The Secret Life of The American Teenager

Add to List

Review

The Secret Life of The American Teenager

Avg Rating (0)
Your Rating
Mondays, 8:00 PM EST on ABC Family
Tracked 45,855 Times
Concluded
4 Seasons, 121 Episodes
60 Minutes
Buy or StreamAmazonAmazon UK
ABC Family Just about every teenager at one time or another feels like an outsider, as if nobody in the world understands them, especially their parents. This series focuses on the complex relationships between teenagers and their families. The series goes an additional layer deep by dealing with the issue of teen pregnancy and the fallout among the teens and their friends.

Show Reviews

by Mistwolf614

May 29, 2015 1:13 AM EDT

One of the dumbest shows to ever air on T.V. Bad plot, over-dramatic acting, very unclassy. But like a car accident, it's hard to look away. Don't waste your time.

by ValentinaO1

Jan 28, 2015 7:04 PM EST

too dramatic and extremely long show.

by wolfgirl47

Feb 29, 2016 10:14 AM EST

I started watching it because my daughter was into the show. She eventually lost interest but for some reason I hung on till the end. I think the first season was really well written but after that the plots just became unrealistic and there was a lot of over acting by the cast.

by Koennen

Aug 19, 2015 8:48 AM EDT

It's about teenagers and their drama but it has a great plot development.

by Bianca Bell'Almo

Jan 21, 2015 5:40 AM EST

love this show so much

by kvmgoldfish

Jan 11, 2015 12:52 AM EST

Started off good ended just okay, one of my guilty pleasures!

by kolmteistjareede

Nov 11, 2014 6:30 AM EST

I am 26 and I watched it. I feel slightly ashamed, but after I started, I could not stop. I just wanted to know how much more complicated things could go.

by brynneelizabeth

Oct 23, 2014 12:05 AM EDT

how the hell did this stay on the air so long the acting was abhorrent.

by talhoino

Sep 12, 2014 4:39 PM EDT

I tried, could never get into it though.

by maria97

Aug 30, 2014 2:12 PM EDT

love the love story

by goldenlightt

Jul 31, 2018 11:17 PM EDT

Season 1 was decent. The rest was a terribly over dramatic storyline and really bad acting. I lost count of how many pregnancies there were throughout the show.

by MGlidden

May 24, 2018 10:25 AM EDT

I didn't watch this show until years after it had finished. Took me a while, and I still wasn't invested enough to be angry at the ending, but it was a decent watch.

by TelevisionFanboy

Feb 12, 2018 4:50 PM EST

A teenage soap opera to be sure but not a bad one!

by Chiwal

Jan 15, 2018 1:18 PM EST

One season=one pregnancy. A little bit over the top. Needed to end.

by cjcaroma

Jun 23, 2017 10:06 AM EDT

I am writing this review the same time I am watching the series finale.

I was excited to watch this show at first. But there are times that the characters of the show were being annoying and pathetic, and some lines are stupidly written. Sorry for the insult, but some lines are just dense/ meh. There are times where I got so frustrated, I couldn't help but to roll my eyes.

I was actually disappointed at the final episode of season 5. The show was dominated by the flashbacks of each characters. I know they are reminiscing their high school life but it was a wee bit draggy, so I skipped the flashbacks.

UGH... Even the last few minutes of the show is irritating.

by Andrew Choe

Nov 27, 2016 8:02 PM EST

enjoyed it more than i thought

by Princesa_boricuaxo

Jun 24, 2016 10:02 PM EDT

Obsessed! The characters are so complex and I love each and everyone of them defiantly would recommended this show.

by Savannah Mitchem

Jan 18, 2016 12:54 PM EST

I hate that they don't have this show anymore. Whole reason i actually signed up.

by MetalRico

Dec 21, 2015 5:56 AM EST

I have been a fan of good high school tv series. Such like The O.C. and One tree hill. Unfortunately this show is not one of them.
The acting is really awful at times and the storylines.... sigh. Still it is fun to see the characters grow up. Especially Shailene Woodley.
So it's maybe not a totally waste of time. And I have to say that I did not see al the episodes. I did not watch the second part of season 4 and season 5.
I was simply done with the show. With the exception of the last episode.

by circlehugs

Dec 12, 2015 4:51 PM EST

Finished 04/26/15