The X-Files

Add to List

Review

The X-Files

Avg Rating (0)
Your Rating
Wednesdays, 8:00 PM EST on FOX
Tracked 10,577 Times
Concluded
2 Seasons, 16 Episodes
60 Minutes
Buy or StreamAmazonAmazon UK
Thirteen years after the original series run, the next mind-bending chapter of THE X-FILES is back, helmed by creator/executive producer Chris Carter, with stars David Duchovny and Gillian Anderson re-inhabiting their roles as iconic FBI Agents FOX MULDER and DANA SCULLY. This marks the momentous return of the Emmy- and Golden Globe Award-winning pop culture phenomenon, which remains one of the longest-running sci-fi series in network television history.

Show Reviews

by Mara Caibo

Jan 25, 2016 12:04 PM EST

In my opinion there are 3 possible ways to review this show:
1. If you are an hard-core X-Files fan (as I am) and you started a long committed marathon to re-watch all the 9 previous seasons months ago (as I did) , you will probably find the first episode perfectly in line with the tone of the old show. Yes, they aged, but their messy relationship is still there, Scully is looking out for Mulder, Mulder is looking for the truth. Which apparently is still out there. For sure, after watching season 9, it feels like an improvement (at least Mulder is in it), but there's A LOT of explaining to do and a lot of nostalgia. P.S. A.D. Skinner is LOOKING GOOD!
2. if you WERE an X Files fan and just couldn't bare watching the last two seasons (8 and 9 ) 13 years ago, gave up and decided to remember X-Files at its best (till season 6) you will have mixed feelings about this new season. And it's ok. You will probably enjoy seeing our two heroes again, but the plot will feel way to messy and sometimes not really original. Take it as it is, no need to be judgy. It seems there are going to be several monster-of-the-week episodes, and you just may enjoy them!
3. You just heard about the X-Files YESTERDAY or from your parents and you are into every CW show. Then it's probably not the show for you. Knowing that, give it a try. It may surprise you, but there's a great chance Mulder and Scully are going to feel like your uncle and aunt.

by Marcel Hendriks

Jan 25, 2016 9:12 AM EST

X-Files is back and it feels like they never went away. It is still the show we fell in love with all those years ago. Only thing different is the updated conspiracy. The truth is out there.

by scotwot

Feb 23, 2016 1:32 PM EST

As someone who watched all the original episodes (I stopped when they dumped Mulder and brought in Robert Patrick) this season has been a disaster. Chris Carter is stuck in the '90's, he seems to not understand modern pop culture at all. I was really looking forward to this and am sorely disappointed. He cruelly left us on a cliffhanger that was for me 'The End.' I won't be watching Season 11. So disappointing, Duchovny and Armstrong worked so hard to be credible and their acting was stellar, shame about the sub-par scripts and ridiculous plot arc.

by steelsheen

May 05, 2016 9:13 AM EDT

this re-boot is proof that nostalgia shouldn't run a network

by daviswalden

Apr 09, 2016 10:21 AM EDT

A show revival with no sense of direction, The X-Files came back with a cluster of mysteries that didn't tie in together as well as they should have.

by Nick Moore

Feb 20, 2016 12:46 PM EST

The original TV series made us question everything and then that series came to an end.
This new TV series lacks the quality of story lines - its hanging on to the past format and its failing miserably.
This new season is afternoon TV at best.
Want to make something great scrap the original actors characters and bring in some unknown faces. Also, the story lines have got to be multifaceted spreading across episodes.
Cancel the trip down memory lane !

by Eric Birlew

Feb 15, 2016 2:58 PM EST

OH YEAH, here we go. Loving it so far, I hope they keep going.

by me2011

Feb 13, 2016 5:24 PM EST

My God, what's not to love? The original X Files was a great and more importantly, consistent show in that there were never any significant dips in quality or story line, which makes it the perfect show to revive.

by jazeron

Jan 28, 2016 6:12 AM EST

The X-Files is more relevant and interesting than ever! Let the alien conspiracy nerd-off begin! I love how true they've stayed to their characters, though their chemistry has completely faded - but that doesn't matter, I predict a new (potential alien) interest for Fox. Thank you TV gods for bringing this back!

by aprilsyellowdawn

Oct 08, 2017 5:26 PM EDT

I COULDNT GET PAST THE TIME FRAME ON THIS REBOOT ITS LIKE THE ORIGINAL BUT EVERYONE IS OLDER AND WELL OLDER

by Fluorine

Apr 14, 2016 1:39 AM EDT

It's sad how good this show used to be and how disappointed I was with the new season. It's not all bad i guess, if you don't get into the details of scientific explanations. I know it's fiction, the same as Star Wars etc., but at least in other Science fiction shows/movies they don't pretend to know the science and invent their own. But the fact they used all the correct scientific terms in a completely wrong way (and I do mean COMPLETELY WRONG), was where they went wrong with the show. It could have been so good if only they either hired someone to correct these foolish mistakes or to just invent their own science, either would work.

by Sylar Dean Paginton

Mar 03, 2016 1:01 PM EST

Well, being NOT a major fan of the first 9 seasons, I went into this not expecting MUCH but I was surprised with what they achieved in the first two episodes. The graphic detail
on visuals made me think I was watching a horror version of CSI or something. This show only seems to be a 6 part series, which to me they should have just done another movie
instead, cut all the BS out and they could have easily made a three hour film. NICE to see the old team together and my thoughts on them STILL have not changed after all these
years.. Anderson is a good actress but unfortunately she was partnered with the wrong actor for Mulder, he STILL can't act for shit, maybe he should have stuck to his blue movies!
I'll continue to watch the other episodes considering it is only 6 part series, let's hope Mulder gets to find the truth just before he dies, cos that's what i'm HOPING they are going
to do, can't wait for Robbie Amell to get into the episodes, great actor :)

Over all, the series was a great watch.. other than that ONE episode where it makes you feel like your on drugs or something.

by polsje

Feb 23, 2016 5:08 PM EST

NO WAY !!!??? The episode it self is awsome, but the ending .... I thought it was going to be concluded. So what did happen made me freaking furious... WHY ????????? I am not going to watch a Miller & Eindstein X-files. Mulder and Scully should have a happy ending. Its ruined for me.............. NO MORE X-Files

by moahdeeb777

Feb 22, 2016 3:24 AM EST

"YES" "YES" Its finally back, THE X-FILES I've waited 14 long years for one of the greatest sci-fi show to return, I had no doubt that it would. It seems like FOX & SCULLY haven't missed a step. Hey its the X-Files what could go wrong about this show "NOTHING". A bad episode of the X-Files is better than any good episode of any other show. By the way the show is back, with its mysterious and co-vert and evil nefarious plans of men or aliens?

by Alex Hardy

Feb 08, 2016 7:40 PM EST

I can only say: Too bad there are only 6 episodes.
What hope: Bring at least another 9 seasons.

by DanCrucifiXXX

Feb 03, 2016 12:53 AM EST

I watched every episode of the original series back to back in anticipation of this and by the end I even came to like agent doggett once he was forced to accept the unacceptable. I have to say that the last 2 episodes of the original Xfiles where awesome and the ending was great. Which brings me to my disappointment here mulder and scully were on the run after escaping a military prison when mulder was sentenced to lethal injection and the smoking man was blown up we even saw his face melt off and his body completely eviscerated and this series picks up like none of these events even happened and with no explanation as to why. I find this very disappointing also I miss the other agents doggett and reyes they could never hold the show together like mulder and scully but they made good side characters I felt and I think they should atleast have a cameo appearance or work on a case with mulder and scully. I also don't like how sceptical agent mulder and scully are after everything they have been through. Other than these annoyances I think this is a great show and I am celebrating its return with many of my friends. I only wish there where going to be more than 6 Episodes.

by anonymousfrog00

Jan 25, 2016 12:55 AM EST

Oh Yeah, Sculley , Mulder and Smoking Man making it happen again, The Truth is out There. I could not believe what i saw in the ending scene!

by fruitfly20

Oct 05, 2018 11:00 PM EDT

Although it had some really well thought out episodes, the overall story arc was weak and used too much exposition (talking and telling us, instead of showing and letting us put it together) - especially the first episode of the second season, where I was pretty darn bored. It clearly did not stand up to the original run of the series.

by Amy Hendriks

Jul 29, 2018 6:57 PM EDT

I love this show. Although the newest two seasons are different, it still fits the show.

by MetalRico

Mar 05, 2018 1:33 PM EST

Nostalgia, Classic and Legendary!