Timeless

Add to List

Review

Timeless

Avg Rating (0)
Your Rating
Thursdays, 8:00 PM EST on NBC
Tracked 12,073 Times
Concluded
3 Seasons, 27 Episodes
60 Minutes
Buy or StreamAmazonAmazon UK
From Eric Kripke, Shawn Ryan and the producers of “The Blacklist” comes this thrilling action-adventure series in which a mysterious criminal steals a secret state-of-the-art time machine, intent on destroying America as we know it by changing the past. Our only hope is an unexpected team: a scientist, soldier and history professor who must use the machine’s prototype to travel back in time to critical events. While they must make every effort not to affect the past themselves, they must also stay one step ahead of this dangerous fugitive. Can this handpicked team uncover the mystery behind it all and end his destruction before it’s too late?

Show Reviews

by Unknownfear

Oct 04, 2016 12:42 PM EDT

This review is based on the pilot of "Timeless" which aired 10/3/16.

I am usually a huge advocate for extremely fast pacing, lots of action and keeping insignificant scenes to the absolute bare minimum. Knowing this about me, I still felt timeless was very rushed. Like designated survivor, a 2-hour pilot would have been better suited. One second, Lucy Preston (Abigail Spencer) is learning about an actual time machine and a dangerous man who has stolen it, and in the next 45 seconds (literally) she's on another time machine going to stop him!! HOLD YOUR DAMN HORSES!!! There was very minimal character development and set up, and the show dove right in to going back in time and saving the world. Now GRANTED, this IS what we want to see from this show, and everything it did was smart, and fun, and exciting -- but it felt very sped up for a pilot, and seeing as how this review is based on the pilot, I can't give it 5 stars because of this rushed factor.

Now, criticism of the pacing aside, the pilot establishes that this is going to be a very fun show. First of all, we've got 3 characters who will be going back in time, and simply by having one of them be black they can create a lot of juicy drama, as was seen in the pilot. We've got the historian, the soldier, and the tech guy. They need to work together to complete their missions while making extremely minimal changes in history. The stakes are VERY high with this show, and its going to be one heck of a ride.

I've noticed that some fellow TV reviewers over on vox.com said that this show was "monumentally stupid" and really "dumbed down" the concept of time travel. I can't say I agree at all. I'd say rather, that while Timeless is a show about timetravel, it really isn't about time travel at all. 12 Monkeys is about time travel. They get into technicalities, concepts, and mind-blowing paradox theory. Timeless is simply using time-travel as a concept to have a high-stakes show where they save the world each week and can do so in exotic but well known historical settings. So the fact that we just have to accept there is a working time machine with no real explanation really just suits the theme of the show. I don't believe it makes it "monumentally stupid"

by Chronophan

Dec 12, 2016 9:34 AM EST

It looked like a good idea, but I found this show yet another time travel show with overly simplified stereotypical views of history, portrayed by two-dimensional actors playing type cast roles. Like many in this genre, for every historic time this show has visited it assaulted be with media focused cultural images packed together in a two dimensional scenes. The main characters seem hopelessly unable to interact without bringing contemporary accepted cultural views, reminding me of the kids I knew who failed college anthropology because they were unable just listen and learn, rather than adults who's characters are supposed to have an understanding of cultural diversity. On top of that, the level of tension in the show is not sustained by good writing or good acting but is instead seems dependent on the natural faces of the actors to make them appear perpetually stressed or always in control. This show seems to take itself too seriously for the nature of its writing, acting, and directing, would probably be better off produced as a comedy.

by

Mar 10, 2018 8:45 AM EST

They only good thing about this show is it has a black character. Will he be harassed every time he goes into the past? What situation it will be each week to harass him, and how, in the past when it was very common, will they not use the N word?

by adamfox01

Oct 18, 2016 12:55 PM EDT

Timeless is an interesting concept. Its nice getting to look at a segment of a historical event. But the lack of character development means that the underlying issues with changing history has no meaning to the viewer. There's some mystery thrown in that really doesn't intrigue at all. Without a good character-centric episode I don't think this will get more than a single season.

PILOT SPOILER: The big plot twist at the end of the pilot had the character missing a family member which i can't even remember seeing in the beginning of the episode. That how rushed it feels

by scotwot

Jan 09, 2017 9:04 AM EST

I LOVE time travel shows, but good grief, I can't watch any more, I just can't. It's too painful. B level casting, writing, plots, acting, sets... Clothes are the only thing they seem to have put any money into. Ooh, look, another cloche hat!

Yep, it gets half a star from me, I'm happy if you're enjoying it, a good show is hard to find but for me, this isn't it. Beyond is more to my taste.

by Melissa-LeeM

Dec 27, 2016 4:21 AM EST

Reminds me a bit of DCs Legends of Tomorrow but with an actual home base and a smaller team. I find this less boring though and easier to keep track of, plus slightly more realistic given these characters don't have special abilities.

by spiderwing

Oct 09, 2016 1:18 PM EDT

First episode review, I intend to come back later and write more.

I love time travel shows, which this definitely is (more simplistic than 12 Monkeys, but clearly timey wimey weirdness is a major part of the story arc). It's also clearly going to be a disaster of the week -> season arc story (the past has changed microscopically in the first episode, having direct impact that we immediately see in one characters life). There's also one character explicitly shown to have her future predetermined (the one whose past was changed), and one character who it is implied has his future predetermined and who is aware of the uber plot. I'm not sure if this conspiracy plotline is going to get in the way of the story or not.

As far as the social commentary is concerned, yes, it's there. No, it's NOT overdone. I understand the fear that it might not be done well, but that's far better than having it not done at all. For those who object to having matters of race well integrated in a story line, please put on your big girl panties and get over yourselves. It's a source of conflict and character development and it's well integrated into the setting.

by Rob van der Zee

Oct 04, 2016 2:48 PM EDT

This is a series about time travel.

The pilot episode sets up the premise. A scientist unknown to the US government invents a time travel machine. It is hijacked by a group bent on changing history for their own ends which will likely be revealed in future episodes.

Fortunately, a prototype exists so a team can be sent back in time to stop them. A professor of history, a member of Delta Force, and one of the scientists are recruited. They go back to 1937, the time of the Hindenburg disaster. The villains delay the destruction so others can die with the original victims, buy their plan is thwarted and lives saved. This, however, changes the present for the history professor.

Viewers also learn that the professor has some kind of tie to the main antagonist and to events, which hopefully will be also revealed.

The pilot ends with her receiving a phone call that she and the rest of the team are needed to stop another attempt to change history.

This is a good story at this point, but the writers had to overdo the social commentary. One expects some social or political comment nowadays in movies and TV series, but beating the drum at least three times is excessive. In everything today, one is inundated with so much propaganda that it quickly wears thin.

Hopefully, the writers will concentrate more on story and less on preaching.

by Brian1964

Dec 21, 2018 10:00 AM EST

This was a great show. Sorry to see it go. Thanks for a good time. LOL!

by Shivoncarla

Nov 06, 2018 10:45 AM EST

TIMELESS - SEASON ONE

Timeless is not mindless - although perilously close at times - with a twist that might turn out to actually be interesting one of these days.

by KerstinRoush

Jun 24, 2018 10:27 AM EDT

Pretty good start for a new show. Like the idea and looking forward to find out where it will take me. Reserving final judgement for later, after I have watched a few more episodes.

After watching the entire season I have to admit I really like the show. It is unexpected and different. And too bad that they were talking about cancelling it. I am surprised to see that it was not cancelled after all and that we will find out more and hopefully get a good ending if the powers that are decide to call it quits for good this time.

I hate the execs in charge of this show!I really hate them! HOW CAN THEY CANCEL THIS????????

by annarain12

Jun 23, 2018 10:10 AM EDT

So absolutely disappointed this show has been cancelled! Why can't they leave a few shows alone that don't have blood, war, hospitals, fire, and police involved? I'm so sick of those......

by sygriffiths

May 15, 2018 7:25 PM EDT

Love this show!!!!

by Scaryc

May 18, 2017 5:52 AM EDT

The writing on this show has been a bit ordinary. It lacks the edginess of other science fiction shows like “The Expanse” and “Legion” which it is competing against. It’s as if the writers, Producers and various Corporate Oompa Loompas at NBC are playing it safe with this production. Science Fiction audiences don’t want to have a history lesson every episode. The soldier boy, the too earnest girl historian, and the token African American Pilot of the time machine are well worn action figures from a 80s Saturday morning cartoon. I’ve been watching it because it’s got a time machine and I liked “Back to the Future.” I know there are fans for this show, I just don’t think it’s living up to its best potential.

by Raquel da Cruz

Apr 07, 2017 1:26 PM EDT

I wish they came up with a better story line to the main characters. Overall, it is a good show.

by Nick Moore

Feb 21, 2017 10:04 AM EST

A slow burner with lots of story lines which are OK and others which are average.

The reason to keep watching was the ending build up and the finale itself - a good twist and a good reason for another season.

by Inesmalheiros

Jan 05, 2017 8:33 AM EST

I just love it how it gets me hooked to the TV, especially as the episodes developed.

by Offir951

Nov 28, 2016 9:43 PM EST

Amazing show!

by Aim1234

Oct 30, 2016 3:04 PM EDT

This show is interesting to see how going back in time changes people's lives.

by smilesfromheart

Oct 18, 2016 2:29 PM EDT

S1: Love the concept. Time travel? Of course. Changes in the past reflecting in present? Hell, YES. But the chemistry among the players is not there.
Although I love the main actress and actors individually in their other performances, like Suites, Rectify, ER, and Crossing Lines, but together? It is just not working for me. I hope the show grows on me, because I like the concept.