Van Helsing

Add to List

Review

Van Helsing

Avg Rating (0)
Your Rating
Fridays, 10:00 PM EST on Syfy
Tracked 6,977 Times
Hiatus
4 Seasons, 52 Episodes
60 Minutes
Buy or StreamAmazonAmazon UK
Vanessa Helsing, distant relative of famous vampire hunter Abraham Van Helsing, is resurrected only to discover that vampires have taken over the world. She is humanity's last hope to lead an offensive to take back what has been lost.

Show Reviews

by Unknownfear

Sep 24, 2016 2:20 AM EDT

This review is based on the 2 episode series premiere which aired on 9/23/16

The other month we had a sneak preview of the pilot for Van Helsing, which left me sourly disappointed. Well, thats not fair, I wasn't expecting much to begin with. Not even because of the lack of originality of the premise, but mostly because of that godawful 2004 movie by the same title which still makes me writhe, on occasion. So when the pilot turned out to be The Walking Dead, in a single building, with hints of the Strain and Dominion, my initial thoughts were, "Well, this ain't going to survive 2 seasons".

HOWEVER....!!! However, he says.

Episode 2 was fantastic o__o. So how does that even work? In episode one, we get to see all of one building, annoying characters, unintelligent vampire-esque creatures, and paranoia. In episode 2 (an entire flashback episode) we see the world as it is now (and daylight!), fun, likeable characters with good development scenes, intelligent vampires, including the extremely sexy Laura Mennell (you may remember her from Alphas), and the beginning of the end of the world. And as they'd have it, it turns out Vampires did not lead the world into apocalypse -- which is a fun little twist.

But the end of episode 2, leads into where the end of 1 left us off. So now we're back to a building, paranoid jerks, and midnless vampires. However, this time around we know the show has a lot more to offer. Somehow, it comes to 4 stars, because I really enjoyed the ingenuity of episode 2.

by ItzHavok

Sep 24, 2016 10:37 AM EDT

Van Helsing was very disappointing... story wasn't intriguing, acting was sub-par and script was at best alright. Another one of those low budget shows released by Syfy to fill a spot. Whoever approves these shows makes me laugh... at least it made me feel something, even if it was the wrong thing... I don't recommend it.

by KerstinRoush

Dec 25, 2016 5:58 PM EST

The first two episode didn't knock me over with excitement. But I was ready to give it another try. I tried watching episode no. 3 but I didn't even make it halfway through. This show just sucks. I don't think it will make it past the first season.
There is not really any acting just a bunch of people standing around in the same room lookIng at each other and talking. But they might as well be talking to themselves. There is no story to be followed. I don't know what the producers were thinking. Probably not at all. Thank goodness I didn't really expect anything - that way I wasn't disappointed.

by Sylar Dean Paginton

Dec 20, 2019 10:36 PM EST

NOT IMPRESSED! don't go into this thinking its going to be anything like the Hugh Jackman film of the same name, the acting's off, the premise of the show is off, the effects are.. well, don't look real, the whole show is just camp and cheesy. I'll continue watching it to at least episode 5 to give it a chance but going on the first two episodes.. my hopes are NOT high at all for this show as it stands.

Episode 1: 5/10.
Episode 2: 7/10. (They shoulda done this episode as the pilot).

UPDATE!

Season 1: 7/10
Season 2: 8/10
Season 3: 7/10
Season 4: 4/10

This show has gone into a total mess with the introduction of the sisters, bred in a lab, ive lost TOTAL interest in it now.. so much so that if theres anything else i have to watch i leave this til last, and to be honest, ive just marked the last few episodes of Season 4 as watched even though I havent watched.

by missveronica3

Oct 31, 2016 8:50 PM EDT

It was beginning was slow but it is starting to look up. It is not one of those typical vampire series really enjoying it.

by steelsheen

Oct 17, 2016 5:12 AM EDT

Not a very good show and it takes itself waaaaaaaaay to seriously.

by Indigo1311

Oct 15, 2016 6:37 AM EDT

I had high hopes for this series, but unfortunately it disappoints in every way imaginable. When something is this bad, it begs the question of how it was renewed for a second season. Stay away from this if you value both your time and your sanity. There are many other shows that are more worthy.

This review was based on 5 episodes.

by hmab

Oct 08, 2016 9:03 PM EDT

I Tried!!
Van Helsing, if you have seen the movie or read any of the books, you will find that this series doesn't even come close.
If that wasn't enough, the production value is deplorable.

by wolfgirl47

Sep 23, 2016 10:43 PM EDT

I really enjoyed the movie and I was looking forward to this show. I only made it about 20 minutes into the episode before I called it quits.

by me2011

Aug 25, 2019 4:12 PM EDT

I'm late to this party but as they say: "Better late than never." This is a great show and I enjoy the ongoing mini-storytelling from episode to episode, some of which continues between seasons. There was a fair amount of suspense in the first season that made me an instant fan.

by antonellaonai

Oct 31, 2016 8:09 AM EDT

First impression....I was expecting this to be like the Hugh Jackman movie and will be more of van helsing being sent away on mission to hunt things

by rougy

Dec 02, 2019 8:38 PM EST

just tasteless stupid trite content - feel sorry for the actors who have more to offer than this tripe.
Can't understand why shows like this keep renewing when excellent, exciting content like lucifer & travelers ge cancelled - I guess it's a lesson at quitting when you're ahead. 'Course Van Helsing never made the cut to quality programming.

by frankart59

Oct 28, 2019 11:46 AM EDT

1st. season was awesome but as many shows before, this one got crappier by each season. Now I don't even watch the episodes as they're coming out.

by LeeJ5

Apr 14, 2019 7:31 AM EDT

Good show, worth a watch indeed.

by Moniie

Feb 01, 2019 7:29 PM EST

This show is about vampires, nice storyline :) Has a zombie apocalypse feel to it but then with vampires. It is low budget, can be gorey.

by Inedrage

Dec 20, 2018 6:38 AM EST

Love this show. It didn't start out great, but I'm glad I gave it a chance and kept watching. Season 1 was Ok enough, but the show became great through season 2 and 3. I think season 3 is the best one yet! This show is worth watching!

by Sherry Murphy

Nov 29, 2018 3:47 PM EST

This show is a good filler show when you are in-between waiting for the shows you really want to watch. The acting reminds me of people who really don't want to be on the show in the first place and just need a paycheck. I gave it 3 stars, cause it's a good time waster but not overly horrible to the point where I abandon it.

by flyfisher110

Feb 19, 2018 12:53 PM EST

I watched the movie it was great, and high high hopes for the show. The show was a total let down action was boring, acting not great and the story boring.Gave it a chance watched first season then stopped watching.

by Ramsden

Feb 12, 2018 6:33 AM EST

Whilst it's not what some might expect, I'm not sure that Van Helsing would have had a second season if it had not been on Netflix. But the thing is I think it's the second season that it picks up.

Van Helsing is a modern day adaptation based on a comic series in which a vampire uprising has happened called "The Uprising" which happened after Yellowstone park went up. The biggest power she has is that she can turn vampires back to human if she bites them, she's sort of the inverse. What's interstnig
is that some of the cast in series one who were part of the good guys, could now be part of the bad guys in season 2 and the bad guys in season 1 can be decent guys in season 2 so these new twists did keep me engrossed.

The take inspiration from The Walking Dead. I think you can already see this from the poster. It's quite gory and isn't afraid to show you someone literally having their throat ripped out, but don't worry this aspect isn't over done so it's not constant gore. It's similar in the way the show's filmed, after a while and more in season 2 the show at times will focus on other members of the group, what there doing now as well as show some back story's.

Some characters will grow on you, some won't. They will throw you curveballs, some you'll see coming a mile off and some you won't.

Christopher Heyerdahl is amazing and deserves an award for his performance. One of the reasons that kept me watching was watching Heyerdahl, so much so that it even made me look up his bio because someone that talented should be a house hold name and not just a familiar face.

Just remember you're watching a show about a semi apocalyptic world overrun by vampires before you start to judge the storyline.

by Helene Koper

Feb 02, 2018 2:55 PM EST

I think the serie starts a little heavy, but turns out in a very nice story with good actors . It is very addictive to watch...reminding me a little of The walking dead, but I think this one is better, because the story is not so tedious. In every chapter, there is something new, you cannot say that of the Walking dead.....