EDT

It started a bit slow but it soon picked up speed. I like this series. I'm hoping for more.

by OLIVE_W-76

Apr 28, 2019 4:44 AM EDT

Guilty. And Nathan Fillion.

by iguanasaber

Apr 17, 2019 1:19 PM EDT

This is awesome. great story, every episode is very interesting, adding a new light to he common police shows. Nathan fillion is an amassing actor so he makes the series twice as good. Brilliant show.

by GG1

Jan 28, 2019 8:13 PM EST

Entertaining and funny. great story line.

by wolfgirl47

Nov 03, 2018 7:17 PM EDT

I really enjoyed Nathan Fillion in Castle, so I was really excited to see him back in a cop drama. It wasn't quite what I thought it would be. I will give it a few more episodes.

by paulrichardson

Nov 03, 2018 2:55 PM EDT

Unfortunately (In my opinion) this show misses the mark between a drama and a comedy.
It's a mish mash with some "average" drama, some "average" comedy and some unnecessary slap stick.
Not my cup of tea.

by KateB3

Oct 22, 2018 1:11 PM EDT

pretty good start

by chucklez

May 07, 2020 3:09 PM EDT

So dam glad I found this show. Albeit not from the start. I must say I have absolutely never laughed so much as I do at poor Nolan, Poor soul always find trouble or is it trouble finds him?

Fantastic show absolutely love it.

Got my partner addicted to it too.

NO, Not allowed to go on to Season finale. Going to miss our Rookie fix every week